1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise of Mankind 3.0 (final version) design discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by zappara, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Is not the NavySeal a UU?
     
  2. Lawrie

    Lawrie Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Yeah beautiful icons! It would be great to overhaul air units. I know this is too ambitious to consider in a final revision, but for me i think if the combat mechanics were overhauled, for air units, and old - (scrapping collateral damage for example, and bombardment) almost taking it to a more civ2 style of simple combat mechanics (for attack defence purposes) that the AI would be better handled.

    I find it a bit meh, all those battles where you bombard a huge stack, then kill off each unit in it?
     
  3. Pawlak

    Pawlak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Hey, I recently rediscovered Civ with this mod. Amazing stuff, congratulations to creator.
    The only major flaw I stumbled across in short time that I got to play it by now is (inherited from orginal game) strategic resources economy- if you don't digg them out, you won't get them. And with more strategic resources in RoM it just get worse.
    Now, I'm no modder but I thought of simple (or so it seems to me) way to resolve the resources problem:
    National Projects (if I get the name good- such as Manhattan Project and Internet in basic Civ4)
    With each technology revealing strategic resourse comes new Project called "X trade" (Iron trade etc.). Projects allow any nation to build 2 new facilities. One for civilisations producing wanted resourse - granting income, and another for civs without strategic ore- giving city that it was built in access to resourse (for a modest fee obviously)
    Since only nations owning the resourse can work on project it is a bit like in real world- embargo works only untill someone decides to sell the forbidden commodity. Also, there should be some kind of incentive to start the x resourse trade, so civ that finishes the project should get some prize. Maybe quasi holy city that gives gold for each x resourse trading post built by nations in need? (I have no idea if such thing is possible in games mechanic)

    I would love to see the resourse problem solved in final RoM version (I have no hopes to play Civ 5 untill I finish studying and start earning, so I'll be stuck with this game for long ;)), and I think my proposition should do it.

    I hope I post it in correct place, and if there already is good solution to the said problem (that is other, than placing a lot of strategic resourses on map), please implement it in new version.

    Peace,
     
  4. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    I think what you want is already a part of AND, which is a modmod for RoM.
     
  5. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    In my current project : Make RoM look pro with a nice finish, I ran across the following icons that looks terrible in low res (my guess is they are made with mipmaps)

    Spoiler :

    Units :
    Yumi
    Xebec
    Wardogs
    Vampire
    Tank Pzk....
    Tank M4A3
    Tank churchill
    Tank Char
    Strike fighter mig25
    Siberian Tiger
    Seaplane tender
    Seaplane J2f
    Seaplane
    Police Squad
    Polar bear
    P59
    Mohawk Archer
    Modern Infantry
    Modern Armor type 99
    Modern Armor T84
    Man o War
    Mig 15
    All light tanks except original
    Jet fighter mig 21
    Iron frigate
    IL2
    Humvee
    Heinkell HE bomber
    All heavy tanks
    Guerilla
    Guard dogs
    Freight
    Flak 88
    Fighter mig 3
    Early tanks : Whippet, M1917, FT17S, FT17
    Early fighter
    Eagle warrior
    Dire wolf
    Caproni
    Battleship yamoto
    Battlecruiser
    Battle elephant
    BTR80
    Armored car
    Armor t72
    Armor m60
    Armor centurion
    Abyssian Archer

    Projects :
    International Thermonuclera reactor

    World wonders :
    Copernicus (is very dark)
    Himeji samurai castle
    Nanite defuser
    Petra

    National Wonders :
    Brewery
    National TV station
    Radio Telescope

    Buildings :
    Artisan Well
    Farm scraper I-III

    Promotions :
    Air to Air missiles I-III
    Chaff
    Coastall Assault I-III
    Firearms I-III (maybe)
    Improved Radar
    Looter
    Segmented armor
    Super caviation
    Torpedoes

    Specialists :
    Spy

    Improvements :
    Modern Mine
    Treefarm

    Leaders :
    all the icons for the new leaders. This one is especially problematic as they appear very small in diplo screen.

    If anyone can extract them and put them on CF, I can quickly re-dds them. Some of them might need a little brightening as well.
    I know its a minor "bug", but working a lot of years in the advertising industry, it hurts my eyes with graphical glitches like this.
     
  6. Killtech

    Killtech Discutator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    i'm not sure this is a problem with RoM graphics but i've noticed that the healers hut has changed it's icon to a much better-looking one (i use AND expansion). however when i hover the mouse over a city that has one i see a magenta square instead of a healers hut icon.

