1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RoM Latest Version

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by zappara, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. 50caliber

    50caliber Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    I tried to play the GEM with 2.8 and the altered civs were back to their originals, Australia was back to being Celts etc.. Is there anyway to fix this? GEM worked fine with 2.71...
     
  2. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Version 2.81patch uploaded

    Full changelog:
    Spoiler :
    Mods
    ----
    - Updated: RevDCM 2.6 -> 2.61
    - Updated: BUG 4.1 -> 4.2
    - Updated: Better BtS AI 0.81M -> 0.82J
    - Updated: Unofficial Patch 1.3 -> 1.31
    - Updated: BULL 1.00 official


    Python
    ------
    - Fixed: RevInqUtilities.py isInquisitionConditions now uses RoM settings
    - Fixed: RevInquisition.py AI players no longer start training more Inquisitors when they have maxed out this unitclass already
    - Fixed: RevDCMReligionControl.py isReligionExist call works now correctly, this should fix Choose Religion and Limited Religion game options
    - Fixed: RoMGameUtils.py Artesian Well no longer can be built after city has built Cannery
    - Fixed: ReligionUtil.py now identifies correctly RoM's religious building types (fixes Religion screen's building marks)
    - Fixed: RevEvents.py PyPopup bug
    - Fixed: CvMainInterface.py disabled Inquisitor code block that was referring to non-existing game feature (OC_FOREIGN_INQUISITIONS)
    - Fixed: RoMGameUtils.py Arcology or Anti-Missile Batteries no longer can be built if civ has National Shield wonder
    - Fixed: RoMEventManager.py Arcology or Anti-Missile Batteries no longer can be built if civ has National Shield wonder
    - Fixed: Revolution.py bug in processRevolution function (line 5507)
    - Changed: cPickle optimization to all python files that had only import pickle line (cPickle can be 1000 times faster)
    - Changed: RoMEventManager.py crusader check is now made only if the civ has the tech that allows the wonder which trains crusaders (speed improvement for early game)
    - Changed: RevInquisition.py disabled CanTrain codeblock (CannotTrain function does the same thing for Inquisitor so this was duplicate check)


    City screen
    -----------
    - Changed: Shows only present religions and corporations (BUG options)

    Buildings
    ---------
    - Fixed: Paradise Garden button when hovering mouse over city
    - Fixed: Armourer button when hovering mouse over city
    - Fixed: Vacation Resort shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Fisherman's Hut shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Lighthouse shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Harbor shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Port shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Commercial Port shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: International Port shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Toll House shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Customs House shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Shipyard shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Naval Academy shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Drydock shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Naval Yard shows now info that it requires coastal city



    National Wonders
    ----------------
    - Fixed: Secret Army's Base button when hovering mouse over city
    - Fixed: Moia Statues shows now info that it requires coastal city


    Great Wonders
    -------------
    - Fixed: Petra button when hovering mouse over city
    - Fixed: Universal Translator button when hovering mouse over city
    - Fixed: Sun Tzu's Arts of War button when hovering mouse over city
    - Fixed: Colossus shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: The Great Lighthouse shows now info that it requires coastal city
    - Fixed: Magellan's Voyage shows now info that it requires coastal city


    Modules
    -------
    - Fixed: UN Mission button when hovering mouse over city

    Terrain
    -------
    - Changed: Storm growth 500->400, defense +25% -> -25% (so that AIs no longer end turns on storms)

    Resources
    ---------
    - Changed: Ancient Relics can be traded
    - Fixed: Manufactured resources no longer cause CTD when placing them to plots in Worldbuilder

    Improvements
    ------------
    - Changed: Oil Well requires now Refining instead of Combustion


    Pythoncallbacks
    ---------------
    - Disabled: CanTrain callback, no longer used in the mod (performance increase)
    - Disabled: CannotTrain callback, no longer used in the mod (performance increase)

