1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Project SYNTHESIS

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Linkman226, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. hoplitejoe

    hoplitejoe Top fun-poster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,467
    durpo
     
  2. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Do you have a legal copy of bts?
     
  3. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    How did you patch to 3.19? It must be done through an external patcher and not in-game
     
  4. Tyo

    Tyo HANDS HIGH TO THE SOUND Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4,131
    Yes.

    I did it on the official civ website.
     
  5. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Is there a way to attract more modders to help Synthesis.

    @ Linkman: Perhaps u can ask the people at SOI since their mod is almost perfect now and they might have some time to help out. Same goes for RFCE but they might a little busy.

    Embryodead would be of great help in adding civs to the middle east.
     
  6. Tyo

    Tyo HANDS HIGH TO THE SOUND Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4,131
    I re-downloaded the mod. This is it in a temporary folder.

    Spoiler :


    Won't let me unzip, and has the appearance of an unzipped file. I can look inside it with no problem.

    When I copy it into BTS mods, it simply won't show up as available to load.
     
  7. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Do u have a file extractor program, if not install 7 zip. Then go into 7 zip file manager and extract the files into download program and then paste it into the mod program
     
  8. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Not sure what's wrong, refer to the suggestions above.

    Anyways, guys, I've fixed the Phoenician issues. It's in the SVN. The only other SVN change I made was to put back the diplomatic victory type but remove the cultural victory type.

    All of these changes will be in the next release.

    Now onto map changes.
     
  9. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    For Timber, we must have a resource representing Lebanese Cedar,

    For figuring out where it belongs, what does the Timber resource do?
     
  10. Alexius08

    Alexius08 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,108
    In RFCE, it is needed for better ships. Maybe make it a requirement for building a Ship of the Line? Timber is so worthless that nobody wants to buy it from me when I play Jedi's modmod.

    Anyway, on the resource spawns:
    By the way, the earlier list of tobacco spawns missed one north of Mount Pinatubo (which should appear by around 1800).

    EDIT: I modded my copy for the following changes:
     
  11. BenZL43

    BenZL43 awkward cat

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Honestly, I never knew much about Indian history rather than IVC (the only Indian history taught in school) lol..
    And I'm surprised, how amazing Pataliputra (Patna, now) is, after reading the articles in Wikipedia. If it is that awesome, I couldn't agree more, rather than at Indus, India should spawn at Pataliputra...
    Area around Pataliputra is also a sacred pilgrimage site for Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, and Sikh. Which is more accurate to become the holy cities for the religions, than Dilli -lol, it seems like I don't really like that cities !

    Btw, another suggestion, how about making the AI to think first where their capital or first city should be at.. so when they spawn, they do not just built the capital right there, but go wandering searching for better place :)
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,086
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Be careful with replacing Lugodunum with Massalia because the latter does not count as being a French city for the Roman UHV.
     
  13. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    No, the whole point of the Civ spawning on a tile is for them to settle there
     
  14. IrishDragon

    IrishDragon Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Can you make it so that the capital moves to Delhi eventually, or is Delhi on respawn, if it exists?
     
  15. Barratt_87

    Barratt_87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Is there a way you can get the chineese to settle more than 1 city south of beijing on the 600ad start? Most games ive played they build one city in SW china, conquer the 2 indy cities and then everything else they build gets transfered to mongolia at spawn so by the 1500's china is as weak as can be... Also, I've never once seen china settle in taiwan or japan in the ryuku's... Most of the islands on the map are left bare for the entire game as if island cities are completely useless to the AI.. Thats bad.

    Also, great mod!!! I just discovered it today and am now super pumped to have another RFC mod to play
     
  16. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Yes both of these changes are overdues. The Chinese expansion Northwards can be solved with changing the Chinese spawn location to Louyang (Central China) in 3000 ad. In 600 ad i want the chinese units to spawn in Xian because it was the historical capital at the time and it is located in Central China which allows the chinese to expand North and South (With Beiging they only focus north to Mongolia). Also the city of Qufu should be replaced by Nanging (in 600 ad) which one tile south West. Nanging has been one of the most important cities in the history of china while the only significane Qufu has is that it is the birthplace of Confucious and confucianism isnt even in the game.

