1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CivV BNW -- new patch (notes) (mainly MP)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Multiplayer' started by MadDjinn, Oct 27, 2014.

  1. Sharples

    Sharples Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    United Kingdom, England
  2. fbruun

    fbruun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Reposting from the single player thread. There is a way to turn back the patch.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Atreju View Post
    Bring me in contact with the NQ group please. You can find me on steam "7franco4"

    Thanks for your instructions on how to turn back the patch! I'm posting them here too for easy reference:

    Go to your steam folder
    Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC\Expansion2
    go along this path
    "CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll"-file and the "Gameplay" folder
    put those two somewhere else on your pc where you can find it
    in case you want to redo this
    Moderator Action: Links removed
    on these two internet adresses you can download the .rar files
    exctract those and put them into Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC\Expansion2
    start civ V


    Every player in a game needs to have done this or the game will crash.

    This roll back of the patch includes a smarter AI by steam user ninakoru.
    http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfile...htext=Smart+AI
    fbruun is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message
     
  3. Nikolai II

    Nikolai II Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    Don't ever download dll files from strangers people. It might be safe here for all I know, but it's risky. And it's illegal in this case.
     
  4. Atreju

    Atreju Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    The latest patch especially all those repetitive resynchs causing diverse bugs and crashes made multiplayer games very hard to manage. Luckily, I have a prepatch version of the Gameplay folder and the CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll because I was playing lots of mp games with a friend of mine and we wanted to play with modified game rules.We removed the xcom squad and added the smart AI mod to the game. Therefore I made a backup of the original folder so whenever I'm going to play with someone else or an FFA for example(where you should come in with uneditted files of civ V) I could exchange the modified folder and file by the original ones again. When the patch was published, I the prepatch Gameplay folder survived.

    So, I'll give instructions to roll back to the former patch for anyone who is interested:
    First I want to mention that every player of an mp game has to have this done, not only one.Otherwhise the game will crash.
    Go to your steam folder(you should be able to find it in your programs folder) and follow this path:
    Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC\Expansion2
    Cut out the "CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll"-file and the "Gameplay" folder
    and put those two somewhere else on your pc where you can find it
    just in case you want to redo this.Now download the two attached .rar files.
    Exctract those and put them into Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC\Expansion2
    Now you can play Civ V mp games with players who have done the same. Everything is like in prepatch times.
    The resynch bugs disappeared but also the diplomacy bug for example returns, cocao and bisons are removed etc.

    The CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll- file implies the Smart AI mod (not many changes, or any gamebreaking change), published by steam user ninakoru in the steam workshop.
    I'm not sure if you could also play with the CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll-file of the current patch version without problems and didn't test it out yet.

    Moderator Action: Removed attachments. Do NOT post non-official downloads of base-game files, modified or not.
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
  5. Atreju

    Atreju Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    The .dll file is safe ofcourse. It's actually identic to the .dll file of the former patch.
    How should you trust any mod published in the steam workshop?By installing them you are downloading a lot of .dll -files.
     
  6. Nikolai II

    Nikolai II Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    I would be wary of files from strangers. But in this case it's illegal too.
     
  7. Gort

    Gort Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,518
    Have you told the police? If you know about a crime and don't report it you might be arrested as an accomplice! :mischief:
     
  8. pnuts

    pnuts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the rollback instructions but I just play public online so it still doesn't help since noone's trying to play anymore and if they were, they would be on the current patch.

    Not much to do but wait for the fix though with Christmas approaching I guess I'll have to find another game to play.
     
  9. Sjru

    Sjru Dragon

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Argentina
  10. Gort

    Gort Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,518
    Wonder what they changed, exactly.
     
  11. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,381
    Atleast version number. Im waiting results.
     
  12. Sharples

    Sharples Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    United Kingdom, England


    Whoa did I just play a full game with NO re-syncs, with barbarians and city states enabled ON MULTIPLAYER?!

    WHAT IS THIS.

    WHAT DID THEY DO.

    THEY..... THEY FIXED IT.
     
  13. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,381
    With how large map and how many players? Im planning to make 5-6 players large or huge map MP game, it will serve as a final judgement.
     
  14. Nikolai II

    Nikolai II Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    Great! :scan::goodjob:
     
  15. Sharples

    Sharples Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    United Kingdom, England
    It was a Pangea map with six players. Although before the patch I could barely play past 4.
     
  16. tschukki

    tschukki Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Yesterday i hosted a 6 man ffa on a small pangea and we played a smooth 190 turns. I was kinda euphoric, would even have posted a "thank you" if the threads to do so had not been closed already.

    Today i started four games and had four scraps, mainly because the game would freeze at some point and wasnt restorasble.
     
  17. Dvil

    Dvil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    so the fixed the game to the point it was before? crappy but somewhat manageble?
     
  18. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,381
    Yes and it is in the final version. Like a car with flat tires.
     
  19. Couch Tomato

    Couch Tomato First Tomato Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Umm, I started playing multiplayer recently, and it seems far from fixed.

    3 player games run fairly decently, but there are often resyncs every 30 or so turns. The more annoying part is getting stuck without being able to do anything.

    4 player was totally different. I was playing with 3 other friends, 2 of which share the same connection (roommates). After a certain point in our game, they both kept simultaneously DCing, and would also be booted off Steam briefly. They'd come back and the game would desync. We'd try again and again and eventually the game would go on... for 1 turn. Then they get booted again. It's really ridiculous. Afterwards, tried 3 players again with just one of them, and he got booted once in a new game. Same thing, DCed off Steam. But his roommate (who was not playing) did not get booted off Steam, so it's not just due to an unstable network...
     
  20. siggi4ever

    siggi4ever Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    mp is a insolence! a bunch of desyncs even without mods not to mention with modpacks pffffff... better playing civ 4 bts with realism invictus mod.

    nobody has a fix for that. shame on 2k and firaxis !!!
     

Share This Page