1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CCM2 Epic Mod

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Dec 23, 2017.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    :yup:
     
  2. BenjaminFranklin

    BenjaminFranklin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Getting quite a few errors to do with sound when using slaver to take a village and the latest one is about the King of Portugal, it's almost like there is a sound folder missing...running latest CM
     
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    BenjaminFranklin, welcome at CFC! :band:[party]

    I don´t know, if I have understood the problems with the sound of the king units well. CCM1 and CCM2 use the 'king-flag' in the editor for units that cannot be produced normally, but can be upgraded from existing units. So don´t use the regicide and mass regicide options when starting a game, otherwise you will have hundreds of different 'king units' in the game, among them ships and planes.

    The enslaver uses the graphics of the king unit of Carthage outside the regicide and mass regicide options (here no problems with the sound were reported) and I´m not aware of a use of the graphics of the 'King of Portugal'-unit in CCM1 and CCM2.
     
  4. BenjaminFranklin

    BenjaminFranklin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a save just before the crash, if you use a chariot to attack and take a barbarian village then you forgo the ensalver caused crash, as I'm still only a few days into your mod I will of course be testing it out more.

    Liking the mod at the moment though!!!!
     
  5. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    BenjaminFranklin, thank you very much for your kind words about your first impressions of CCM2. :)

    There exist a lot of very well documented succession games played with the mods CCM1 and CCM2. None of them reported about such sound problems and I haven´t run into them either. You can find the documentations of those games here (they have a 'CCM' integrated in their names):
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/forums/civ3-succession-games.67/
     
  6. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Gender:
    Male
    The israeli invisible unit, Pharisee, has only 1 movement point, but the Wiki description mentions 2.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2020
  7. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    jlvfr, thank you very much for reporting this error. :) In the next version of the biq, the Pharisee will be set to 2 MV, as it is with the other holy men coming with tech Religion, too.
     
  8. BenjaminFranklin

    BenjaminFranklin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok so I attempted to not build a slavers hut and basically city improovements that auto produce units like lawyers/slavers/charriot archers etc etc of course you cannot not auto produce both settlers and workers as you need both os those for the game but after letting the slavers hut slip through I sent an enslaver on an auto explore mission and I found this happened File Not Found Art\Units\Dromon\Dromon.INI I've also had the game come to stop because of missing sound, up and until then I was plugging along. Regicide option not ticked.
     
  9. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    BenjaminFranklin, I think now I know what you have made wrong with the installation of CCM2. All these missing sound files belong to the normal Civ 3 - C3C units. When installing CCM2, you have to create copies of the normal art-, text- and sound files and than unzip the CCM2 files into those folders (and keep the duplicate folders as a reserve to switch back easily to the normal C3C files if wanted) - and it seems you haven´t zipped the CCM2 unit files into the existing unit folders, so now of course the game is looking for those files and isn´t finding them.

    I didn´t include the normal C3C files, that the game needs for running, as a kind of copy protection.

    Please have another look at the installation hint in the first post of this thread. Here that problem is written in bold letters shortly before top 5 in the installation instructions of that post.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2020
  10. BenjaminFranklin

    BenjaminFranklin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    I have those files renamed the folders old, so I'll just copy the contents of each folder to their respective folders and have a look again (Y)
     
  11. BenjaminFranklin

    BenjaminFranklin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    upon instalation of ccm the newer eg script file will replace the old one so have left the new one in place and discarded the old one in the new art\sounds etc folders all original files still exist in the now eg sounds old folder
     
  12. Ivan the Crazy

    Ivan the Crazy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Yesterday
    Messages:
    3
    Hello, I'm new to this forum and got your mod recently. I like it a lot but there is one thing that bugs me - why MY units can't move over mountains without roads,
    but AI-controlled units CAN?
    That leads to some pretty unfair situations when, especially in early stages, AI fortifies its units on the mountains near my cities, blocks access to resources, attacks me from there and I can't do anything about it.
    And those AI units are not some special units like druids or missionaries - just your common spearmen and warriors.
    Thank you.
     
  13. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    Ivan the Crazy, welcome at CFC :band:[party] and thank you very much for your kind words (with one exception) about CCM2. :)

    The setting for units not to move in mountain terrain is achieved by using the wheeled flag in the editor and setting mountain terrain to be impassable by wheeled units. Nearly all units in CCM2 have these settings with the exception of some special units, that you have mentioned, among them holy men, lawyers, monks, scouts, workers, leaders, supply shipments and the AI barbarian units.

    From the landunits that can been built normally, warriors are the exception, as they can move across mountains and other terrain that is impassable for units with the wheeled flag, because the different warrior units don´t have the 'wheeled-flag'. All warriors have this ability - even the warriors of the civ that is played by the human player. The reason for this setting is avoiding an advantage that is too big for civs with the expansive trait, that can start with scouts, and to avoid situations when the AI is producing too many early units, that have next to no benefits, when the starting location of a civ is surrounded by mountains.

    About the spearmen: All different, mostly civspecific, spearmen in CCM2 have the wheeled flag, even the spearmen that are played by the AI - meaning they all can not move in mountain terrain without roads. The standard Civ 3 spearman in CCM2 is disabled for gameplay and this is the reason why this unit in CCM2 was not set to the wheeled-flag. So if Civ 3 standard spearmen appear on mountains in CCM2, I think, there was something changed in your CCM2 biq.

