1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

C2C SVN Changelog

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    No offense for advising here, but wouldn't it be wiser to ask IN the mod you are using thread. (On the first para) also, then on the 2nd part, are you using Win 7 or Win 8?
     
  2. civfan613

    civfan613 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    SO
    I came by the idea in RFC Dawn, but C2C is MY MOD. :D
    The thing was that the error was so STUPID - they made a new map, but it has some civs enabled that have their goals ALREADY FAILED; it's easily fixed by simply making that civ unplayable for that map, while still present for quantity; but instead of saying "OOPS" and fixing it in about 10 seconds, like I did, I got laughed at and insulted by the crew...
    So I'm NOT in the mood to stumble upon similar problems HERE...
    Though I do think I wouldn't be laughed at here, hopefully... :D
     
  3. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    @civfan613

    We take all bug reports seriously. If it can be fixed we will either try to fix it or tell you how to. Everyone on the team act professional and respectful to each other and our players. In short if you treat us with respect we will treat you with respect too. Anywho I hope you enjoy C2C. The SVN is very fun to play since its constantly improving every day. For me its like getting Christmas each day to see what's new on the SVN.
     
  4. civfan613

    civfan613 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    I'm already downloading it. :D
    And I was just VERY upset by the way I got treated in THAT forum - they KEEP bashing me, even bringing up that I mentioned it HERE.
    ARROGANCE in its worst...
    But I really DON'T think you guys have that problem - not from what I've read here before. :goodjob:
     
  5. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    To anyone out there that is using Win 8, and is a MODDER, (using the ssh) how did you get it to work (SVN), i have now tried 25 times to get it to work, to NO avail??
     
  6. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,069
    Location:
    America
    Update:

    -Added a Culture Unit.
     
  7. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Just pushed to SVN (5707):
    • Fixed hang/crash at end of turn reported by Talin
    • Modified pathing calculation to degrade quality gracefully for long paths to reduce performance impact
    • Pre-sorted cities for evaluation in determining best staging city (performance)
    • Removed AI calculations of which city to move to for defensive units not needed locally (redundant with the contract system)
    • Re-ordered calculations slightly for AI city choice in performing outcome missions and unit-constructs to improve performance

    Edit - I'm gtg for release of V31 after a suitable freeze now (nothing left I intend to do before the release apart from critical bug fixes as they arise)

    Edit 2 - another update (rev 5708):
    • Fixed concurrency crash found in testing
     
  8. dog77_1999

    dog77_1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    I am on Revision 5611 (I think), and I am getting a weird behavior with the city governors. I noticed this issue when my income dropped by a thousand and my science output was cut in half. My strategy was setting science output to 100%. Changing the distribution does not fix it. Basically, the AI took some of my specialists and working tiles and made them citizens (with their paltry 1 production). It seems like it will last for like 4 turns, then it will correct itself for another 4 turns, and so on as so forth. I could theoretically go in and manually fix each city, but that would take a lot of time. I am not sure if this was noted before and corrected. I will see if I can get a couple of saves that show before and after the change. I did try to update to latest SVN, but I get MAF when the save files loads in.
     
  9. climat

    climat King

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    734
    I'm not a modder of this mod, but

    1. Please use this thread if you want to report bugs.
    2. Without saves, it is highly likely that the bug would not be solved since modders can't figure out what exactly the problem is. So, please post them.
    3. Regarding MAF : Did you use viewport? It might be helpful to prevent MAF.
     
  10. dog77_1999

    dog77_1999 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Ahh, I knew that. :blush: I'll take it over there with a save file (when it fixes itself again).
     
  11. rightfuture

    rightfuture Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    I have not directly found a way to get tortoise svn working on win 8 (asks for elevated privileges for the tortoise folder, reserved ones past administrator) but I do have a fix if that qualifies as workaround, (if you want to hear it from me).




    Since I have win 8 pro,
    1. I downloaded hyper-v from microsoft (free with pro) and installed it. ( technically you install the feature and have microsoft download it- per my next post)
    2. Then I installed my old win 7 in a virtual machine (with enough resources - just for transferring back and forth - 60-80 gb - win 7 install and folders).
    3. Then I installed the latest tortoise svn in the win 7 vm, and created the svn folder as usual.
    4. then I created a direct network share folder to my win 8 c2c saves. (and mod folders).
    5. Win 7 VM -I open the direct svn folder on my left - navigate where you want it. ( I should have used the direct save folder to the right, but you get the idea, I bet)
    6. Win 8 folder on VN - I likewise do so on my right, so the two folders are side by side.
    7. I can now update and commit the svn folder (3.) with tortoise on win 7. and easily transfer(drag and drop) a save/mod folder with this setup. (I leave the win 7 vm saved - so the folders stay open = instant workaround. Works around win 8).

