1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. migalhone

    migalhone Monarch wannabe

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    IIRC they should count as your own.
     
    Orion Pax likes this.
  2. Orion Pax

    Orion Pax Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Thank you! Next question - re: DOW from friendly/pleased civs:

    Will a leader declare war outside their usual parameters if it is in the way of their victory condition? As in: they have conquered all but me & my vassals, so they have no one else left to attack… But we are friendly or pleased (and they don’t declare at pleased)?
     
  3. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,640
    It's your vassals that may be a factor on whether they may plot on you - outside normal parameters. Say it's the two of you alone marching toward victory. The AI leader does not plot at Pleased, and that leader is Pleased with you. That leader will not plot on you regardless.

    Vassals on the other hand change the equation. I'm not sure the exact coded mechanics behind it but once you start nabbing vassals, even if an AI(s) are Friendly with you, the diplo changes. For example, trading and bribing becomes more troublesome.
    (simple example - trading maps. All leaders have a specific level at which the will trade or not trade maps, except Toku and Lizzy who don't at all. Qin will trade maps at Friendly. Once I get a vassal he will no longer trade maps with me)

    I think the way it works is that the diplo relations are combined in terms of how a leader views you, and the affected parameters associated. So head to head they may show as Friendly status but in actuality their relations are a combination of how they view you and your vassal(s).

    I had a recent example in a game where I had a vassal. Rags was Friendly with me. Monty Dow'd me and was able to bribe in Rags, at Friendly. Poor little Monty, he's now my vassal and so is Rags...ha
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2021
    Orion Pax likes this.
  4. migalhone

    migalhone Monarch wannabe

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    The relations between that leader and your vassal should interfere in your relationship, as in averaging out. Let's say you have a vassal, an AI is Pleased with you but that AI is Annoyed towards your vassal. Overall, the diplo relation between you and your AI will be lower than Pleased.
     
    Orion Pax likes this.
  5. Orion Pax

    Orion Pax Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Interesting, thank you both!

    Now what if I didn’t have any vassals and we were friendly/pleased, and I was the only civ left and big enough that he needed to attack me to for a victory condition?
     
    migalhone likes this.
  6. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis Emperor

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    1,243
    Gender:
    Male
    The only time that an AI acts differently because of a victory condition is when they refuse to trade space race tech because "we'd rather win the game, thank you very much". An AI that cannot start plotting war on you will not start plotting war on you, even if war is the only way for them to win the game.

    IIRC AIs don't pay attention to what victory conditions are actually enabled, so even if you're playing a Conquest/Domination only game they'll still got for things like culture or space and behave accordingly.
     
    Orion Pax and migalhone like this.
  7. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,640
    I basically answered this above
     
  8. Orion Pax

    Orion Pax Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Oh, sorry if I missed that. I do appreciate the response. As I read it, seemed you were identifying my vassals as the main issue. So I was curious about if it were just me, no vassals. But again thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2021
  9. migalhone

    migalhone Monarch wannabe

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    I also understood from Lymond's reply that the main issue is with having vassals, and the more you have, the worse impact it will have on your diplo relations.
     
  10. krikav

    krikav Theorycrafter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,515
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think they also won't peace vassal to you, if that would trigger domination.
     
  11. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,640
    It's in the first paragraph of post #23723. No big deal at all, just sayin' (or is that nitpickin') that I had addressed that scenario in that post, at least as far as an AI attacking you.

    Anyway, I was pointing Orion to the answer
     
    migalhone likes this.
  12. Set

    Set Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    324
    What decides which city gets a great person when there is a tie? ie. Both cities will reach exatctly 300GPP on the subsequent turn. In which city will the great person appear?

    Bug mod actually tells you which one will spawn a great person but I can't figure out if I can change it.
     
    krikav likes this.
  13. krikav

    krikav Theorycrafter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,515
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think it's always the city that got settled first.
    Conquered cities might complicate things...?

    But if all cities are settled, they go in the order they where settled.
    That means if city#2 is very weak, and barely crawls over 200 with 3 points from 198 to 201, then it spawns first, even if city#3 is super strong and generates 200 GPP going from 198 to 298.

    If city#2 would generate 210 GPP jumping from 198 to 308, then I think both cities spawn a GPerson that turn, starging with city #2.
     
    migalhone, lymond and Set like this.
  14. Lennier

    Lennier Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,360
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    It's by the order the cities get processed; generally by when they were added to your empire (but having a city leave your empire and then acquiring another city will be an exception to that; the newly acquired city will take the position of the city that left your empire.)
     
    krikav likes this.
  15. NightOnEarth

    NightOnEarth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Rhine - Westphalia
    It's probably a stupid question, but I can't find an answer: If I want to win by conquest, how can I avoid winning first by domination?
     
  16. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis Emperor

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    1,243
    Gender:
    Male
    Vassal people and gift back their cities, so that only 50% of their land counts towards your Domination limit. Or raze cities so that none of it counts towards your limits, but AIs will settle those empty lands if no one else does, so that's less of a solution.
     
    NightOnEarth likes this.
  17. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    If you plan to win by conquest before starting the game, play a Custom Game and turn off the domination win option.
     
    NightOnEarth likes this.
  18. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,336
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida
    If you raze cities instead of capturing and holding them, you can avoid triggering the land requirement for domination.
     
    Kaiman likes this.
  19. Ita Bear

    Ita Bear Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Messages:
    76
    Hello folks,

    A couple of questions regarding mapscripts. The continents mapscript says it creates "two or more" continents, but to my memory I have never had more than two. Perhaps a small island here and there, but never a third continent. Is the description false, or are there any special requirements to get a third continent?

    Also, is there a way to guarantee the player or a civ in general will start in isolation? I haven't played an isolation game for a long, long time and would like to see how I fare.

    Kind regards,
    Ita Bear
     
  20. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8,817
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I think there is a custom continents option, where you can set the continent number to be 6, and if you set the number of civs to be 6 usually they will all have their own continent, with most isolated by ocean.
     
    migalhone and Ita Bear like this.

Share This Page