1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SCENARIO: Age of Imperialism; 1895-1924, Deluxe Version

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by El Justo, Aug 2, 2004.

  1. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    yes, of course :) the place holder fillers are great and automatic inclusions. no doubt.

    it's trying to fit in ones that are not in the pre-existing unit lines that can pose a problem. what techs would unlock them? does this make it uneven between rivals? what do other civs get? should there be a balance? what about stats? is their wiggle room to differentiate? basically, adding ones that aren't already in the unit lines means a wholesale revision, which is not fun unless it is intended to revamp the whole kit and caboodle.
     
  2. alexccm

    alexccm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Moscow
    I think it's a nice goal to destroy Germany playing A-H. In that case it woud be great if Germany move some units to another continent. Once I sent 2 protected criusers to US shores and declared war on the USA. Next turn some Kearsage destroyed my PC-ship, but Germany DIDN'T declare war on the US, WHY??? The same happened with my 2nd cruiser with the same result... what do the germans really need to declare war if A-H is attacked?
     
  3. Sima Qian

    Sima Qian 太史令

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    I believe the rule with the locked alliance and mutual protection pact is that if you are Austria-Hungary, Germany will only declare war if you are attacked within your own borders, of if enemy troops end a turn within your borders. Any hostile engagement outside your borders will not invoke the MPP.

    You can overcome this by taking over an American city and waiting for them to counterattack. Shouldn't be that hard, right? :D
     
  4. LegionKiller

    LegionKiller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    This scenario rocks, and this especially made my day.
     
  5. Tank_Guy#3

    Tank_Guy#3 Lion of Lehistan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5,918
    Location:
    Vivat Sobieski!
    I'm pretty far into my Russian campaign, and thought I'd post a screenshot of how things are looking.

    First is my invasion of England. I had not declared war on them at all until around 1912, and as you can see from the mini-map they have all but lost their empire.
    Spoiler :
    English Campaign.gif

    Here is another shot of a fair portion of my Pacific Fleet bombarding the hell out of New Zealand. I'm having a harder time cracking the defenses here than I am in the Home Isles!
    Spoiler :
    Pacific Fleet.gif
     
  6. Tank_Guy#3

    Tank_Guy#3 Lion of Lehistan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5,918
    Location:
    Vivat Sobieski!
    On the final enemy turn of the game, I managed to lose my first city (Glasgow) since starting a game as the Russians.

    I had only 1 MG unit guarding the city. Sneaky Brits landed troops next to it and took it before I could get my reinforcements there. Was a bit dismayed at first, but then they pulled their small fleet out of Kingston that I had been bombarding for the past 20+ turns to no avail. As soon as they left I took Kingston with barely noticeable resistance and began pursuing their fleeing ships. I can post a screenshot of the minimap later.
     
  7. cemo1956

    cemo1956 King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    El Justo,
    when you finally emerge from under that pile of chopped treetrunks you might find time to answer this.
    Hope you sorted out the wrath of nature by now :goodjob:

    More than a year ago I asked about the ever irritating issue of AI not handling artillery.
    The issue has been dealt with in some different ways. The SOE and Global War has the artillery as pure offensive units with no bombard range. You tried out ticking both artillery and the offensive stuff. Even blitz I recall. Not working...

    Now my old brain has come up with an addition that I can´t seam to find in any discussion, if it hasn´t escaped my attention.

    Ticking Blitz of course give the artillery more power, perhaps too much.
    BUT when ticking offensive (as in SOE) AND NOT ticking artillery. Sounds like SOE all over you say. Well yes but in this case when you leave artillery unticked, keep higher bombard value and RANGE to more than zero, set the offensive value to lower and perhaps keep some defensive value for that close quarter fighting around the guns. (Low cost too)
    The AI normally get scared with units having no or low defensive. Workers heads for home when enemy is two squares from them. Perhaps a certain defensive value will make them dare the artillery piece.

    The SOE have it´s bombard range to zero so it just can´t use the "artillery" version, but uses some stealth stuff (smart, but still I like to see actual bombard)

    The BIG Q on this when and if the AI builds the piece is if it uses it to bombard and not with a straight attack.
    This scenario of ticking and unticking almost assembles the navy units, doesn´t it.
    The AI can handle navy units in bombard against cities. But still I have never seen the AI uses bombard ship vs ship. Another bug perhaps.

    If this has been brought up before I´m sad I missed it. But I think one shouldn´t give up getting the AI to behave like humans gathering a huge artillery train with it´s offensive units in attacking.

    I had a small irritating thought that perhaps the AI behave different (and smarter) with artillery in the extreem highest levels of play. Like the Deity and Sid levels. I´m a coward and never play the 3 highest levels, so I can´t tell. Please enlight me :crazyeye:

    You answered this a year ago, but still it wasn´t UNTICK the artillery

     
  8. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    thanks. last of the chainsaw massacre to take place tomorrow :) lots of fresh firewood for the Justo Homestead.

    all interesting stuff you post old buddy :D i try not too get too exotic with the arty settings. so i would probably leave them as is for now. yes, i would love for AI arty use to be better. but i'm just not sure whether it can all be fixed with the limitations of the game engine. of course, this doesn't mean that i don't like reading this stuff because if there's a way around all this, i would sure like to see it. but i will not get all exotic and mess too much with the base settings [unless it really, really works].
     