    And it works - with no Win 8 administrative tweaking/frustration!

    I also recommend making a copy of the vm file so if it goes corrupt, you are not left hanging and can restore it quickly.

    Hope it helps you and anyone else going Win 8. Let me know if anyone can figure out a better workaround or admin fix for tortoise svn in win 8.
    Virtual Machines are quite awesome. They can actually let you run old images of your pc or different os's using image files - great for backups, and old revision fast installs.
     
  12. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    But the question is will this do an update and a commit, and besides i got lost after para 1 anyways:crazyeye::crazyeye:
     
  13. rightfuture

    rightfuture Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    yes, It does.

    Let me simplify:
    1. Install Hyper-V as a feature (if you have win 8-64 bit). It will auto download from microsoft.

    http://www.howtogeek.com/76532/how-to-install-or-enable-hyper-v-virtualization-in-windows-8/

    (I don't use the metro interface to use hyper-v, I use the desktop. and pinned hyper-v to my taskbar for easy access.)


    2. Create a Win 7 virtual machine with Hyper-v

    http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/wi...test-machine-in-windows-8-client-hyper-v/6690

    (You need to assign at least 1 processor, 2gb memory, and 60gb to fit 2 copies of svn and windows on it.)

    and you install windows 7 on that vm/pc.

    3. install tortoise svn on win 7 virtual machine (you've done this. just start the vm from hyper-v. I can show you very easily),
    and install the program in windows 7 (as normal) once you boot up the vm, using hyper-v.

    4. update (as normal) to download svn folder on the win 7 vm.
    5. copy files to win 8 for working. Just navigate through my computer on the win7vm to the win 8 folder you want. (access other devices and computers through the control panel and networking to get to the folder)
    6. copy back to win 7 vm to commit.
    7. commit svn folder (as normal) on win 7 vm.

    8. save the Win 7 vm - from the vm window, or hyper-v, and close it when you aren't using it.

    Was that easier?

    basically a virtual machine is just a separate pc running off some allocated memory space, and hard drive.
    It just opens in hyper-v and keep programs running separately in a window.
    Since it is secure (sandboxed), you have to move files between the two like a separate pc, through networked folder access.

    I can walk you though it very easily if you like.
    Download teamviewer (free) and let me know when you are available.
    http://www.teamviewer.com/en/index.aspx

    I can easily share my screen with you and walk you through it in 2 minutes.
    If you share your screen back, I can watch if you are doing it correctly.
    No thought or explanation necessary. Once you see it, it's easy.

    Teamviewer is a great, easy, and free show-you tool. I use it for troubleshooting, labs, meetings, etc, since it is better than others.
    It is the fastest and easiest way to temp and securely share a screen view from your computer, atm. and you can easily transfer small files and flip between 2 people's active screens with it.
    I tend to use Skype for the voice part (securely) of the conversation since most people use it.

    If anyone else needs help, just let me know. :)
     
  14. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Windows 8’s Client Hyper-V is only available in the 64-bit versions of Windows 8 Pro and Windows 8. Enterprise

    So its NOT on NORMAL Win 8 and cant get it either

    Pls dont use this for Help Info, pls use the Help Wanted thread for this stuff, thx.
     
  15. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,069
    Location:
    America
    I'll just say that Tortoise has worked fine for me in both Win8 and the 8.1 preview which I am running now. So I can't really help.
     
  16. rightfuture

    rightfuture Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    never mind then.
     
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,727
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Updates
    • Units may no longer bombard when the city is at its minimum defense

    • Updated all promotions that interacted with TERRAIN_COAST and TERRAIN_OCEAN to include TERRAIN_TROPICAL_COAST, TERRAIN_ARCTIC_COAST and TERRAIN_TROPICAL_OCEAN and TERRAIN_ARCTIC_OCEAN
     
  18. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Updates
    - Added Faustmouse's resource icons to my FPK.
    - Tweaked Semiconductor Factory.
     
  19. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,727
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,523
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    added microwaves Tech

    Radio Anatomy ANDPreq micowaves

    Communications Networks ANDPreq micowaves

    also the btn for microwaves tech, thx Hydro

    fixed txt missing for microwaves reported by climat, thx.
     

Share This Page