1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Lazani

    Lazani Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Hey guys, does anyone know how long a unit will keep it's hammers in the build queue? Let's say you want to upgrade some HA's but doesn't want them hanging around because of maintenance cost, could you then just pre-build 16 HA's until 1 turn left and have them wait until MT?
     
  2. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Not sure, though it depends on the number and strength of units you put in the city, and the % split of the city tile. It may also be related to other things like population or city age... would be interested to hear from someone more in the know.

    Not sure about the probability of forest/jungle spreading... it does seem to happen more often than mining resources appearing, though that may just be due to the larger number of tiles adjacent to forests/jungles than worked mines, especially early on. I heard at some point that improvements like roads reduce (or remove) the chance of forest/jungle spreading to a tile, not sure if that's just a rumour or not. Would be interested to know though.

    I do know that the probability of a mining resource appearing on a *worked* mine is 1 in 10000 per turn. This does not scale with game speed, so you will tend to see more resource pops in a marathon game than a normal one. Resources will never appear on mines that are not actively being worked by a citizen from a city.

    Sometimes you can get unlucky; though it's unusual for the spreading to be this slow if you've got the trade connection done right. I've heard that the later religions are programmed to spread faster than the earlier ones, though I'm not sure if this is true or just a rumour. Early religions, when you've got enough neighbours connected by trade routes early on, can be a huge boon to relations (not to mention gold, once you have a Shrine)... so they can be well worth getting depending on the map.

    I've seen the probabilities for this before in this thread, posted by Roland Johansen I think. I can't remember them exactly, but it's something like:

    0 existing religions - 100% chance of spread
    1 existing religion - ~90% chance
    2 existing religions - ~80% chance

    When you get to 5-6 religions, it's around a 50/50 (or less) chance to spread the next one. Hopefully someone else can provide the exact numbers.

    On normal speed, hammers will begin to decay after 10 turns for units and after 50 turns for buildings/wonders. The rate of decay, as I recall, is something like a 2% loss per turn for units and a 1% loss per turn for buildings, rounded up (and the % values might be higher actually). I can't remember if these numbers scale with game speed or not, as it's been a while since I've played anything other than normal.

    Prebuilding military units can be a good idea in some situations, though remember that when the upgraded unit becomes available it'll also cost more. Don't prebuild more than 10 turns before you'll want to switch back to the unit, or else you'll lose the hammers. Also, seriously consider whether it's worth prebuilding a unit 10 turns before you'll need it, rather than using the time to work towards another building to increase your growth/economy and building/whipping the unit later.
     
  3. Lazani

    Lazani Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Noted. Thanks Lord Parkin! :)
     
  4. elmurcis

    elmurcis Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    Latvia
    This resource appearing is interesting.. Last game in ~1200 turns I got 4 Gems, 1 Gold and copper in less than 30 "free mines".. I guess it was lucky game.
     
  5. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    Not scaling job, so be wary on marathon speed. 10 turns go really fast!
     
  6. Marvinlegend

    Marvinlegend Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Is there a way to check who got the circumvent bonus (for proving the world is round) without checking the whole event log?
     
  7. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    -9% chance per religion in city. That gives a 100-9*6=46% when spreading religion #7
     
  8. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    There is a musical sound, along with a message that so-and-so has proven the world is round, when it happens. If you miss noticing that, then I am afraid you are stuck with looking through the event log.
     
  9. Darth Fred

    Darth Fred Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Lawrence frackin' Kansas
    Can paratroopers drop directly on and take an enemy city if it has no units present?
    F
     
  10. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    No. On the turn they parachute in they can not attack another unit or capture a city even if there are no enemy units present in the city. They can move some and maybe pillage (don't remember for sure).

    Well, not in BtS with the last patch anyway; I think they may have been able to originally.
     
  11. Darth Fred

    Darth Fred Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Lawrence frackin' Kansas
    Cool. I didn't think so but thought I'd verify. It sure would have made taking Greece a little easier. ;)

    Thank you though.
    F
     
  12. Marvinlegend

    Marvinlegend Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Feared as much, thank you for the answer ;)
     
  13. Verarde

    Verarde Pondering Wearing A Hat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Location:
    Northern VA
    You could always figure it out based on default movement points of ships, and then seeing who has +1 added to that total.
     
  14. HUSch

    HUSch Secret-monger

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,440
    Location:
    Germany
    You can build only 1 unit in a city. After 10 turns not building the unit you lost in every turn 1 :hammers:.
     
  15. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    :nono:

    You can't drop in a city, but , if the city has no visible units, you can drop 1 tile to the side of the city and move there to capture it.

    Tried and tested :p
     
  16. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    Interesting and unexpected.
     
  17. Darth Fred

    Darth Fred Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Lawrence frackin' Kansas
    A caveat to my original question, :mischief: I'm currently playing the Road to War mod. I'll ask questions like that on the noob thread here from time to time because I can usually get a quicker answer than on the dedicated RtW forum. Since asking I've learned that in RtW, they cannot. Sorry if I created any confusion.
    :crazyeye:
    F
     
  18. Jahgro

    Jahgro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I can't seem to make anything related to space. I'm playing only conquest victory condition.

    I can't make a satellite, spaceship parts. I have completed the tech tree. Is it because i'm not playing space race?
     
  19. Verarde

    Verarde Pondering Wearing A Hat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Have you built the Apollo Program? It's a pre-requisite for building spaceship parts.
     
  20. Jahgro

    Jahgro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I can't build the Apollo program. It just doesn't exist anywhere.
     

Share This Page