1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BTS] SGOTM 25 - Home Slices

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Succession GOTM' started by AlanH, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. LowtherCastle

    LowtherCastle Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,280
    Okay, I have updated my first post on page one. It now gives a running log of our progress with links to posts we might want to look at again. Please let me know if there are any posts you want me to add. Don't be shy. Doesn't matter if no one else cares about the post, the point is to save you time finding the posts.

    Also, please let me know if you find a dysfunctional link. I haven't tested them.
     
  2. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,830
    Location:
    Vancouver
  3. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,830
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I’d like to play further tonight. I think I’ll do the remainder of the set in two more 3-4t mini-sets in two days. A lot is happening with map reveals and AIs, so I think it’s worthwhile having everyone review the save often. I would have missed the Gua trade route otherwise.

    The first 4t set is very straightforward, as the cities just continue their current builds and the workers are improving the obvious tiles. In 4t we should see the remaining AI capitals, as well.

    If you have any more comments, speak now.
     
  4. Kaitzilla

    Kaitzilla Lord Croissant

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    America!
    That is so weird.
    I too don't see how there can already be a connection.

    I'm glad capturing Hong Kong in good time is back on the table.

    @Bbp, good luck!
     
  5. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,830
    Location:
    Vancouver
  6. LowtherCastle

    LowtherCastle Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,280
    green light
     
  7. LowtherCastle

    LowtherCastle Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,280
    Further data on AI tech levels:

    Renaissance Era (AI modifier: -15%):

    Churchill
    de Gaulle
    Mehmed
    Julius Caesar

    Industrial Era (AI modifier: -20%):

    Home Slices
    Tokugawa
    Bismarck

    Modern Era (AI modifier: -25%):
    Stalin
    Roosevelt

    This is easily determined by looking at the city buildings. First notice that the above groupings have the same buildings types in the Real Save. Go into Worldbuilder in bbp's test save, home in on any primitive AI's city, add to him techs by era. When you finally add Renaissance, the buildings flip to that grouping. Next Industrial Era and the buildings flip again. Then Modern and once again. I haven't looked at how this affects the AI score values.

    Two Caveats: bbp noticed some WB inconsistencies and I noticed that giving a tech that flips the buildings and then removing that tech does not flip the buildings back.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
  8. LowtherCastle

    LowtherCastle Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,280
    Yw. :) Btw, in case you hadn't noticed, I included a pop2 AI city list link to your above list of cities that have grown to pop2. :goodjob:
     
  9. LowtherCastle

    LowtherCastle Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,280
    All those advanced AI techs are just a distraction, imo. We don't need Banking. Maybe Civil Service.
     
  10. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,830
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Are you 100% sure about this? I was getting inconsistent results for this when I tried it in WB earlier.
    Also, JC can't have a Renaissance tech. Banking is Medieval and his score isn't high enough for any more.
     
  11. LowtherCastle

    LowtherCastle Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,280
    Btw, Shanghai should pop borders 1t before Manchou, so that will be a clear test of whether either of those cuts our connection.
     
  12. LowtherCastle

    LowtherCastle Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    23,280
    Well, there is one possible catch that I noticed. If I give an AI one Renaissance tech, his buildings flip. Then if I take it away, they stay flipped. So it's conceivable, I suppose, that JC was gifted a Renaissance tech, then had it removed.

    I didn't notice any inconsistencies otherwise, but I didn't test too thoroughly. There surely might be. I think it probably holds pretty well. We'll see in the end. It only really matters, imo, if they have or can create threatening units.

    EDIT: Giving JC Banking didn't flip the buildings nor did CS to Toku.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2018
  13. WastinTime

    WastinTime Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    I've seen stuff like this before--connected to someone far away after sailing. Does it have something to do with the lakes?
     
  14. Kaitzilla

    Kaitzilla Lord Croissant

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    America!
    Cough, unexplained trade routes are one of those unsolved mysteries of Civ 4.
    I've seen a few times my city connect to my empire when I was 100% sure it was impossible.

    Everyone knows barb cities blocks coastal trade routes.
    I'm pretty sure coastal cities with closed borders do the same.
    Or maybe it only gets cut off during war specifically?

    It's nothing I ever tried too hard to investigate.

    Something changed to enable the connection.
    It wasn't connected, then it was.
    It has to be unfogging a tile somewhere.

    I'll check again in the morning and try to give a better answer.

    Bbp's land bridge to Hong Kong to sever it in the test game should be a good enough clue to pin it down.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2018
  15. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,830
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ok, I've played to T12 and uploaded.

    Mehmed just demanded we stop trading with Roosevelt, and I denied.

    I got an archer into position to grab a German worker on the Tsingtao copper mine this turn, but he does still have LB+Archer in the city.
    Edit: not sure if this is something we would consider. Main reason to stop right now.

    Chongqing also has a worker, which is pasturing the nearby cow.

    The continent looks smaller than I expected now. Haven't had a chance to count tiles, but I'm not so sure it's single continent domination anymore.

    Hong Kong is the only nearby city that is yet to grow to 2.

    Shanghai borders popped this turn, no change to Gua TR.
     
  16. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,830
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ok, I counted. There are 813 tiles on the continent currently visible. I'd estimate another 60-70 or maybe more fogged. We can also see 70 island tiles right now. That is approx. 950 out of 1007 needed for domination. Hopefully there are more islands accessible pre-Astro. It's close.
     
  17. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,830
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Not sure how representative this is, but when I simulate it in the test game his units stay in the city.
     
  18. WastinTime

    WastinTime Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    I'm tempted to go for the worker as long as we can ultimately survive if the lb takes the archer out. I haven't looked at what units we can have to recover.

    Won't surprise me if we have 1006 tiles pre-Astro.

    that sounds possible.
     
  19. WastinTime

    WastinTime Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    good news, but it is scary. I find that often the AI will not immediately retaliate, but the problem with this worker steal is that when we try to make our escape, the lb gets a 2nd chance at us. I guess it would only get the archer and the worker would escape.
     
  20. WastinTime

    WastinTime Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    17,492
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    If the worker steal succeeds, then it's clear we don't need to ever build another worker :cooool:
     

Share This Page