1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BXP][Module] Native Civs Pack for BAT

Discussion in 'Civ4 - New Civilizations' started by NikNaks, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Cool.....

    Theres also that whole bunch of Iroquois units the Bernie put out you could use as UUs for the civs so dont be shy Niks...you have da Power! :lol:
     
  2. NikNaks

    NikNaks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Whenever someone says that I get flashes of Bruce Almighty :lol:

    I'm going to add all of his flavor units in the next version.
     
  3. Leif

    Leif Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    A state of Fear and Loathing
    Fantastic job with the mod, although I worry about giving any unit blitz because if you horde archers early game you can upgrade them to, say, riflemen, then you have a force of riflemen all with blitz.

    Are you still working on it?
     
  4. NikNaks

    NikNaks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    I am, but time is a harsh mistress at the moment. I should have a new version ready by this time next week.
     
  5. bernie14

    bernie14 Filter Manipulator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,469
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    coastal flood plain
    and am not done.....footman/maceman is ready, but need to upload, still plan on making horseman, knight, pike, longbow, cuirass and ?cavalry?
     
  6. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,424

    FYI - Gold 3.0 for BtS has the Sioux, Iroquois, and Upaajut (Inuit), and I'll be adding another 7 in the January 4.0 release. If you need anything or want to collaborate, let me know.
     
  7. Fierabras

    Fierabras Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    I have taken a look in the code of this mod and found an empty <Button/> definition on line 107 in VD_Native_CIV4ArtDefines_Unit.xml

    You should use a button definition to avoid problems.

    Another point...Instead of re-using the Native America Civ as Sioux, you might want to consider disabling Native America Civ by setting <bPlayable> and <bAIplayable> to 0 in a modular file which only contains a copy of the XML for the Native America Civ. This way you also remove it from the Civilopedia.

    For the Sioux ( Sioux_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml ) you just replace

    <Type>CIVILIZATION_NATIVE_AMERICA</Type>

    with

    <Type>CIVILIZATION_SIOUX</Type>

    and you're done.
     
  8. NikNaks

    NikNaks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    That sounds like a much better idea, so I'll consider doing that for future version.
    Absolutely, I'd love to! School ends next Wednesday so I'll have time over the festive period to work on it.
     
  9. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Mamba has added the Iroquois to his mod as a complete civ with all of Bernie's flavor units in it. Its pretty cool. So the idea of breaking up the Native American civ is catching on.
     
  10. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,424
    CIV Gold 3.0 for BtS has the Iroquois, Sioux and Upaajut (Inuit) all separated, and will have the Anishnaabek (Huron/Ojibwe), Aniyonega (Seminole/Cherokee), Dinnehih (Navajo/Apache), Tillikum (Chinook/Haida), Vo'oestaneo'o (Cheyenne/Metis) and Piliwni (Ute/Nez Perce) in 4.0.
     
  11. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,312
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I dont mean to tee anyone off, but what is the attraction of having all the Civs and only two units in each(or less), that means they all will be using the same after that anyways? Doesnt make sense to me, again, i am just wondering (not to tee anyone off, ok):crazyeye: . I like a civ to at least have a minimum of 10 units in each civ, that way i can really call it a civ?:rolleyes: :p
     
  12. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,424
    You mean ten UUs (in order to make them distinct?) I agree, that would be great. Maybe 10 is a bit ambitious, but 5 would certainly make a difference (plus maybe 2 UBs and 1 UW...?)

    Lots of work, though. Plus tonnes of maintenance. Still, if Firaxis were to do this with their civs, I'd definitely push to follow suit with added civs.
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,312
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN

    Thats more or less what i was thinking also:p , but 7 units plus 2 UUs, UB
    and a UW, now were talking? LOL:goodjob:
     
  14. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Well I think flavor units are the way to go, as a UU represents a civ's height in cultural acceivement and power. I would argue that some of the main Civ4 civs UU, namely the incan's one, should replace a different unit as the main military of the Incans was more advanced than the simple warrior.

    Anyways thanks to Zerver, Danrell and Bernie we got plenty of native american units now, although they are either Sioux or Iroquois. Maybe Bernie can be persuaded to make Inuit units or Cherokee?

    One cool thing, if you go back far enough you may remember my incomplete Toltec civilization, Niknaks is nice enough to finish it for me and everyone in the civ4 community.
     
  15. joe_44850

    joe_44850 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Hmm, the old ERROR:File Not Found...where is this mod at? Does anyone have this?
     
  16. NikNaks

    NikNaks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    I might have it somewhere. Give me a day or two.

    EDIT: If anyone does have it, please feel free to upload it.
     
  17. joe_44850

    joe_44850 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks NikNaks, that would be awesome.
     
  18. NikNaks

    NikNaks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Damn, I don't think I have it any more. :( If anyone has it, please upload it for me.
     
  19. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    I have it I'll upload it...;)
     
  20. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA

Share This Page