    Traits
    ------
    - Changed: made visible to xml all the new RevDCM modifiers to all traits (unused modifiers, can these be used?)
    - Changed: Seafaring double production speed for Fisherman's Hut

    Config
    ------
    - changed: Advanced Scoreboard no longer shows dead civs by default because RevDCM can regenerate same civs again during the game

    Promotions
    ----------
    - Changed: Transport I-III enabled again (CTD problem with them has been fixed)

    Gametext
    --------
    - Fixed: Space Tourism strategy entry
    - Fixed: Algebra strategy entry
    - Fixed: Applied Economics strategy entry
    - Fixed: Orbital Flight strategy entry
    - Fixed: Lead german translation
    - Fixed: Weaving german translation

    Units
    -----
    - Changed: Entertainer trader multiplier 10->1 (Trade Caravan is now better choice)
    - Changed: Praetorian str 9->8
    - Changed: Berzerker (Viking UU) gets now Mobility promotion instead of Amphibious (because Seafaring trait already gives Amphibious)
    - Fixed: Inquisitor now shows info that it requires Intolerant Civic and State Religion

    Techs
    -----
    - Changed: Nationalism AND req. Divine Right removed (already included in Leadership req.)
    - Changed: Representative Democracy AND req. Liberalism removed (already included in Social Contract req.)
    - Changed: Assembly Line AND req. Replaceable parts removed (already in tech path)
    - Changed: Electricity AND req. Replaceable parts and Scientific Method removed (already in tech path)
    - Changed: Screw Properller AND req. Replaceable parts removed (already in tech path)
    - Changed: Railroad AND req. Replaceable parts removed (already in tech path)
    - Changed: Theory of Relativity AND req. Physics removed (already in tech path)
    - Changed: Refining AND req. Scientific Method removed (already in tech path)
    - Changed: Combustion AND req. Explosives removed (already in tech path)
    - Changed: Compulsory Eduction AND req. Physics removed (already included in Thermodynamics req.)
    - Changed: Nuclear Power AND req. Modern Physics removed (already included in tech path)
    - Changed: Space Tourism AND req. Globalization removed (Already included in Communication Networks req.)
    - Changed: Psychology AND req. Scientific Method removed (already included in tech path)
    - Changed: Fission AND req. Refining removed (already included in tech path)
    - Changed: Flintlock AND req. Divine Right removed (already included in tech path)
    - Changed: Fusion AND req. Superconductors removed (already included in tech path)
    - Changed: Ecological Engineering AND reqs. Recycling and Genemanipulation removed (already included in tech path)


    Game defines
    ------------
    - Changed: Max amount of trade routes increased from 12 to 16 (now possible to make use of all trade route increases)

    Events
    ------
    - Fixed: Elite swords quest now correctly says that you need to build Light Swordsman
    - Fixed: Noble Knights quest tech requirements

    Leaders
    -------
    - Changed: Alexander weights Soylent Green facility for desert plots
    - Changed: all leaders who weight farms now weights Vertical Farms more than Farms
    - Changed: all leaders who weight Windmills now weight Windtrap more than Windmill

    Sevopedia
    ---------
    - Changed: Techs now show their strategy info (infos will be updated in v2.9)

    Traits
    ------
    - Changed: Seafaring gives now Amphibious promotion to various unit combat groups instead of Navigation I (trait more useful now)


    Civics
    ------
    - Changed: Vassalage +10% production and +10% gold in capital, can draft


