1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise And Rule Revisited (epic mod)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. Lord Plebian

    Lord Plebian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    The Last Homely Apartment
    More quick things to fix:
    1) Marine infantry are referred to as "Leatherheads" in the civilopedia entry (every time it mentions the unit other than the title).
    2) Not sure if this is an error, but trenchers and amphibious infantry share the same sprite, which can get confusing. In the build queue, trenchers look like riflemen from the normal game, but the sprite when built looks like infantry from the normal game.
    3) The game crashed on me in the middle of a turn. Not sure why. Nothing special had happened.
     
  2. TechieTubbies

    TechieTubbies Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    The file for the Japanese trencher is bugged, simply clicking on it in the production menu crashes the game.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mr Constantin

    Mr Constantin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Minsk
    The file for the Soviet Airborne is bugged, simply clicking on it in the production menu crashes the game.
     
  4. Mr Constantin

    Mr Constantin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Minsk
  5. TechieTubbies

    TechieTubbies Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    currently renaming files in japanese trencher to rifleman files, as they are infantry files instead. It worked, the game continued.
     
  6. TechieTubbies

    TechieTubbies Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    The current file for "Light Tank" is missing, there is only the tank and main battle tank files, and the tank file is currently empty.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    I try to answer both posts together, as they both are targeting to the same topic.

    The scenario search path in the Scenario Properties folder points to many conquests of C3C, too - among them the conquest WWII in the Pacific. Here is that path in RARR (it also exists in the versions of RAR including RAR 1.04 Betatest and triggered especially some problems with the link to the PTW Extras\units):

    ..\..\Civ3PTW\Extras\Medieval Japan\;..\..\Civ3PTW\Extras\World War II\;RARR;..\..\Conquests\Conquests\Napoleonic Europe;..\..\Conquests\Conquests\WWII in the Pacific;..\..\Conquests\Conquests\Middle Ages;..\..\Conquests\Conquests\Mesoamerica

    1. Concerning the Light Tank:

    Doc T. changed the graphics of the armor to the light tank graphics (as can be seen in his change log). This can be done easily be rewriting the pediaicons entry for the Armor to point to the Light Tank animations. This unit is included in the units folder of the Conquests\WWII in the Pacific.

    It is not necessairy, that the unit folder of RARR contains the Light Tank unit. It is enough, when the unit is in the units folder Conquests\WWII in the Pacific. This requires, that the Conquests\WWII in the Pacific are installed properly at the correct place. If you have problems here, of course you can also copy that unit from the Conquests\WWII in the Pacific units-folder into the RARR units-folder, as the RARR-folder is also included in the search path.

    As this all could be too complicated for some civers, I will include another version of the Light tank directly in The RARR units folder with the next update of the mainfile - but this wouldn´t come too quick. Wyrmshadow made some units that are better than the Firaxis Light tank.


    2. The same problem is with the nuclear bomb. It needs the files of the Conquests\WWII in the Pacific units-folder.

    But here another additional problem occurs:

    Until now, the correct settings for nuclear units and their blast and smoke and waste-animations, combined with the trembling of the complete screen are a riddle even for the best graphical experts in these forums. They work different than normal graphical settings, as they are a special addition of different components of graphics. Even if trying to transport the original nuclear bomb unit directly into a C3C scenario (and even if setting it to the different speed of unit animations that is used for that unit), only causes to see the the last parts of smoke of the explosion, the fallout and to hear the sound - no blast and no trembling of the screen. I have even seen nuclear missiles of prominent graphics-specialist, that were flying backwards before exploding.

    Wyrmshadow made some graphics of nuclear explosions with less images. Here at least some parts of the blast can be seen.

    So whenever possible for nuclear bombs dropped by planes I still link to the Conquests\WWII in the Pacific unit to have the full effect of the nuclear weapon on the screen.

    Both situations that are reported are not errors, but there is no access to the proper conquests files.
     
  8. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    1. Yes there is a minor error in the civilopedia, that will be fixed with the next patch.
    Lord Plebian, thank you very much for reporting that error. :)

    2. The setting of the Great Lighthouse:

    Additionally to the description in the civilopedia, that comes here at least until RAR 1.02, this GW has also the setting to allow city size 3. As far as I remember, this flag isn´t as positive as one should think, but causes an additional limitation for that building, that it only can be built if the city can reach size 3. I´m not aware of anything written to that problem, but I think it is better for reasons of gameplay to delete that flag in the editor than to write an addition in the civilopedia.

    Thank you very much for pointing to that problem. :)
     
  9. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    TechieTubbies, thank you very much for reporting this error. :) The fix is as you wrote in your second post and will come for all with the next patch.
     
  10. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Mr Constantin, welcome at CFC. :band:[party] I also gave you a welcome at CivForum.de when I got aware of your post, but at CFC the orchestra is bigger. :D

    Thank you very much for reporting that error, that must be fixed with the next patch. The entry in the INI-file of that unit points to an animation-file that doesn´t exist and must be replaced in that file with an existing animation of that unit.
     
  11. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    1. The civilopedia entry will be fixed by a patch.
    2. In the build queue not all unit graphics are still updated to the new unit graphics. I will have a look into the problem with the identical sprites and may be new unit graphics will come with the next mainfile.

    3. Reports about crashes are always nasty. If doing your RARR-games, please activate your autosave-option, so I can have a look into the situation before the crash and sometimes I can discover a problem (p.e. pathfinding-problems of AI units or something different).
     
  12. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    The old RARR-biq 1.2 is removed after 134 downloads. The new biq is RARR1.3.

    The download link to the new biq is in post one of this thread.


    Changes in RARR-biq 1.3:

    Spanish and Asian Line Infantry: Missing HP added
    Setting of the Native Scout fixed
    Great Lighthouse: City size 3-flag removed

    A big thank you very much to Madviking, Node60, Samez, keli, Fortis1, Uaargh!?, jlvfr, Kestrel18, Lord Plebian, TechieTubbies and Mr Constantin for reporting the errors! :)

    The new patch will follow as soon as I have time for it.
     
  13. Mr Constantin

    Mr Constantin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Minsk
  14. TechieTubbies

    TechieTubbies Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    This is because there is no sound file, record a wav file and place it in that file, it should work as a replacement for now
     
  15. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Mr Constantin, thank you very much for reporting that error with the BTR-80. :) This must be fixed with the next patch. There are two methods to continue playing:

    You can rename a soundfile to the missing Fort.wav-file as TechieTubbies told you, or you can delete the Fort.wav entry in the INI-file of that unit.
     
  16. keli

    keli Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    Bp.
    Sorry guys if this has been posted, but Heavy Artillery is also missing from the file making the game crash.
     
  17. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Gender:
    Male
    Hia folks

    Because of some problems, I've been forced to reisntall Civ III. I've now started a new game, but I'm having a problem: supply shipments won't work. Specifically, I escort them into the capital, but they are not transformed into Money. Did I do something wrong?
     
  18. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,278
    Gender:
    Male
    While CFC was down, there was a number of bug reports by Node 60 and Mr. Constantin. thank you very much for these reports. :) I will answer them when I have the time for it.


    The supplyshipments need victory-point scoring and capture the princess activated.
     
  19. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Gender:
    Male
    Dammit... I knew I'd forgoten something...
     
  20. Node60

    Node60 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    West Siberia
    Cosmetic bug. There is no icon for Winery.

     

Share This Page