1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. SamSniped

    SamSniped DJ Goodboye

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5,413
    Location:
    playing some funky jams
    And you don't nuke the city instead, then paradrop some dudes in and raze it? :p
     
  2. Saru

    Saru Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Siilinjärvi, Finland
    But what about the corp. executive?
     
  3. Sparrow3

    Sparrow3 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    I guess what I was asking is which is more effective: +50% EP or extra chance of catching rival Spies. I really hate having my water supply poisoned by my rivals. I have actually gone to war over it. :lol:
     
  4. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    If you're really concerned and low on hammers, then build the Intelligence Agency and a Spy in the city. Having a Spy inside a city gives it exactly the same extra chance of detecting enemy Spies as a Security Bureau - and the bonuses don't stack. So yeah, a 180 hammer Intelligence Agency plus a 40 hammer Spy gives you essentially the same thing as a 220 hammer Security Bureau, except with more espionage points.

    The only thing I'm not sure about is the "+50% defence against Espionage" for the Security Bureau... I believe this increases the cost of rival Spy missions. However, generating more EP's per turn also offers an intrinsic benefit of increasing the cost of rival Spy missions and lowering your own - not sure how comparable it is though. Certainly generating more EP's allows you to perform the "counterespionage" mission more frequently, which doubles your rival's mission costs. Again I'm not sure what the exact comparison ends up being, but it's probably not significant enough to be concerned with.

    The best thing to do if you're really intent on thwarting enemy Spies is just to build both buildings though. ;) That, or use the hammers to build a military instead and wipe them off the continent. :lol:
     
  5. pixiejmcc

    pixiejmcc Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Location:
    Ingleton, North Yorkshire
    I've googled around but can't seem to find what I'm looking for. Has someone collected a summary of the exact differences between the difficulty levels? I know its all in the xml but I didn't want to go to to that level of research :p
     
  6. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Is this something like what you're looking for? Bear in mind it's rather outdated (from 2006 and for normal Civ4 without expansions), but I think most of the numbers are still about the same. You can go to the location specified at the top of the image (except in your Warlords or Beyond The Sword folder) to double check the current values in the XML if you want. :)

    Spoiler :
     
  7. Gwynnja

    Gwynnja Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    CA
    Good stuff Lord Parkin. Do you know the difficulty level bias towards the WFYABTA trade cap? Also, does begging/extorting techs count towards the trade cap?
     
  8. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Not sure, but I'd guess maybe it's under "iNoTechTradeModifier"? If so, I'm not sure what the numbers mean rather than a general trend of being less willing to trade at higher difficulties.

    Also not sure, but my guess is that it would. I should point out I'm no expert on the XML, I just found and downloaded that handy spreadsheet ages ago. :)
     
  9. Mec AntiKythera

    Mec AntiKythera King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    You just gotta love the charts and tables of Civ information. Thanks.
     
  10. Spitfire8212

    Spitfire8212 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Austria
    How do i prevent the AI to just spamm Cities all over the World? Its just not fun when i have 7 cities and Montezuma has 21:thumbsdown:

    Is there a way to fix this through XML editing? Have to say i play with the ROM: A new Dawn Mod and it contains a "Better AI" Patch, but it has no effects i guess.
     
  11. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    The way to stop the AI from claiming land is to claim the land before it does. This may not be possible on higher difficulties.

    If anything, Better AI makes this worse. It makes the AI better. As in it plays the game better, which includes expanding its territory better.

    Other than that, you just need to start taking the territory from him or win by some means that does not require doing so.
     
  12. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,711
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    What level are you playing (Settler, Chieftan, Warlord, Noble, etc)? From your question I gather that you are relatively new to the game. It may be that you are playing at a level above where you can succeed without more experience. If you start a thread and post details about how you play, people can give you advice on how to improve so that this will not be a problem for you.


    Also, welcome to the forums! :band::banana:[party]
     
  13. Spitfire8212

    Spitfire8212 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Austria
    I play on Noble.

    No,i play it for years now, i just never really stuck my head into a little Theorycrafting, i always gave up on it when i saw another civ with 15+cities and never touched it again for a few months because thats a fun Killer for me:)

    How do i disable it and will this have a noticable affect on it? I remember playing the Game without this Mod and it also happened.

    I changed >MIN_CITY_RANGE< to 3 because i was reading something about this that it could help. I couldnt find the option to change the AI Happines.

    Thanks :)
     
  14. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,711
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    I think that you are either not expanding fast enough (not enough settlers fast enough at beginning) or not training enough workers. I also play on Noble for the most part. Other than when I purposely stop expanding (usually to pursue a culture victory), I am the one with the huge number of cities, not an AI.

    Again, I suggest starting a thread where you describe your typical early game or post an early save. Then people can point out how doing things differently may solve your problem.
     
  15. Zx Zero Zx

    Zx Zero Zx Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,145
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I am almost 100% sure that your problem is that you are building too many unnecessary buildings instead of workers and settlers to expand your empire. The only building you need in every city is the Granary. You are probably also building excess city defenders, archers axes ect. You don't need to have a huge army early, you are better off having just a couple dudes to defend against barbs.
     
  16. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Erebus
    I am not expansionist/warmonger at heart, so sometimes I do have less than half the cities the AI has. No probs on prince/monarch but must be much harder on higher levels.
     
  17. Spitfire8212

    Spitfire8212 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Austria
    You hit the nail in the head, i exactle do that every time :). I just like to build everything what the game offers to me (more so in New Dawn, there is so many to build!).

    I try your suggestion next time.

    Thx
     
  18. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    QUOTE=Mec AntiKythera;11252125]You just gotta love the charts and tables of Civ information. Thanks.[/QUOTE]

    Here is another set of crazy useful charts.

    There is also a very cool ref booklet located around here somewhere, that is written in the spirit of how the manual looks like, with lots of good information.
     
  19. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    You may be referring to Anion's excellent reference guide, which can be found at the link below:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=6570
     
  20. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    That would be the one! Thanks for finding it, I bookmarked it this time, though I have it downloaded in pdf format which is why I didn't bk mark it originally.
     

Share This Page