    RevDCM
    --------
    - Updated to Better BTS AI 0.82J and Unofficial Patch 1.31
    - Fixed issue with combat odds display
    - Barbarian Civ settling now scales better with game speed
    - Fixed a couple bugs in RevInquisition
    - Fixed a couple issues with BUG and RevDCM
    - Updated to BUG 4.2
    - Updated to BULL 1.00 official
    - Fixed project interdependency bug
    - Fix to choose religion option
    - Fixed plot combat help issue, now shows modifiers correctly
    - Added Rom's extra inquisitor checking code
    - Fix to allow the sevopedia to show leaders of multiple civs
    - Fix bug in the RevDCM info screen where RevDCM was returning -1 for a playerID
    - Formatting changes for code comments
    - modified makefile for BULL compiler options
    - New organization of GlobalAltDefines.xml for BBAI 0.82 options
    - integer division issues in Revolutions calculations fixed
    - Python and XML changes from UP and BBAI
    - Remove duplicate xml tag, to fix "give up their independence" bug
    - "Financial stability" text displayed when revolution watch finances are positive


    BUG 4.2
    ---------
    CHANGES

    New Features:

    - SevoPedia
    Technology page shows Civilizations that start with it

    Improvements:

    - Great Person Progress Bar
    Added hover text displaying full details
    - Info Screen [F9]
    Made colors optional on WONDERS list
    Added hover help text to WONDERS tab buttons
    - Option Shortcut Reminder
    Message turns itself off the first time you open the Options screen
    If you turn it back on in the System tab, it will remain on as before

    Bug Fixes:

    - City Screen
    Fixed display of food bar text when city is already over threshold
    - Customizable Domestic Advisor
    Fixed options on Advisors tab
    Fixed Zoom to City Button Details option title
    - AutoLog
    Pillaging entries work and show correct gold amount
    Peace offer entries work
    - AutoSave
    Fixed invalid save file names when starting from a scenario
    - Civ4lerts
    Growth, happiness, and health alerts correctly detect when a city will grow next turn
    - General
    Added missing 3.19 change with liberating cities during war-time
    - Mac
    Fixed reverse list sorting in GPUtil
    Fixed random crash when using Strategy Layer


    MODDING

    New Features:

    - Events
    playerRevolution(ePlayer, iAnarchyTurns, leOldCivics, leNewCivics) [BULL]
    - CityUtil
    Use willGrowThisTurn() and willShrinkThisTurn() instead of CyCity.getFoodTurnsLeft()

    Improvements:

    - Options
    Shortcut Reminder message uses CvModName.modName instead of "BUG Mod"

    Bug Fixes:

    - GameUtils
    Fixed problem when using <callback> element to define new callbacks
    New <callback>s no longer require a default value (omit both "type" and "default")


    Better BtS AI 0.82J
    -------------------
    Merged in UP 1.3
    Added files BetterBTSAI.h and BetterBTSAI.cpp
    Small change (in many places) to code comment format to prepare for Doxygen documentation
    Reorganized GlobalDefinesAlt.xml

    Bugfix
    - Fixed bug in AI valuation of techs which enable their favorite religion

    City AI
    - AI now will not build workers in pop 1 capital at start of game
    - Higher production/population cities will fill more of worker need
    - Inland cities will now produce settlers to support colonization of other continents/islands
    - AI now considers value of mine/lumbermill + railroad when picking tile improvements whether railroad is in place or not

    Diplomacy AI
    - AI less likely to vote for/propose votes for peace if it's in an early/evenly matched war
    - AI vote for/proposing votes for city exchange now based on teams, not players
    - Added AI logic so that it will more correctly consider whether to accept human players as vassals in mods that allow that

    War Strategy AI
    - AI will now consider starting additional wars if it has huge power advantage over current target
    - AI will now end wars which have been going on for a while but there has been no fighting and it has no plans
    - AI now considers current would-be-enemy power when switching WARPLAN from PREPARING_TOTAL to TOTAL
    - When outgunned in an area, AI more readily adopts defensive strategy
    - Fixed issue where AI would not declare war on capital area enemy because it didn't have large enough attack force in shared colony areas

    War Tactics AI
    - Exposed several magic numbers for when the AI decides to attack/bombard cities in GlobalDefinesAlt.xml
    - Fixed issue where attack city stacks would sometimes waste time by moving together to a staging city before merging