    EDIT:
    nope, sorry, no triple post. i've broken the series ;)
    | |
    VV
     
  7. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Nice little triple post againagain :)

    I think I found most of the icons, but to illustrate what I meant here is an example

    BTR80


    Before

    After

    It's a nice little process : New alpha channel, new border, brighten, reduce contrast, re-dds to dds5 and save. I will post the redone icons as soon as possible ;)
     
  8. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    No 3rd post!!! That's ok. Wasnt exactly proud of it ;)

    I noticed that last time I installed AND many of the icons had the same issues as the unit icons in my problem list.

    I redid the healers hut in my mods (Modules/Projects/Vincentz/Icons). Try to install that folder and see if the problem goes away.

    Should look like this :


    EDIT : I reckon its time for me to use EDIT button more ;)

    Here's a couple of suggestions to replace :

    National TV station and

    Brewery :


    EDIT AGAIN :

    OK, so far so good. most of the unit icons and the promotion icons are fixes

    Still to be fixed :

    Spoiler :


    Units:
    Seaplane tender
    Mohawk Archer
    Battle elephant
    Abyssian Archer

    Projects :
    International Thermonuclear reactor

    World wonders:
    Copernicus (is very dark)
    Himeji samurai castle
    Nanite Defuser
    Petra

    National Wonders:
    Radio Telescope

    Buildings :
    Artisan Well
    Farm scraper I-III

    Promotions :
    Looter

    Specialists :
    Spy

    Improvements :
    Modern Mine
    Treefarm



    Alrighty then. One more edit :
    Did the leaderhead icons for the custom leaders. I put them into 1 folder, so they need to be put back into their own folders in custom leaderheads.


    WARNING! EDIT COMING UP!!!!

    Just a couple of suggestions for :

    Modern Mine

    and Hybrid Tree Farm
     

    Attached Files:

  9. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Reached the limit of 10 files per post, so starting 1 more.

    Suggestion for Seaplane Tender :

    EDIT

    And Groundwater Well

    And Shaft Mine

    And Industry Ruins

    2ND DAY EDIT

    Javelineer

    And a couple of Mohawk Archers :
     
  10. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yep, my bad. Stupid Whitespace. I'll fix it next patch.
     
  11. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Something tells me that I should have made a separate post. Once I started the Icon project, I just couldn't stop....

    Focke Wulf 190A's

    Spitfire MK1

    T34

    And if I'm not mistaken, then these were the last "duplicate" icons.

    Still need to fix the following unit icons :
    Battle Elephant
    Abyssian Archer
     
  12. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    There are still a lot of duplicate building icons. The whole river port, Harbor, Port uses the same icons.
     
  13. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Isn't that a feature ;) I mean, it's an easy way to spot that they are in a upgradepath.
    I thought about the different kind of factories as well, but will look at that later.

    My next project will be upgradepaths, though I have noooo idea where to start (hopefully they are not DLL ;))
     
  14. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    It looks funny when you can build 2 different buildings in a city, with the same icon. They really deserve different icons. If you look at the building upgrades Civilopedia tab in AND, it's really obvious and jarring.

    They are in Python in RoM 2.91, and XML in AND.
     
  15. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    I'll look into it.

    Just missed a couple of units :

    JA37 Viggen

    Hybrid Gunship (The other one too dark)

    Redid Early Paratrooper (other one to little contrast)
     
  16. Valvinar

    Valvinar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I haven't managed to download this mod correctly yet so I don't know if this is in it but I think it would be awesome if you could sign a "treaty" with someone that made it so tiles wouldn't shift because of culture. It's annoying when you are trying to be close friends with another human player but you have to keep fighting for culture.
     
  17. Killtech

    Killtech Discutator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    there is something similar in a modmod of this mod called AND. it extends the borders expansion form culture alone to military force (military can claim land). but treaty to fix culture influence on borders is an interesting thought. but that's the wrong threat for this. post your idea in the Rom modmods subforum or AND subsubforum.
     
  18. hanti

    hanti Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Poland, Europe
    About a graphics polish, I'd like to suggest:
    - decrease size of Nanite Cloud unit to 70-80% of it. Its' just to big on the screen.
    - change map picture of Vertical Farm. It's aways glowing during mouse moves.
     
  19. NotSoGood

    NotSoGood Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Finland
    Barbarian galleys have also some kind of art bug. When you move the camera they flash wierdly.
     
  20. ungy

    ungy Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,908
    Zappara--thanks for the great mod!


    A couple of suggestions:

    1. The AI seem to forget your diplo actions really quickly--this seems like a bug. In a recent game the AI I DOW'd had forgotten that the turn after I made peace.

    2. Seige seems OP to me. Unless the defender has units of a higher era you pretty much roll over them with a stack of seige. Also seige gets 3XP per successful battle--this adds to the OP problem.
     

Share This Page