    CCM2 was and is played a lot in the CCM2 succession games, where every situation of those games was noted with meticulosity. We can be sure, that if such a situation would have occured in any of these games with an unmodded CCM2 biq, this would have been reported there energetically. In my many CCM2 games I have never seen such a situation, too.

    So Ivan the Crazy, please post what spearmen (and may be other units) of what civs did these actions in mountain terrain without roads in an unmodded CCM2 biq (that for reasons of game functionallity in the C3C mainfolder must be named conquests) and I will have a closer look on that unit.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2020 at 5:50 AM
  14. Ivan the Crazy

    Ivan the Crazy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Yesterday
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you for the answer! I never build or use basic warrior, and by that time I already had swordsmen and Egypt attacked me with a swarm of warriors.
    I'll play more and will let you know if there are any problems.
    The mod is very interesting.
    By the way, I see you have left railroad the same as vanilla, allowing instant teleportation. Given the whole concept of the mod I thought it would be more interesting to make it give a 3 or 4-times movement bonus instead.
     
  15. Shmelkin

    Shmelkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    It's not possible technically. You either have instant movement or no railroad at all.
    Only possible workarounds I can think of are replacing it with land transport which AI will not use unless you hack it to naval transport order, or using a network of railroad stations limited to one continent, coded as airports and allowing one transportation per turn to any city on the same continent.
     
  16. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    Shmelkin, thank you very much for giving such a detailed answer. :) I tried all those methods that are listed in your post and the AI has problems with all of them. Additionally I tried a mixture of railroad tiles and normal tiles, that are interrupting the railroad, but carrying resources on them that are looking like railroads on preset maps.

    Some words about giving a landunit a seatransport flag: This is possible without any problems, when using the Quintillus editor. This setting is useful for human players, as they can really load the other landunit into that 'landtransporter' and the landtransporter carries that loaded unit with it. The human player can 'disembark' the other landunit and than that landunit can do its own moves or combats. When the landtransport was destroyed, the enbarked landunit wasn´t killed, but now did its own operations on the map, may be killing the attacking landunit, that has destroyed the 'landcarrier'.

    Unfortunately the AI did ignore all my attempts that it should load a landunit into the 'landcarrier' and therefore, even with a seatransport flag, the landcarrier with those settings isn´t useful for CCM2.
     
  17. Ivan the Crazy

    Ivan the Crazy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Yesterday
    Messages:
    3
    I see. Thank you for the explanation.

    Also, about artillery. I think heavy artillery should have a bombardment function. Since players can't build it as usual there would't be enough of it for the human player to exploit too much.
    May be make it spend a turn before firing if it is possible? Like in civ5?
     
  18. Shmelkin

    Shmelkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Civinator AI will load units into armies, so making armies a 1 unit land transport should work, giving +1 movement, but obviously without unloading possibility. They could probably be made not loadable to sea transports by using some flag combination.
    I also wanted to ask you, since you have no level 3 cities, have you thought about possibility to give some buildings "allows level 3 cities" flag? As I understand it, such improvement cannot be built until town reaches level 2, and cannot be sold, so it can be used for higher level buildigs like factories, banks etc. Also it can be used as a kind of "city hall" building which has maintenance (like 3-5 money per turn) and all other level 2 buildings require it in town to be built, and since AI cannot sell it (unless it cheats), it could work as a kind of expansion limiter.

    Also by the way, when I was testing RoCX with personal modifications, I noticed that immobile units with offense or defense strategy cause slowdowns, probably caused by AI trying to use this immobile unit as escort for settler anyway and failing after some number of attempts. This is especially noticeable when there are many AIs getting settlers in the same turn, causing a total slowdown of about second. So having artillery strategy or no AI strategy works better for immobile land units, except it can possibly sometimes refuse to upgrade them (but it my tests it always upgraded no strategy units to settlers, even with very high cost).
     
  19. Shmelkin

    Shmelkin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    I agree on that, I personally like civ3's bombardment very much. Or maybe it could have charm bombardment to soften enemy stack before attack?
    Again, not possible technically. One solution could be to make artillery work as cruise missile, simulating limited ammo supply, with high bombardment and ROF it would be useful but not overpowered.
     
  20. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Gender:
    Male
    Armies as landtransports: As can be seen in the expanded CCM2 mainfiles, I have experimented with that idea a little bit, as some of my experimental army units (with big pallette issues) accidentally made it into those download files (and now are disturbing my next version of RARR with existing army units). Besides some other problems, as said before, armies have no unload option. The only way to 'free' the the loaded units is by upgrading armies in special facilities. In my eyes this is no solution for landtransports.

    Level 3 City-flag: In my eyes, there is no need in CCM2 for such a limitation. When a civ wants to build - let´s say - a factory in a town with population one, such a build will last forever and if such a building will be rushed, this is a good reason for spending money. CCM2 restricts the expansion of the number of cities to break the ICS strategy, but promotes the performance of the existing faster growing cities to have more fun in the game without the need of nearly only building settlers and workers during big parts of the game.

    Artillery tactics: As long as there is no working AI landartillery routine, I consider the use of landartillery (especially in combination with railroads) next to cheating. With the CCM2.50 expanded mainfiles (and a small RARR upload) you will be able to play the next version of RARR, that traditionally holds tons of landartillery units. Here the option of landartillery units will be enlarged by horse artillery, field artillery, siege artillery and WW2 SPAs.
     

Share This Page