1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CCM2 Epic Mod

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Dec 23, 2017.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Lean87, here all is working well with CCM2.50. :) For upgrading the camel to a camel musketeer you don´t have enough gold. The upgrading costs 60 gold, but you only have 42 gold. For upgrading the chariot to the (fictive) mesoknight, besides the strategic resource iron (that you have inside your city) you need additionally the strategic resource horses in the city, what you are not having yet.



    Btw.: To let an unescorted settler march next to a border in CCM, soon can become a very dangerous adventure for that poor settler. :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Lean87

    Lean87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    haha. Sorry !, I reread civilopedia several times and I didn't realize it (about the chariots). Perhaps explaining in it that small wonder-based upgrades need such a large amount of money is a good idea (. Catapults for example need 0 gold. So I was confused. The settler thing, well, I like to play with fire haha. If you need help with anything for the mod, tell me how someone who doesn't have much idea can help you. I don't know programming (I am a history teacher) and I speak Spanish, not English. But if necessary, in my free time I will learn what is necessary if you need help with something in particular. Regards!
     
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Lean87, when looking into the C3C civilopedia and in the CCM Ingame Help, I´m surprised that I couldn´t find there a proper explanation what is needed for upgrading an unit (including to pay the difference in shield costs with gold). It seems for most of the civ 3 veterans the prerequisites for upgrading an unit are so common, that we all haven´t noticed that missing description for civers, who start playing C3C. I will add a good description, what is needed for upgrading an unit, to the Ingame Help. :)
     
  4. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
  5. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Hi Civinator.

    I wanted to play a new CCM game as a scenario. I generated a map and just set the starting location for my civ, without changing anything else. However, later in game, I noticed that I could not pick up the supply shipments and escort them to the capital. Actually there was no button to pick up the shipments at all. Do you know the reason for this?

    I have the latest version of CCM2, and the GoG version of CivIII.
    (Btw, the Antal.exe is not working for me, and it never worked even for previous versions of CCM, but in the last version of CCM2 Mapstat is working fine.)
     
  6. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Ray2, thank you very much for your continuing interest in playing CCM2. :)

    If the supply shipments are not working any longer in your modded biq, you have changed something in the settings of the biq that is needed for the use of the supply shipments or disabled some needed options when starting a game with your modified biq.

    These are the settings that must be enabled when you start a game with supply shipments in CCM2:



    Mostly civers forget, that the victory point scoring together with supply shipments must be activated for enabling the supply shipments in the game.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
  7. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks for the reply Civinator.

    I know about the recommended settings. I didn't change any of them and I have both victory point scoring & supply shipments activated.

    It doesn't matter, I will continue without supply shipments or start a new game without using the Editor.
     
  8. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    But something must be changed. :think:

    If the button for escorting the supplyshipments is not appearing any longer, may be you have disabled the option 'Show advanced unit action buttons' in the Preferences setting of your game.
     
  9. Tigris of Gaul

    Tigris of Gaul Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Hi Civinator, is it possible to increase the value of supply shipments?
     
  10. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, you can do this in the game limits yourself when starting a new game. Please have a look at the last position in the screenshot in post 686 (Gold for supply shipment). I set them to the low level of 25 gold per shipment, as the AI doesn´t handle that feature very well and 25 gold is the reward, when a barbarian village is captured.
     
  11. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Hi Civinator,

    I had some free time to test a few things, and I started a new game.

    No, I didn't change anything and the 'Advanced unit actions buttons' option was enabled. The only thing that I did was to generate a start in the Editor, and assign one of the existing starting locations to the civ I was playing.

    However, I found a way to fix the supply shipments issue:
    In the Editor, I deselected the ‘Default Game Rules’ and then selected manually the following options: a) Capture the Unit, b) Reverse capture the flag, c) Victory Point Scoring.

    Then started the new game and the 'capture shipments' button was there. The only problem was that the Scientific Leaders was disabled in my game, as expected (no way to enable that if you deselect the ‘Default Game Rules’ in the Editor).


    Now in my game I am in the Industrial Ages, and I have not encountered a single bug yet :). I noticed the new content and units (I really like the Diplomatic option), and CCM2 is looking great so far :thumbsup:.


    A few things that I noticed in the last version:

    - In Civilopedia, USA are still listed as Scientific & IND, but they are Expansionist & IND.

    - Heavy Archers and Longbowmen have Zone of Control. You could add that in the Civilopedia description.

    - Medieval Naval Explorers do not have bombardment (the Civilopedia description is wrong).

