1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4 BTS v3.19 Patch

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Speaker, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Until 3.17 the AI never trades a SS tech, no matter how friendly they are with you ( "We rather win the game" , the thing they say when they lock on any other victory condition, like when we ask them to stop a war with them pursuing Dom )
     
  2. peteraske

    peteraske Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Dooh. Got all worked up back there :b
     
  3. stee

    stee 将軍職

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Near the hole in the Ozone Lair, SP
    Situations which invalidated Secretary General/AP Resident now force the next vote to be an election?

    I don't get this one. BTW great patch :)

    Lastly,
    QQ :(
     
  4. Duuk

    Duuk Right Wing Liberal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    If I'm reading that correctly, it would be:

    You're the Resident of the AP and you change religions (or go Free Religion), thus invalidating you as resident. The next time one of the "Call What Vote?" question pops, it would instead have a new election.

    Not sure when that would be the case for the UN
     
  5. stee

    stee 将軍職

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Near the hole in the Ozone Lair, SP
    Yeah I am more concerned about what the UN one means. A full description of this update with APO and UN would be nice.
     
  6. aaronlk

    aaronlk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Are the changes to barrage now make catapults (and other barrage assaulters) more powerful if you're attacking units that don't have drill?

    (There was a long thread in the forum about how barrage bonuses weren't as large/effective as they claim, due to rounding and other issues. Eg. barrage + 100% was more like 50-70%.)
     
  7. Elkad

    Elkad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    977

    I got his pic direct the first time, but reloading got me a leading page with "hot girls in %inserttown%"
     
  8. VoiceOfUnreason

    VoiceOfUnreason Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,663
    The Collateral Thread of Doom

    No - the changes are entirely about the math when a unit with bonus damage attacks a unit with bonus defense.
     
  9. jdog5000

    jdog5000 Revolutionary

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    California
    In 3.19, there's a change so that a vassal is always willing to trade a tech with their master.
     
  10. lawnboy_civ

    lawnboy_civ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hi everyone,

    I have the Steam version of Beyond the Sword and just patched to 3.19. I want to start a new Pitboss game, but upon running the "Civ4BeyondSword_PitBoss.exe", it just starts the normal game (Videos and then to Main Menu). On 3.17 this file started the Pitboss program, which then allowed me to proceed with a normal Pitboss game.

    Is anyone else experiencing this issue after patching?

    Thanks,

    Lawnboy
     
  11. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,828
    Really? So a vassal can't refuse to trade a tech because he hates you, or refuse to trade a monopoly tech, or WFYABTA you? That makes vassals much more useful.
     
  12. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Indeed. I get so sick of gifting all the back techs to my new vassal in the hopes that they'll finally be willing to trade for their techs only to run out of techs to trade. Given that you can demand resources outright it makes sense that you can force them to trade techs for what they feel is a fair price.
     
  13. jdog5000

    jdog5000 Revolutionary

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    California
    Not to rain on the 3.19 parade, but in case anyone wants to put together a new unofficial patch (or official one!), here's a list of known bugs which remain in 3.19 which were found in the development of Better BTS AI or reported to me on that forum.

    Fixes are marked with UNOFFICIAL_PATCH in BBAI source code, most have been tested and in use for months.
     
  14. Welnic

    Welnic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Since I still need to run 3.17 for GOTM, I did a dual install so that I have both 3.17 and 3.19. I duplicated the Beyond the Sword folder in the Civ4 game folder, then duplicated the Beyond the Sword folder in Documents:My Games. Those two folders need to have the same name after duplication. Then I ran the installer which updates the original folder. Since I wanted the blessed version to be 3.17 so I can double click GOTM saves, I changed the duplicated folders back to Beyond the Sword and the original folders with 3.19 to Copy of Beyond the Sword. Make an alias to the executable in the 3.19 folder, change one the version's main menu screen so you know which is which without looking it up, and you're good to go.
     
  15. Pangur Bán

    Pangur Bán Good Guy / Deviant (depending on context)

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,993
    Location:
    Albania
    This looks like making the game harder.

    What, btw, does "Fixed cheat where you could apply a free tech from one game to another" refer to. Very curious! :)
     
  16. Tholish

    Tholish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Location:
    Japan
    I can't compile the CvGameCoreDLL that comes with the new patch using Refar's instructions for 3.17 and a makefile which I made from his makefile for 3.17, except I added all the new files.

    Whenever I try to compile I get complaints about not being able to find windows.h.
     
  17. ~Bamboo~

    ~Bamboo~ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Just stopping in to say Thank you for not forgetting us.:goodjob:

    Edit: or rather, continuing to support your fans!
     
  18. Snerk

    Snerk Smeghead

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,101
    Location:
    Norway. You'll never leave!
    A BtS patch out of the blue. Does this mean we can dare hope for a CivRev patch too? :hmm:
     
  19. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,106
    Location:
    israel
    hi everyone,

    ive made a makefile for 3.19,

    ive tested it and it works (use only final release).

    :)

    ***edit - dont forget to change the sdk folder in the file.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    15,777
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    The main situation where this occurred is this:
    If a new member of the AP or UN emerges on the turn of a vote this breaks that vote. If this happens during a Resident/Sec General election that vote yields no winner and the next vote would only occur on the next scheduled election - essentially meaning that for the normal term of the Resident/Sec General the AP/UN was disabled.
    New members for AP occur through religion spread on that turn - new members for both can occur through colony split on that turn.
    If I understand this correctly the vote on that turn is still broken (yields no result) - but you only have to wait until the next scheduled vote and not until the next scheduled election.
     

Share This Page