1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

V24 Bugs/crashes reporting thread

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by strategyonly, Jul 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Correct. It is disabled though (grayed out).
    I might make a proper fix in the long run so the building and unit list caches can deal with a unit or building that is added or removed.
     
  2. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Having them disappear fro the list was a major usability improvement, since it shrunk the list. This is a major step backward IMO.
     
  3. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Reversed it partially. They will now disappear at once but at the cost of recalculating the full building list which is very slow if the filter to show only constructable stuff is off.
     
  4. WimpyTheWarrior

    WimpyTheWarrior Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    SVN 3183 (start), 3194 (current): I am one turn away from researching Druidism, and if you clear the research selection you will see the hand icon in the lower right corner indicating that I will be the first to research Druidism. But Poland (Ashubanipal) already researched Druidism about 3,000 years earlier.
     
  5. Cyrusfan

    Cyrusfan King

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Non-repeating CTD. Santa Anna declares war on next turn (in response, I move the two Atl-Atls on the hills next to Utica into town to defend it) and attacks Utica (N of Carthage). He won the first fight (which was a pretty low probability event) and the CTD happened immediately.
    View attachment 327159
    View attachment 327160
     
  6. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Minidump shows it's crashing in the main game engine, not our DLL. This usually means a graphical issue. Do you have viewports or dynamic entities on? If so does it seem to happen without?
     
  7. Cyrusfan

    Cyrusfan King

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    I had viewports on (50x30,2), but it doesn't repeat at all. If the CTD doesn't happen, the AI player continues attacking with the other units in that stack which are all mundane from what I can see. Which is to say there's no switch of viewpoint occurring and since I've got more Atl-Atls sitting in that city, the only graphic that might change is the attacker's stack, cycling through to the stone axemen (I think).

    I don't think it was some variant of MAF as there was no error message to that effect and I was able to reload and let the turn play through several times without incident (all the other times the attacker suicides his whole stack with no losses on my part).

    I don't know what dynamic entities are so I would guess that's off if it is by default.
     
  8. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    @Koshling, unexplored areas of the sea now look like shore lines with waves washing against them.:lol:

    I will go through again and check that the icons are the correct ones.
     
  9. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Hmm yeh. Unfortunately I can't see a way round that. The problem is the game engine refuses to not transiently display ocean tiles that it thought were revealed (by position in it considers a map) on a viewport or map switch. To get round this I had to use TERRAIN_SPACE and tell the game engine that all unrevealed tiles are that (so black even when it display it). Unformatunely it wont recognize this on water tiles so I also had to tell it that unrevealed tiles were land, which is what will be causing the effect you see.

    Basically if we want to support either viewports or multiple maps, we need to compromise one way or the other - either you get these pseudo-edges in unexplored ocean, or map or viewport switches can reveal stuff you shouldn't see for a few seconds.

    A compromise half-way house would be to use the TERRAIN_SPACE trick only for land, but that would mean outlines of coasts that you should no see will be visible to you on map/vewport switches for the few fade-out seconds.

    Obviously I could disable it if multimaps or viewports were not in use, but goingorward I think we'll always have multimaps (and probably iewports too) enabled, so i would essentially be a V250-only partial solution.

    The weird thing that is behind this, is that different terrain types on water tiles seem to be getting ignored - as far as you are aware is there anythign special about ocean terrains? Do they need something different in their XML or graphics which might mean the trick would work, but that TERRAIN_SPACE can't be used? (i.e. - if we had a black-tile 'ocean' terrain if those are distinguished in some way)
     
  10. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I have no idea when it comes to terrain graphics. There are a whole bunch of numbers which are supposed to handle edge effects and such like but I think you need to know how to do the graphics to figure out what they mean. :(
     
  11. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,069
    Location:
    America
    Well, there's always good old fashioned trail and error.:mischief:
     
  12. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    Have you considered just putting a black screen over everything for a few seconds? Something like the tech screen, or any of the others, but completely black. That should be much faster and easier than changing plots.

    Or isn't there a function to call that turns of the display of the map, used by the wonder movie code? OK - I just looked at CvWonderMovieScreen.py and there is a function called "setRenderInterfaceOnly(bool)" on the CyGInterfaceScreen object that you can set to True to not display the map at all. Set it to False to have it show the map again. Interestingly, this does not appear to be available to the DLL (no .cpp or .h file mentions CyGInterfaceScreen). If true, you'd ahve to add a call to run some Python to do it. There may be some function with a different name that would do the same thing in the DLL.
     
  13. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I checked the XML and it should be working correctly.:( The tech points to the correct icon and the religion points to the correct icon. I'll look elsewhere but I am stumped at the moment.

    @StrategyOnly when you get a chance remove the file druid.dds from the folder art/interface/buttons/techtree. Not a big deal, just to tidy things up a bit. It is the old druidism at natropathy button.
     
  14. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,537
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    The tree with a hand, correct, if so, done, thx for letting me know.;)
     
  15. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    It's nearly a 10 second fade out. So that would cause every viewport transition to take at least 10 seconds, rather than two to three as now. To some extent that would make the medicine worse than the cure, especially as the game gets more mature (spread out) and you need more transitions per turn.
     
  16. Vokarya

    Vokarya Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,145
    Here's something that I have seen that I don't think is a major bug, but it is disconcerting. A lot of ocean tiles are showing up as bright blue (visible), not shadowy blue (fog of war), even though I have no ships in the area. These tiles tend to form "halos" on the map, like in this screenshot.

    View attachment 327188

    Any idea what causes this? I've attached a save game if it will help.
     
  17. Stormwind

    Stormwind King

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    697

    There was some speculation that it is caused by the visibility line of promotions. Never heard of any solution though. Maybe it just got forgotten.
     
  18. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,911
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    If it helps anyone to know, I was seeing this effect 2 versions ago as well so it has nothing to do with any changes since then. I never did remember to bring it up. It's kinda funny.
     
  19. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    What about his other suggestion? A non transparent widget that fills your entire screen in the foreground and maybe a label "Switching Viewport" in the mid.
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,537
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Dont know if this is a minor bug or not, but the AI is building TownWatchman like it going out of style?? and its in every "big" city this way, even the Barbarian ones.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page