    Espionage AI
    - Unified decisions on what missions AI spies will run based on attitude and warplans
    - On Aggressive AI, AI spies will now go after rivals civ is pleased towards
    - Spies now move before other units (so revolt city can have an effect)
    - Spies positioned in enemy cities will now cause revolts to lower defenses when attackers are in position
    - Greatly reduced AI spies pillaging random improvements
    - AI spies will now go after bonus tiles, very rarely target non-bonus improvements
    - Spies now will move to and wait in cities which AI is targetting for conquest
    - Added consideration to have spies pick different target cities/plots
    - AI now will more likely steal enemy treasury if itself or enemy is in financial trouble
    - AI will now consider using unhappiness mission in cities close to happy cap, not only those already over it
    - Spies will now steal techs more often when AI is behind in tech, including stealing techs from friends when necessary
    - Fixed issue blocking AI from using the steal treasury spy mission
    - Poison city mission now valued based on producing food shortages, not just producing unhealthiness

    Missionary AI
    - AI will now build missionaries to push holy city religions when in free religion
    - AI now gives higher weight to building non-state religion missionaries for any holy city religions is has, especially with a shrine
    - Improved AI decisions on when to build missionaries

    Tech AI
    - Added new function AI_techValue, moved existing tech valuation code there

    General AI
    - AI now values gifted units much more highly, in line with other gifts
    - Gifted obsolete or non-combat units are not valued as highly as current combat units

    AI Logging
    - Added logging system for easily tracking AI decision making (requires Release or Debug build)

    CIV4GameInfoSchema
    - New era tech cost modifier field no longer required, will be set to 0 for all era for mods that don't specify them instead of failing to load XML
     
  3. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yeah!

    Now to go clean up the damage...
     
  4. Mister Giggles

    Mister Giggles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    <Downloads, installs, starts a new game, adds all technologies, opens city screen. Notices it's much faster loading>

    Approved. 2 seconds instead of 6 (4-5 with Afforess' speed augmentations). The latter proved unplayable, given that I tend to play large maps with many cities with advanced start (So many things to build, oh God)...

    Turn times also seem to go by faster.

    Thank you for adding the "Requires River/Coastal" for buildings bit. It was...annoying...having this Resort Hotel I could seemingly build, yet couldn't.
     
  5. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Germany
    I can´t find a download link for ROM 2.8 lite in the OP. Could I humbly request that one is added ;) ?
     
  6. swobig

    swobig Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Hello,

    Really like the warlord units that were added which allows you to give experience to units. Are there rifle warlord units? I tend to win just after rifling on emporer level starting in ancient area, so I'm not sure if they show up a little after getting rifles.

    Was also wondering if there would be a way to improve workers. You can get to the point where you have many cities and workers and I automate mine because it becomes to much of a chore, but it is frustrating to see workers build forts on top of resources. Wondering if this could be an option for worker - not to build anything over resources, or to focus gold, focus on science (cottages) etc...
     
  7. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yes there are latter warlord units, you just need to get the techs. If you look in the civlopedia you can see what they upgrade to and what their stats are.

    Workers will build forts on resources which are outside of the workable areas of any of your cities so that you have access to that resource and if need be have a defence base to keep it later on. At some points in the game (RoM) a fort is better than any other improvement. I can't remember when this happens but I usually do not automate my workers until I have done all the work I want done in my cities work area. Even then I don't give them full autonomy until the transhuman era when you can replace forests with other cool stuff.
     
  8. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    I just bought a new SSD for my computer and reinstalled Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and I also bought Civ IV complete so I only need one disk to install everything.


    After updating BTS to 3.19 from within the game, I then downloaded RoM 2.8 full and 2.81 patch and put them in my Mod folder.

    I start the game and select Rise of Mankind and it shuts down like it's restarting te game, but it doesn't start back up. No errors reported.

    I restart the game with no indication the RoM mod had loaded. I try to play anyway and it just starts up a normal game.

