1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SteamDB: "Bison" Depot??

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Scirocco16V, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Yeah, that's how I took it. I don't recall even being able to turn off DLC at that point anyway.
     
  2. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,922

    This is what I think as well. It was designed concurrently with vanilla for the purpose of acclimating customers to the DLC sales model.
     
  3. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Those with inside knowledge say it was completed after game launch, but it's pretty clear the dawn of man intro was done before launch and the voice actor probably recorded then too.
     
  4. Sporally

    Sporally Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    Those two arguments sound about right aswell :)

    Sendt fra min GT-I9305 med Tapatalk
     
  5. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,158
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I can understand the majority of the work being done post release and the voice acting being done beforehand. If you're planning a DLC so soon after release, you might as well get the voice actor to record the lines all at once instead of coming in half a month later again
     
  6. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,606
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    I'm not sure but I've noticed taht Mongolia's, Inca's and Spain's "emblems" are in the same file as the ones from vanilla.
     
  7. otaman1

    otaman1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,697
    Im guessing they were planned to be in Vanilla at release.
     
  8. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    I think the dual pack preorder bonus was always planned to be the Inca and Spanish. Although I do think the Genghis Khan leader screen was made after release, mostly because of how rushed it seems.
     
  9. AmericanDestiny

    AmericanDestiny Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Any patch notes yet? The dlc is coming next week...
     
  10. Abraxis

    Abraxis Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ... what DLC? :confused:
     
  11. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,606
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    I find that post ironic seeing as we all know by now that a new DLC is coming either way haha.

    The Conquest of the New World is marked as "DLC".
     
  12. tnick777

    tnick777 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    235
  13. Abraxis

    Abraxis Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I promise not to tell anyone about this thread if you just let me leave... please... I swear I won't tell a soul... :scared:
     
  14. Myomoto

    Myomoto King

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    610
    Wait, how do we know this is the case?
     
  15. Lord Xavius

    Lord Xavius Mostly Lurking

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    The Internet
    From earlier in this thread:
     
  16. Iklabain

    Iklabain Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    So, are we getting new stuff or just a complete pack to signal the end of civ 5?
     
  17. cpm4001

    cpm4001 Goggleman

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Not here
    There seems to be at least one more DLC with an update "Conquest of the New World" scenario coming out. This DLC will be included in the Complete pack.
    We're also hoping there will be a patch released simultaneously.
     
  18. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    I found this to be an interesting picture that the official Civ V twitter page tweeted last night:



    Thing is, I don't think I've seen those civ colours in the game before (unless modded). Akwesasme (Akwesasne) is a Mohawk settlement. The fact Calcutta is in there indicates it's not Conquest of the New World deluxe. Therefore, are the Mohawks in there as a main civ? Or is it a mod - but why would the official Civ V twitter page use a mod and not a scene from the epic game?

    Alternatively, I could be completely wrong of course!!
     
  19. Viregel

    Viregel , The Rt. Hon.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,944
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kingdom of the Britons
    Obliviously, we've been lied to. India is in America!
     
  20. Moraiwe

    Moraiwe Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Those colours are clearly the Iroquois.
     

Share This Page