    - I noticed that the AI civs do not send their units who carry a supply shipment (red coloured units) to their capital. Instead they leave them fortified out of cities, or even send them to war with the supply shipment.

    - I think it would be better to list under Luxuries only the luxury resources in CCM2. Although it is stated in their description if they are luxuries or not, it took me some time to understand why some of them do not add to happiness :crazyeye:.
     
  12. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Also a couple of questions:

    1) Do Bastion Fortifications prevent Stealth attacks?

    2) Can you build anything with Camels if you don’t have the Desert Fort? If not, why do other civs pay (up to 10 gpt for example) to buy them?

    Same thing with incense. This is not a luxury in CCM2, but can you do anything with it (again civs will pay to trade for it).
     
  13. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Ray2, thank you very much for your input about CCM2. :)

    OK, you changed something. :D Nevertheless, it should still be possible to do the needed settings in the starting boxes (making them blue by tickling the boxes) if the changes were done with the proper editor (editor 1.00 or the Quintillus editor - never use the editor 1.03 that comes with Civ 3 complete).

    This were the settings in former versions of CCM1 and CCM2, that are not allowing individual customization of the victory conditions when starting a game. The loss of the option for scientific leaders points to the fact, that you have used the wrong editor 1.03.

    Ray2, thank you very much for your kind words about CCM2.50 and for reporting the errors about heavy archers and the traits of the US . :)


    The civilopedia here is correct. The harcoded entries about a bombard value combined with 0-range, show, that this unit only has defensive bombard when a stack containing that unit is attacked.



    Here I cannot do more than to post over and over again, that the AI is not very good in handling that option (the last time in the post before your posting). The biggest failure is, that the AI cannot handle supply shipments that are produced in the capital.

    Those descriptions are combined for the use of CCM and RARR and allow a flexible handling of changing the character of some of those resources in upcoming scenarios based on these mods.

    This building has the stealth attack barrier flag and should prevent such attacks.



    At present you cannot build anything else with that resource - but it seems the rulers of some civs like to have some exotic animals and will gladly pay for them. :D

    Incense is needed for the construction of some very valuable buildings and wonders.

     

    Attached Files:

  14. Inoé

    Inoé Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Hello everyone!

    I just came into a problem regarding sound: when I start a diplomatic interaction with any civ the music does not play. Actually the whole sound of the game seems to stop working in diplomacy and when I close the diplomatic window, the music and general sound of the game starts playing at a much lower volume than usual.

    Has anyone encountered this before or knows how to fix it?

    BTW this happened while playing CCM 2.0. I just saw there is a new version and am downloading it. Can't wait to try it. Once again, great work Civinator!!
     
  15. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
  16. LordBaal

    LordBaal Sistem Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    Could it be possible to make some units consume more gold per turn than others?
     
  17. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Unfortunately this is not possible. In the editor you can only select, if an unit triggers maintainance costs or not. If the unit triggers maintainance costs these costs are the same for every unit under the same government.
     
  18. BenjaminFranklin

    BenjaminFranklin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Haven't played in a while, due to time or the lack there of, I remember there was a discussion about a new CCM being released at some point just checked and I still have 2.5 so I guess the question is is there a time frame somehwere over the horison when we can expect to see the new CCM available to download?

    Keep up the good work (Y)
     
  19. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Gender:
    Male
    BenjaminFranklin, thank you very much for your kind words about CCM and your continuing interest in this mod. :) It is nearly unbelievable, that this expansion of a nearly 20 years old game at CFC in little more than 1 year has exceeded the number of 1.500 downloads, but please don´t forget that I´m not a factory and therefore of course there is no time frame when (and if) such a version will be ready for a later upload.

    Yes I´m working on the next version of CCM. As CCM 2 is an inofficial expansion of C3C, the next version will mainly contain tons of units for additionaly beeing able to play the updated WW2 scenarios SOE and WW2 Global Gold, and later some scenarios based on CCM1 and 2. For CCM2.50 itself it will hold a reworked system for naval movement, better looking versions of some CCM and RARR units (mostly created by Delta_Strife and some by Wotan49 masterly size adapted imperator1961 artillery units) and some minor fixes. For civers with a slower internet connection there will be a patch allowing the upgrade from CCM 2.50 to the next version (at present about 1 GB) and for civers with a faster internet connection or civers, who are completely new installing that expansion, a complete download of the next version that can overwrite the old CCM2.50 files and add the new ones.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
    BenjaminFranklin and jlvfr like this.
  20. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    Gender:
    Male
    You created an excelent rework of some of the basic rules, and it works wonderfully. Hence our continued interest. :goodjob:
     
    BenjaminFranklin likes this.

Share This Page