1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

The Modern World (Version One)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by jjslocum, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. jjslocum

    jjslocum Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Here's version one of my modern world scenario. This is the first scenario I've ever made, so any feedback is appreciated. I'm sure there's still room for improvement, and I've also learned the game has some limitations. The game uses the TETurkhan 256x256 World Map with only a few slight changes, thanks to TETurkhan for that. I did have to revert back to original graphics, as I was having a missing file error with the add-ons that came with it by default.

    This was made for Civ 3 Complete. It may take a few minutes to load at first but once you're in-game, it goes by quickly.

    THE GAME
    This scenario begins in January of 2016, with each turn taking three months. The world is at peace for the time being, but terrorism, spying, drones and other factors have led to some tension. Is World War III inevitable?

    There are three ways to win. You can go the peaceful route and build the spaceship (Which has been made far more difficult than the default game, each piece of the ship costs 1250, which means you have to dedicate some time to it.)

    You can also win by domination or you can nuke the world and go for the destruction-based conquest win.

    There are 24 playable civs, although not all of them are built to be winners. To try to reflect modern alliances, there are also three sets of locked alliances. I tried to make this as reasonable as possible.

    Group one:

    United States
    European Union
    Canada
    Australia/New Zealand
    Israel
    South Korea

    Group two:
    China
    Russia
    North Korea

    Group three
    The Arab League
    Pakistan

    There are also these non-aligned civs
    India
    Ukraine
    Japan
    Iran
    The African Union
    Brazil
    South America (everyone but Brazil)
    Mexico
    Central America (the remaining Central American and Caribbean nations)
    Turkey
    Southeast Asia (The ASEAN nations)
    Eastern Neutrals (Mostly former Soviet nations)
    European Neutrals (Switzerland, Norway and Greenland)

    A few rule changes have been made. Citizens require half as much food, this was so the modern massive cities could be more accurate. Also, there is a cap on science, it takes by default 15 turns (five years in game) or longer to get new advancements. This is so you don't have everything right away, since a good chunk of the modern achievements have already been discovered in reality.

    The game uses default graphics. I don't know how to or really care to try to screw with mods. Plus, I'm ok with the default graphics.

    Of course, feel free to add any of your mods or make any changes as you see fit. I'll probably do a re-release at some point, as I haven't done too much play-testing yet.

    Without further wait, here it is!

    EDITED WITH UPDATED VERSION, ORIGINAL HAD 326 VIEWS
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jjslocum

    jjslocum Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    33
  3. Lionic

    Lionic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    445
    Heh. Looking at what's happening I doubt that world would be at peace by January 2015.
     
  4. Apollo12

    Apollo12 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Why is India in group two?
     
  5. MPK

    MPK prince

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Shenyang China
    Congrats on this effort.

    I also have a 'wondering thought why India would be in any group. Group 2 of China, Russia and Iran is correct. I would just replace India with N Korea in this group.

    Also in Group 1. I don't see Mexico being there. Also New Zealand would not be there. For one thing our 3 Planes and 9 Helicopters would be of little use ;).
    But on a serious note with this. New Zealand halted all Military Ties with the US back in about 1984. Now that Australia is bed friends with the US we are most reluctant to ally ourselves with the Aussies anymore. We are no longer ANZAC Brothers. Unless either of our Coastlines or any of the Pacific Nations were attacked I don't see us ever joining forces again.

    Another question I have. Where is the United Nations, or even Nato in this?
     
  6. jjslocum

    jjslocum Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    From my research, it seemed like India and Russia have a fairy strong relationship and a pretty decent one with Iran. As for North Korea, they seem very isolated, China and Russia have both distanced themselves from them a lot recently.

    I put Australia and New Zealand together because it seemed to make sense with close ties. I didn't realize they had separated a bit and maybe NZ should just be with the neutrals. I admittedly don't know too much about the two.

    United Nations doesn't really fit with the game, all it does is let you win the "Diplomatic" victory. And basically every country in reality is in the UN, so there's no good way to reflect it. NATO's partially reflected in the first alliance.

    I hate the "Locked alliances" but it's almost required the way Civ 3 is built. In tests without it, you'd get things like North Korea and Canada signing alliances and the United States invading Canada, and all other sorts of zany-ness. I wish the game let you built more complex relations.
     
