1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Workaround when returning to main menu with R&F and some mods 2018-02-10

Workaround for the game not loading and returning to main menu with R&F and some mods

  1. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,658
    Location:
    London, UK
    According to the chat on Discord this isn't fixed. Remember you can "get lucky" if the timestamps on the files are in a particular order. See here for more.

    Edit: Also I don't think March patch actually overwrites the .modinfo files for the DLCs so if you've previously installed the fix it will remain installed unless you do a verify to revert all your files.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  2. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,664
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    I wouldn't know, but I haven't had any issues so far.
    Except for R&F, it doesn't. But, it's always a good idea to verify your files, delete the cache/mods.sqlite, and unsubscribe from all mods after every patch.
     
  3. ArallanKing

    ArallanKing Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  4. Magic90

    Magic90 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Bump. I think I have this same error, I can't find a fix :/
     
  5. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,321
    Location:
    France
    no need for a fix for that one, it's a problem with the base game.

    if you have an issue with the game, it's not related to the "Warning: LocalizedText - Error Loading XML" (unless your issue is that you have strange text in game, but then it has nothing to do with this thread)
     
  6. Magic90

    Magic90 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    I don't have issues with any strange text (at least not yet), the problem is that it returns me to the main menu when I activate version 1.2. Apart from that error, I get a few more ones. Here are my modding logs:

    [1736735.378] Warning: LocalizedText - Error Loading XML.
    [1736735.727] Warning: LocalizedText - Error Loading XML.
    [1736735.818] Warning: UpdateDatabase - Error Loading XML.
    [1736735.847] Warning: UpdateDatabase - Error Loading XML.
    [1736735.942] Warning: LocalizedText - Error Loading XML.
    [1736735.962] Warning: LocalizedText - Error Loading XML.
    [1736736.037] Warning: UpdateDatabase - Error Loading SQL.
    [1736736.041] ERROR: Failed to release save point.
    [1736736.065] Warning: Error when calling IComponentHandler::ApplyComponent.
    [1736737.817] Warning: UpdateDatabase - Error Loading SQL.
    [1736737.818] Warning: UpdateDatabase - Error Loading XML.
    [1736738.228] ERROR: Failed to apply enabled components.
     
  7. Jon Yuen

    Jon Yuen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there any ways to install this fix in a Mac, cause the DLC folder doesn't have the files
     
  8. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,658
    Location:
    London, UK
    I guess you need to find where the DLC .modinfo files are installed.
     
  9. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,321
    Location:
    France
    Look in the other log at the same timestamp (the value betwern [ ] ) it should tell you what's causing the error.
     
  10. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
    I had an opportunity today to install a fresh R&F on a different computer. I decided to test if the bug is still there. I started a few games, each with 20+ mods, and 4 DLCs. I also changed mods in-between. Not a single problem. Am I so lucky?
    I remember that when R&F was initially released I was able to start a game with 3-5 mods, the problem started for me when I activated more mods, like 7+.
     
  11. kragen2179

    kragen2179 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Having a similar issue, DEFINITELY mod related...

    I have Civ6R&F, all was fine until I installed and YnAMP.

    When YnAMP is present in the mods folder, the game menu will not load (I get the intro movie followed by the menu background but no menu). And I have to use task manager to quit the game.

    Remove the mod folder and all is well again.

    YnAMP is the only mod I have tried to install (mods folder is otherwise empty). I have tried changing the load order (it's default is 100002).

    Help!
     
  12. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,321
    Location:
    France
    Update the game and the mod to latest version
     
  13. kragen2179

    kragen2179 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Thank you. That worked.
     

Share This Page