    I then download a quicksave of another user to help him see if it is machine giving him problems, but when I double click the game in the downloads folder, the game tries to start up, but gives me an error,"Cannot load version 302, expected version 301 or older" and the game exits when I click OK.

    Is there something I'm missing?
    -=Mark=-
     
  9. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    No, no, no. Bad.

    The in-game patcher never works, it lies. You need to download the patch somewhere else and run the installer version. I think CFC has the patch, if you look in the download database.

    Once it's been patched, try again. ;)
     
  10. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    lol - you're right. Windows 7 reports it is version 3.1.7.0.

    very wierd that it seemingly updated fine. before it would just hang during the install.

    I'm downloading patch now.

    Thanks
    -=Mark=-
     
  11. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    well, it loads the RoM mod now, but when I get to the game it gives me tons of error about creating ini files.

    autosaving
    BugOptions -failed creating ini file C:\...\advanced combatodds.ini
    MapFinder.ini, AutoSave.ini, BUG Misc Hovers.ini, and BUG City Bar.ini

    Does this need the BUG Mod as well?
    --=Mark=-
     
  12. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    No... It has the BUG mod in it already. Did you patch to 2.81?
     
  13. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Yes, I extracted the RoM 2.8 first, then patch 2.81 next. I did however need to run winrar as admin or it would give me permission errors.

    I just ran the game again, and the windows game menu let me run BTS as admin and all seems fine now. Can this mod be made to run in my documents or somewhere in my users directory to avoid the admin privilages? I know BUG Mod allows me that option, but not sure if it is possible with this mod.

    Thanks for the help!
    -=Mark=-
     
  14. szemek77

    szemek77 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Poland, Warsaw
    Guys,
    someone smart enough :) please just tell me - is it better/recommended/necessary to install a fresh version of CIV IV/BtS/3.19/ before I change version of RoM and ND, or it doesn't matter? Is it possible that previous versions of RoM or ND are leaving some remains behind despite I removed them? Can it cause any problem with newer versions?
     
  15. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    If you had been playing RoM recently, you already had 3.19 of BtS installed. It was from version 2.7test2 to 2.7 that the RoM updated from patch 3.17 to 3.19 IIRC.

    Ancient history :lol:, that! I can't emember we had 3.17 just six months ago! A lot had been happening in these six months!
     
  16. szemek77

    szemek77 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Poland, Warsaw
    Yes I know. It's probably because of my English.... I want to know, if I should reainstall CIV completely before changing RoM or ND version or not? Usually I just remove the "Rise of a Mankind" folder from BTS/Mods, and then copy "fresh" version of RoM and do needed installments. I'm just wondering, if older versions of RoM/ND are leaving some remains somewhere, which could interfere with updated ones.

    True :)
     
  17. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I just turned off the User Account Control, and so every action I do is an admin action, but then, I'm what's considered a "power" user, so YMMV.

    However, I plan on installing a shortcut with my installer for future version, which forces Run as Admin.
     
  18. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    If you got Vista and have installed BtS to c:\Program Files\... -folder you need to turn of User Account Control (UAC) or install BtS to any other location that isn't inside Program Files folder. UAC prevents BUG mod from editing it's inis (and saving them) when the mod is located in path that's inside Program Files.
     
  19. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    I know for sure that Rise of Mankind never leave any traces anywhere else than Mods. So you are safe deleting Rise of Mankind folder. As for Afforess' pack, I'm assuming his installer only check the registry for the correct install path. Then it install into RoM. So it also doesn't touch anything else than Mods folder.

    Long story short: Delete Rise of Mankind from Mods, then you are safe to install fresh copy of RoM then installing AND over it.
     
  20. Carwyn

    Carwyn Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    462
    Older versions won't be a problem. I have several versions I play just by changing the names of the folders they are in (the one I want to play will be named "Rise of Mankind", the others will have their version name added). You may want to clear the caches by holding down the shift key as the game loads. Sometimes info in the cache can be a problem.
     

Share This Page