  7. Atoll

    Atoll Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    The Third Rome
    You can do it through the system of flavors (extra flavors from 1 to 7 in editor). For example, by giving the new "western" flavor for both USA and Canada and "rogue" flavor for North Korea. Then you should set the relationships between flavors to make, for example, "western" civs love each other and hate/be hated by "rogue" civs. This should heavily reduce the chances of war between USA and Canada and heavily increase - between USA and North Korea.

    PS about scenario:

    Spoiler :


    Sevastopol is not a part of Ukraine since March 2014 & i'm pretty sure will not be Ukrainian in January 2015. Perhaps you should reassign it to Russia.
     
  8. jjslocum

    jjslocum Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    I saw the "flavors" but didn't know what they did, so I didn't mess with them. Perhaps I'll toy around with that.

    Obviously, Sevastopol and Crimea are in dispute. At the start of the civ, I do have the city surrounded by Russian troops (and Ukraine troops around them), but the game doesn't start a war over it. When the war starts (which is generally always does after a few turns) it's seemingly random who starts it.
     
  9. jjslocum

    jjslocum Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    I've played around a bit today with the Flavors and seeing how it plays out without locked alliances, so far it's the same issues. (US attacking Canada, etc)
     
  10. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,248
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    That's not how Flavors work.

    When you assign a Flavor to a civ, you are influencing which improvements/wonders it will build and which technologies they will research - note that both the Improvements/Wonders tab and the Civilization Advances tab both have options for flavors. This is all they do.
     
  11. Atoll

    Atoll Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    The Third Rome
    I meant extra flavors used exactly to set relationships between civs. here they are:

    Spoiler :
     
  12. Gojira54

    Gojira54 The folly of Man

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Monster Island black-sand beaches
    VC is correct. Flavors do not affect diplomacy from what I have seen - just influences techs and improvements.

    HOWEVER - I've noticed that civs of the same culture groups and with a preferred government are slightly less likely to attack than those of other culture groups and governements, and are slightly more likely to attack those with disliked governments. You can use those settings and aggressiveness setting to control AI aggression towards each other. Also, to use your US/Canada war as an example, make sure neither country has a resource the other wants.
     
  13. jjslocum

    jjslocum Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    I recently added a lot of resources to areas because it seemed like a lot of countries would demand resources, even if they were irrelevant in that era like horses or saltpeter.

    I'm also playing with a very limited set of locked alliances like US/Canada. (In my current one, the US couldn't attack Canada, so they went south and took Mexico and part of South America.)
     
  14. pvincent100

    pvincent100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    I'm looking forward to playing this...
     
  15. nvoniatis

    nvoniatis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    guys, i've put the biq file in "Civ 3 Complete Edition/Scenarios/ " but whenever i try to open the scenario, this Error comes out:
    Spoiler :
     
  16. Atoll

    Atoll Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    The Third Rome
    Wrong folder, man! Put it in "Civ 3 Complete Edition/Conquests/Scenarios/"
     
  17. nvoniatis

    nvoniatis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    same thing comes up whenever i try to put it in every scenarios folder
    either thats complete, conquests or play the world
    im on a mac right now, donno whats wrong, its the first time ever somthing like that happens =/

    edit
    ok, ive googled the error, found the PediaIcons.txt
    copied the text from this attachment (click here)
    restarted the game, works like a charm!
     
  18. BomberPlane474

    BomberPlane474 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    I'm loving this mod! EU is my favorite civ!
     
  19. enduser

    enduser Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    well done fellow! :goodjob:
     
  20. jjslocum

    jjslocum Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    After not playing Civ for a while, I got back into it. Here's a version 2.0 for this scenario. I added Brazil as it's own separate civ, I also broke up the rest of South America into its own neutral civ, made the Central America and Caribbean nations their own neutral civ, and made Switzerland/Norway/Greenland their own neutral European civ. I wanted to break up the neutrals a bit so it wasn't as large of one for any particular group.

    This version does have locked alliances as well. They are

    Group 1: Russia, China, North Korea
    Group 2: USA, EU, Canada, South Korea, Israel, Australia/NZ
    Group 3: Arab League, Pakistan

    Once again, I can't guarantee anything in terms of how it plays out. I'm actually thinking about creating a running thread, watching how the game plays out if you just sim it and stay out of the way. Stay tuned on that.

    EDIT: re-uploaded because there was an issue with the original. The new file is uploaded three posts away.
     

Share This Page