1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Beyond the Sword] History In The Making

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Grave, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,092
    Location:
    In orbit
    Will do and report back.;)

    EDIT: Sorry, still getting the same CTD...
     
  2. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Hello,

    I tested this one and it crashed my savegame. I'm serious that you should ask whoever made RevDCM gamecore how they did that and then maybe learn some things from them to make good solid Vista compatible dll.
     
  3. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Here is the textfix for Civ4GameText_DCM.xml. The two missing entries have been added.
    Just overwrite the old one.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dimoncheg

    Dimoncheg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Perm City, Russia
    . .. .. .. .... :mad: Nothing changed. CTDs still present, recent updates doesn't help.:cry:
     
  5. Grave

    Grave 1 Goat = 400 Horses

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Louisiana
    There really is nothing to ask.

    The components we share (DCM, ACO, IDW, Better AI, Unofficial Patch) are the exact same in code.

    I even used the same HiTM v2.02 code that Arian used when he made his DLL that seemed to work in Vista.

    So I'm using code that "worked" in Vista. There's no explanation for why it's not working.
     
  6. Hyronymus

    Hyronymus Troop leader

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    Are you sure all references to directory structures are correct for Vista users, Grave? That structure is different and installing stuff sometimes gives problems.
     
  7. Grave

    Grave 1 Goat = 400 Horses

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I'm not sure what you mean... can you explain more? :confused:
     
  8. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hey Grave,

    I suppose Guerrillas shouldn't be built like normal units, right?

    Here's a small fix:

    In XML/PythonCallbackDefines.xml change this:

    HTML:
            <Define>
    		<DefineName>USE_CANNOT_CONSTRUCT_CALLBACK</DefineName>
    		<iDefineIntVal>0</iDefineIntVal>
    	</Define>
    
    to
    HTML:
            <Define>
    		<DefineName>USE_CANNOT_CONSTRUCT_CALLBACK</DefineName>
    		<iDefineIntVal>1</iDefineIntVal>
    	</Define>
    
    and in XML/Units/CIV4UnitInfos.xml

    change this:

    HTML:
    <iCost>140</iCost>
    
    to

    HTML:
    <iCost>-1</iCost>
    
    That's all folks :)
     
  9. Grave

    Grave 1 Goat = 400 Horses

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Louisiana
    No, I meant for Guerillas to be built. :)

    They can come in handy sometimes!
     
  10. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That sort of obsoletes the Partisan mod :(
     
  11. Grave

    Grave 1 Goat = 400 Horses

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Not really... because Partisans will automatically spawn if a city is captured, as long as the conquered Civ has Human Rights.
     
  12. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, not that important so forget it :p

    Edit: nm
     
  13. bolesting

    bolesting Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    I have played last night 3.19 and didnt have any problems!!! I hope it will continue without problems. :goodjob: :goodjob: :goodjob:
     
  14. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    On a Vista PC??
     
  15. MasterTonberry

    MasterTonberry Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Hey Grave. I think what Hyronymous means is that the Users/My Docs/My Games folders are all in different locations on Vista then in XP. The directory structure is slightly different, so if the HitM mod is refencing folder locations (like trying to access the Civ 4 .ini file) as they would be in XP, it would cause problems because it wouldn't be looking in the right place.

    Something to consider maybe?
     
  16. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Playing vista I crashed..... on 3.19.

    :suicide:
     
  17. Hyronymus

    Hyronymus Troop leader

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks Master, that is indeed what I mean. Although it may look like something too silly to cause a crash I reckon it can if a resource file isn't available to read from. Either the game enters an infinite loop to find it or it crashes.
     
  18. bolesting

    bolesting Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    No, sorry on XP! :rolleyes:
     
  19. Grave

    Grave 1 Goat = 400 Horses

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Louisiana
    HiTM should always be installed in the Program Files/Civ4/BtS/Mods folder (or where every you installed BtS to, and never into the "My Documents" BtS directory. The reason is because of the custom interface colors... they won't work if installed into the My Docs directory.
     
  20. MasterTonberry

    MasterTonberry Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Yeah, I know that. Sorry, I should have been more clear. What I meant to say was, even if games are installed in the Program Files folder, (On C:\Windows for example), or like in my case (X:\Games\Civilization IV) most games will still use the 'My Games' folder or similar location for the general running of the game.

    For example, Fallout 3 will reference the Fallout3.ini and Fallout3Prefs.ini files in the Fallout 3 folder located in "C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\My Games\Fallout3" under Vista, as well as storing save games there.

    I assume that Civilization IV, along with HitM does this also, as the Civilization4.ini file is located in a similiar location, but that location differs slightly depending on whether you run XP or Vista.
     

Share This Page