Unit requests thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by Thunderfall, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,943
    Location:
    israel
    wonderful!!

    someone else offered to assist - Ramzey,
    i have given him an extensive unit set description, but the variety ill have will help with unique units.

    really appreciate this.
     
  2. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Cool. It occurred to me @ramzay1945 may not have access to the Civ 5 models. So, I'll post the ones I converted to Obj format here. I didn't get the blockade runner/privateer. I personally would rather use the one from RI.
     

    Attached Files:

    keldath likes this.
  3. ramzay1945

    ramzay1945 Knyaz

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    USSR, Ivanovo
    Oh, thank you so much!
    I know how to use it:)
     
    keldath likes this.
  4. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    I'm attempting to use the actual Civ 5 animations for the pistol cavalry. I've had some success in converting them to kfs. I selected the equivalent ones. Mostly have a full deck except for the diefade animation. They have way too many key frames. The only thing I have changed so far is the frame rate (30fps). They work in nifskope, but in the game it throws python errors, and this assert:
    Code:
    Assert Failed
    
    File:  ..\.\CvPythonCaller.cpp
    Line:  290
    Func:  CvPythonCaller::call
    Expression:  !bAssertSuccess || m_bLastCallSuccessful
    Message: 
    
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    pythonerror.jpg pythonerror2.jpg

    Super vague, but I thought one of the code bois might have a clue. I'm out of ideas for tonight. :help:

    I've got the normal carbine cavalry rigged to the vanilla civ4 units like usual. Also did all the riflemen yesterday.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,943
    Location:
    israel
    wow very very cool.

    its ok if there wont be full animatiom or not a perfect model, i dont mind.

    cheers!
     
  6. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,021
    Location:
    Germany
    Them bois would have to know that the failed assertion comes from the AdvCiv mod. Based on the line numbers, you appear to use the Sevopedia files from AdvCiv as well, but CvMainInterface.py from BtS. The assertion only indicates that a DLL-to-Python call has failed. I could check in the debugger, but it's pretty clear from the Python stack trace that it's the pediaJumpToUnit call (CvScreensInterface). Looking at the line numbers,
    screen.addUnitGraphicGFC
    is the Python-to-EXE call that ultimately fails. The other Python stack trace comes from the main screen, apparently, and also crashes in the EXE when calling:
    screen.addSpecificUnitGraphicGFC

    So – something wrong with the unit graphic. :lol:
     
  7. ramzay1945

    ramzay1945 Knyaz

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    USSR, Ivanovo
    I'll post it here for now, then I'll make another topic.
    I decided to make units in Bakuel's style after all. The units from civilization 5 are very good and I will take some of the details from there, but I like this view more.
    Well, regarding the animation of a cavalryman with a pistol - there was already such a one in colonization, it was not difficult to set up the model.
    csa_cavalry.jpg
     
    MightyToad likes this.
  8. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    I think the dragoons in RI use the same animations. They look to be modified Sam infantry animations for the left arm. I don't know who originally made them, but they are excellent work.
     
  9. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,943
    Location:
    israel
    Huh awesome :)

    im so lucky :)
     
  10. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    American_CW_Civ5_Units.jpg
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/american-civil-war-units.29019/

    Here, I've posted the ones I have so far. These are the easy ones. I skipped the pistol cavalry for now, and skipped to the ironclads. These are the "easy" ones.
    I don't know if or when I can do the difficult ones. The dream of using actual Civ animations remains elusive. I want to see what ramzay comes up with as well.

    Derp. :hammer2::lol:
     
  11. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,943
    Location:
    israel
    AWESOME,

    the models looks great :)
    thank you so much.
     
  12. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,476
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Wow! So both the United and the Confederate States were under the control of the Brotherhood of Nod?! :lol:

    Nice job BTW :thumbsup:
     
  13. ramzay1945

    ramzay1945 Knyaz

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    USSR, Ivanovo
    Well, I'm not working so fast, but there is some progress.
    I will post everything as soon as I have done it completely.
    Here are new models of cavalry and a gatling gun. A cannon animation with the effect of a machine gunner is attached to the gattling.
    Civ4ScreenShot0102.JPG
    cavalry.jpg
     
    tantanmen and MightyToad like this.
  14. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,943
    Location:
    israel
    wow wow! superb!

    my mid coming along nicely :)
     
  15. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Yeah, I had tested that flag a while back and never changed it. This is the "test mod" for new units. There are a lot of weird left over things like that in it.

    This is the only real option. Someone did marry the machinegunner to the cannon for a unit, but that isn't any better. It would be cool if the gunner actually operated the weapon, and cranked the handle. I think if the Civ 5 animations can't be used it might look better if the machine gunner was omitted entirely. IMHO :smug:
     
  16. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,454
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    Play both sides, and you'll always win. :cooool:
     
  17. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,476
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    It is not uncommon for the Brotherhood to hide in the shadows or to have inner wars :)
     
  18. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,517
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Hi guys,

    does anybody of you know graphics for a Chicken?
    (Ideally I would find directly the Bonus Ressource graphics below - but if not we could start working from the Unit graphics.)

    I want to use it for a Bonus Ressource Chicken / Poultry.
    More or less just 3 Chicken standing around or maybe walking around and picking on the ground if animated.

    Best regards
    ray
     
  19. Kathy

    Kathy King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    619
    In only know about a turkey ressource which was in the ressource mod, but I have never seen chicken.
     
    raystuttgart likes this.
  20. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    I didn't have a chicken model on hand. So, I used the rubber duck. I rigged it to the sheep (using the body, front legs, and head bones).
    Rubber_ducks.jpg

    After I saw that this works I made a low effort chicken model.
    Chicken.jpg

    Like I said they use the sheep KFM (Art/Terrain/Resources/Sheep/Sheep.kfm). I am assuming Colonization has that. Colonization is weird about effects, attachables, and shaders. I don't know if it will work there.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page