  9. cemo1956

    cemo1956 King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    Sorry if these questions might be a bit out of date, however making adjustments in your great scenario thanks to the flood of new ships from Delta, I´m incline to ask.

    The flc-files used (models that is) for the South Carolina and Florida Dreadnoughts.
    Who are they.
    South Carolina looks like a version of Wyrmshadows Casemate, but it must be a different model than that in the DB. The attackb.flc isn´t present and the attacka are having a higher fire angle.

    Can you possible remember what models you used for these ships, now that first USS Delaware and hopefully others comes in from Delta.


    EDIT YES I found the version you used for South Carolina. It´s a different version also named CasemateBB but twice as big with some very different flc than the version in the DB.
    Guess it was from the old days of the old SOE.
     
  10. TsarNikolai

    TsarNikolai Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    The Balkans
    Can someone advise me how to disable the Germany - A-H alliance? Thanks in advance.
     
  11. pvincent100

    pvincent100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    96

    You can do it in the Editor, still I'd keep it in - it makes playing Germany unpredictable and makes sure you don't get too comfortable
     
  12. Ryanbeolve

    Ryanbeolve Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    So... I was attempting to download the main file, but it just wont open.
    Is there an alternative link?
     
  13. AnthonyBoscia

    AnthonyBoscia Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595
    I had a freeze around 1915 during the death animation of sinking an enemy ship. I've added some Delta Strife stuff so I am going to check the animations. I'll let you know what I find...never seen AOI crash before.
     
  14. Redman

    Redman Emperor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,608
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, Netherlands (GMT+1)
    Still playing this amazing scenario! So freakin' good!
     
  15. Redman

    Redman Emperor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,608
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, Netherlands (GMT+1)
    You could ask ElJusto by sending him a PM?
     
  16. pvincent100

    pvincent100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Hey Redman. - I couldn't agree more, this is an awesome game
     
  17. Aleenik

    Aleenik Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,203
    Location:
    France
    I really love this scenario.:) I have a question about the installation though, as I found the wording a bit confusing. I'm not sure if I downloaded everything I needed to or not. I followed the installation instructions section. Underneath that section though, there are patches linked. Do I need to install all of those as well? Or maybe I just need to install the text folder?

     
  18. Aleenik

    Aleenik Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,203
    Location:
    France
    I just wanted to say that I have become addicted to this mod/scenario and that I have been playing it every day for weeks now. I love the time period that it's based on. This is, in my opinion, the best Civ III mod/scenario around.
     
  19. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  20. Aleenik

    Aleenik Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,203
    Location:
    France
    I certainly am.:) I have run into some problems though. Not problems that could really be fixed that easily however. The civs that I find the most interesting, Britain, France, Germany, Japan, Russia are all too easy to win as (I only play on the hardest difficulty, Admiral) making playing as them fairly boring to me after a short amount of time. I've yet to play as Britain, but I got a decent way into my Germany game before quitting it and am now even farther into my Japan game, about to reach the Great War tech for the first time. I am already the VP leader though. It was quite easy to do so. Also, I have been able to secure all free tech wonders in my games and as Japan I put all my wonders in Tokyo. It now has a production of over 800 shields. Soon enough it will have enough shields to pump out a tank every turn, once I get that far.

    In my Japan game, I immediately prepared for war and launched a war against Russia with my starting units only and took Vladivostok. I sued for peace soon after. Later in my game I easily took American and German territories in the Pacific, alongside Alaska. What really has shot me up the ranks though was my incredibly easy invasion of South America. I now control about half of South America and have about 500 units total, with more coming every turn.

    In my Germany game, I lost a bit less than half of my African colonies to France and I lost Tsingtao to France. None of that mattered though. I invaded Scandinavia from the start and easily took it over. I then a bit later invaded Amsterdam and Brussels, easily conquering both. I now had a ton of VP locations just through those two wars. I then decided to sail for the Americas and secure the easy VP locations there. I quit after taking a few cities. The domination grew to be boring. I am finding the same thing to be true with my Japan game. I am unlikely to finish it.

    I love the mod/scenario overall, but as you can see, I find it too easy as the civs that I consider to be the most fun/interesting ones. I know that this mod may never be updated again (That's fine, it's pwnage as is) so I may start handicapping myself when I play as a strong civ like, say, Germany. I could leave invasions of South America off the table, but then I still have the European VP locations that are easily acquirable. Maybe I should just remove all VP locations from the civs that are unlikely to race for the win anyways. Which would probably be every civ in the game except the US, France, Britain, Germany and Russia.

    Also, another thing. There is nothing that can be done about this, but I will still say it anyways. Taking a turn takes... forever not far into the game. Managing all those specialists and micromanaging each unit, especially bombarding each turn, takes up a lot of time. Too bad the makers of Civ 3 didn't include a much easier way of dealing with tons of specialists and units.
     

Share This Page