    On the Indian issue we can all agree that India should spawn in Pataliputra
    If u ask me Timber is not really worth the effort. Maybe u should replace and add another resource in its place. If u guys still want it in the game then 2 things need to be done:
    1) Timber as a strategic resource needs to have a purpose
    2) Timber currently gives more production to a city then Copper, Iron or Oil. Timber should provide one hammer without lumbermill and one when lumbermill is built. So in total it should only provide 1 or 2 extra hammers to the city.

    Making Silk and sugar spread would would require help and feedback from alot of people since we are essentialy changing most of the resources on the map. I dont think its worth the effort just yet. There are many things that need to be done before this. Besides, the list you gave adds more four to five resources in Europe, a region already filled with resources and already overpowered.
    1) Would require resource tweaking but duable.
    3)Temple of Solomon should be renamed temple mount and historians are not sure when the Great Library was destroyed (some claim arabs did it while others blame the byzantine; but anyways its not like the other clasical wonders were in condition either by that timeperiod).
    6) Nobody will be able to build it since India is not there.
    7) :lol: Ur right, I never payed much attention to it but they should start with Amphibious
     
  17. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Lebanese Cedar is way too region-specific.

    I think I'll make timber a strategic resource.

    Thanks for the resource spawn list.

    As for your modifications:
    1)Refer to what Leoreth said.
    2)Unbalanced. America would become largely Portuguese this way.
    3)I'm pretty sure the Temple of Solomon's already gone.
    4)Could I have the code for this?
    5)Ah, civ III used to do this. I might include it. Not sure.
    6)The problem is that it becomes difficult for the Mahabodhi to *ever* be built this way.
    7)Good point, I'll include that.

    Bad idea because:

    Yes.


    My plan is to have forts and plantations with culture, thereby making these areas settled, without full-blown cities.

    This seems reasonable.

    1) I'll make it required for certain ships.
    2)Good idea. I'll also increase its decay rate, making it rarer.

    The overpoweredness of Europe, if you feel its unhistorical, can be fixed by making penalties bigger.

    I thought it was the decree of the Coptic pope Theophilus I
     
  18. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    What i meant to say was that sugar never really played a major role in Europe; it makes sense to include sugar in Iberia if this was RFCE but in a mod dealing with a bigger time period and geographical area only places where resources played a major role for long periods of time should be included. So if u do plan on spreading sugar and Silk i wud like to revise the list a little bit:

    4 (on the same location they are right now) Silk spawns in China: 4000bc
    On the silk road (somewhere in between samarqand and Beijing)
    Japan and Korea (spawn on the same location as they are located right now): 200 ad
    Byzantine Empire: 500 ad ( one spawns on the tile west of Constantinople and the other on the tile where Anitocha is located)
    Arabs Empire: spawns near Samarqand and Baghdad in 700 ad.
    Sicily: 1100 ad (the time period when the cursaders came back from Holy land).
    I dont think u should add silk to iberia and France.


    Sugar:
    Spawn in India 4000 bc
    Spread to China 600 ad (
    Spread to Mesopotamia 700 ad; (it should be near western end of the Euphrates near Syria)
    Spread to East African and South East Asia 900 ad (via Arab traders)
    Spread to New World upon contact ( no change required)
    Spreads to Queensland 1800 ad.

    Sugar should not be added to Europe because in the Middle Ages they imported their sugar from middle east and later they got most of their sugar from plantations in the new world.

    To make things easier i think u should not change the placement of resources (where they already exist). Meaning that sugar in South east asia or Silk in Japan should spawn on the same tiles in the same quantity but only later. Ofcourse for the regions where these resources were nto found before you will have to add and balance them.
     
  19. Alexius08

    Alexius08 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,108
    In def(createStartingUnits):
    Code:
    self.addMissionary(iCiv, (49, 40), (55, 46), tPlot, 1)
     
  20. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Alright these are some good suggestions.

    Ok, but this makes sure to pick the dominant religion? I assume that's what addMissionary does, right?

    Spoiler SVN :

    I added the Empire State Building into the SVN. Let me know what you think.


    My plan for the next two weeks or so to is to tweak the map to perfection. This will be the predominant focus of the next release.
     

Share This Page