1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

YnAMP - Development thread Civ6

A compilation of maps and script with culturally linked start location or TSL

  1. Equilin

    Equilin Prince

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    453
    Gender:
    Male
    Spanish Mexico? The mod starts with that or the AI manages it themselves? they can do that??
    Import means using the pre-placed stuffs, map gen is generated upon game start (so in this case, everything else will be pre-placed and same every game except resource which is map-generated).
     
  2. MAHRana

    MAHRana Prince

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    They managed themselves iirc but i deliberately chose a late game start and with the historical spawn date mods, maybe some others as well which ended up giving the game a nice historical experience.
     
  3. agonistes

    agonistes wants his subs under ice!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,470
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vermont
    I ask this here because most of us have similar tastes in civ to a fair degree... does anyone know of a hearts of iron iv mod that makes that game more civesque?

    Looking at you Ged...

    I mean, honestly, I think you'd be better off giving up on cvi and modding hoi to *be* vi.2. (edit: at least you'd have decent combat mechanics)
     
  4. ZirkMcT

    ZirkMcT Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    i noticed that the arabian peninsula is too far west, specifically the caspian sea and the persian gulf not lining up vertically

    Spoiler map screenshots :



    moving the western end of the peninsula (where it juts out near the mountains) would let you fix egypt's/sudan's east coast, and would add some distance between crete and cyprus. might want to readjust the strait of hormuz/persia's coast, too
     
    Equilin likes this.
  5. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,759
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    @Gedemon Is there a way to add the new map sizes (e.g. Enormous, Giant, etc.) to the Resource_SeaLuxuries table?



    The spring update for R&F increases these values so resources like turtles have increased frequency.
     
  6. sukritact

    sukritact Artist and Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,848
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Hopefully this will make finding TSL coordinates easier: http://www.sukrittan.com/Civ6_YNAEMP/YNAMP_Planner.html

    Currently has Giant Earth, Greatest Earth, and Play Europe Again.

    Edit: Added Large Europe and Southeast Asia, you may need to Shift+F5 to get your cache to refresh
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2018
  7. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    Giant Earth ?

    No idea ATM, I'll have a look.

    Thanks !

    I'll add it to the To Do for TSL.


    Ho, and can anyone check this please ? Anyone else with the issue ?
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/ctd-on-load.635013/#post-15186303
     
  8. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    And while I'm here, a small dev update, I've had to put my main project for civ6 on hold, waiting (hoping !) for the source code to help with its development, and after a small break I'm working a bit on my todo list for YnAMP, so do you like teasers ?

    Spoiler :
    Clipboard-4.png Clipboard-5.png
    Spoiler :
    Clipboard-3.png Clipboard-6.png Clipboard-2.png Clipboard-7.png
     
  9. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    It seems that the latest patch restored some stability (and increased speed) for loading maps, or is it just for me?

    I mean that while working on the above feature for it, I've noted that I can load the (full) Largest Earth Map without crashing, could anyone test this too?
     
  10. McGreggD

    McGreggD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    I was able to load the largest earth map no problem and I really want to play it but it's not rise & fall compatible.

    Any chance of an update?
     
  11. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    yes, I've put it back in YnAMP on Github with R&F enabled.

    The map border selection option is available for beta testing on it and the Giant Earth (I'll add more choices later)
     
  12. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    Sorry, false hope, still crashing on "reveal all"...

    I'll keep it for game on portions of the map.
     
  13. sukritact

    sukritact Artist and Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,848
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Lemme know if you'd like to see those maps (or any other ones) added to the planner! They're really easy to add if I have the map's Lua file.
     
  14. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    They share the same Lua file (Giant Earth), the mod just pick from it the data to build the partial map.

    But they also share the same DB entries, wich means that all civs that have a TSL set for the Giant Earth (or NW with a position set for the Giant Earth) will be placed correctly on the partial map.
     
    sukritact likes this.
  15. McGreggD

    McGreggD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    The ludicrous random map size crashes when I do reveal all as well but It's still playable. I have a game going with all 36 civs and max city states, got to the late medieval age so far and I'm using a mod that slows research down x5 so the AI builds a ton of units. I have not had any issues with the game so far.

    I think the crashing with reveal all is because the game tries to load the whole map, play all the natural wonder videos and contact every civ at the same time.
     
  16. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    In the past I had tried to reveal it by small groups of plots but it was still crashing at some point.

    Let me know if anyone can finish a game on the Largest Earth.
     
  17. ZirkMcT

    ZirkMcT Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    yes
     
  18. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    Thanks, copied in the Giant Earth thread to keep all suggestions in the same place.


    And another teaser for the next version of YnAMP...
    Spoiler :
    Clipboard-1.png


    This is the mini map of a scenario generated automatically on the Giant Earth Map by linking the data from the CityMap table (used by YnAMP for city auto-naming based on position) and the CityNames table (used by the base game to get the city name for each Civilization)

    It was made with the Basic Modern Civilizations mod, but should be able to work with the base game and any mod with TSL set for the Giant Earth. It also works with the partial map feature.

    It places cities on the map using the combined data then expand the borders to fill the map.

    I was hoping for a release today, but there is still a few things to correct and test before.

    For example, I need to remove some cities from the CityNames table when the name of that city is used in different positions on the map (on the screen above, a city from the Nigerian list share its name with a city from CityMap that is located in central Asia, that's why there is a patch of green in the middle of China...)

    And as you can see, I also need to add some cities east of the Urals to the Russian list to prevent Mongolia, China, North Korea and Kazakhstan to expand their borders there.

    Maybe tomorrow evening (GMT) for beta testing.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
    Mobfire likes this.
  19. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    Github updated with .7.0 for beta test, please report any bugs
    Code:
    - CityMap : Added Russian Far East (by Butanic)
    - CityMap : Midwest Cleanup (by JamHeronArk)
    - Additional options for Wonders placement on Giant Earth: Temple of Artemis, Great Zimbabwe and Jebel Barkal (by rockandride)
    - New feature: custom borders selection for the Giant Earth Map and the Largest Earth Map (merged back in the main mod, renamed "Largest Earth Custom")
    - New feature: initial framework for generated or imported Scenario
    - bugfix: check if an imported feature from MapToConvert data is a NW differently (to allow placement of new features with IDs >= FEATURE_BARRIER_REEF ID)
    
    And a very simple test scenario for the Giant Earth attached to this post, generating cities and borders from the CityMap/CityNames tables. I'll try to code automated roads generation in the next version.

    Made for the Basic Modern Civilization mod, best using Industrial or later start, latest version on github:
    https://github.com/Gedemon/Civ6-BasicModernCivilizations
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,343
    Location:
    France
    Released on Steam and GitHub.
     

Share This Page