1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

DoC Whole Empire Challenge

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Jusos2108, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. Jusos2108

    Jusos2108 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    Yeah, I think you have 1.9, since it doesn't have the Moors either, so it most likely counts, nice work! I believe this was the Abbasid Caliphate.


    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Abbasid_Caliphate_most_extant.png

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Umayyad750ADloc.png

    Well, perhaps it isn't that difficult, but imo you should control both colonial empires simultaniously, not to forget Napoleon's conquests.
     
  2. Jusos2108

    Jusos2108 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    Dunqulah would be the tiles 1SW and 1SW+1W of that location. That tile should be Qasr Ibrim together with 1N. 1W and 1NW should be Faras.
     
  3. BenZL43

    BenZL43 Physician - still can't spell this correctly.

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,198
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Actually, if you check via Google Earth, the Nile river 1W & 1 SW of that Kufah should be moved 1 tile East attached to Kufah to make it accurate.

    And then 1 SE of Kufah should be Meruwah :)
     
  4. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,053
    Location:
    Canada
    In my opinion, "whole empire" means controlling every major piece of territory that that country has ever controlled. Like you said, France would require both colonial empires and Napoleon's conquests simultaneously. It also means that the Eastern US would be required for Britain, southern Italy for Spain, etc.
     
  5. Jusos2108

    Jusos2108 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    Oh dear, will this satisfy you? :D
    The Thirteen colonies have been formed..

    Spoiler :
     
  6. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,053
    Location:
    Canada
    I would have preferred Indianapolis too, but good enough.
     
  7. killerkebab

    killerkebab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    There's just no pleasing some people, eh Jusos? ;)

    I think (and if I remember correctly we've even had this argument before) that while it won't exactly be easy, a full French empire would be easier than a full British one. You don't need quite as many cities but they're generally more productive (Denver/Chicago/New Orleans triangle is actually a part of your required conquests, for instance - not to mention highly productive land in central and Western Europe).

    I think the main challenge will be stability - lots of foreign core areas to control, not to mention dozens of tiles in West Africa that won't produce much but will affect your stability a fair amount imo
     
  8. OrcWarrior

    OrcWarrior Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    California
    I finally finished my Russian Empire, I wanted to settle a few more cities in eastern siberia but my empire collapsed 1 turn later, so here it is! I know it might not be the best but I tried :rolleyes: Vassals: China, Korea, Italy, Persia

    Finland and Baltics
    Spoiler :


    Western Siberia
    Spoiler :


    Central Siberia
    Spoiler :


    Eastern Siberia
    Spoiler :


    Alaska
    Spoiler :


    Caucasus and Anatolia
    Spoiler :


    Other less important stuff

    Cuba
    Spoiler :


    Transoxania
    Spoiler :


    Is there any way I could have been more stable? Because conquering central Siberia killed my stability and collapsed me very quickly
     
  9. iOnlySignIn

    iOnlySignIn Prince$s

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    I think Russia/China should get more Contested tiles around Mongolia. Whenever Mongolia dies, one or both of them inevitably take over the land. They are already severely punished economically for owning these worthless cities, so why hit them with an extra Expansion Stability hit too? :confused:
     
  10. OrcWarrior

    OrcWarrior Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    California
    I was thinking that too considering that too considering that Russia even gets unique names yet it isn't stable. Like you said Russia (Most of the Mongol founded cities are in Modern-day Russia) and China (Qing Dynasty) should get some stability and shouldn't be punished so much.
     
  11. Jusos2108

    Jusos2108 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    That's a fine Russian Empire, Cuba goes more to the USSR category though. What year were the pics taken?
     
  12. teriaky

    teriaky Rich peasant

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Khanada
    In this case, should the french empire require Charlemagne empire?
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth 古典部の会員 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,712
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kamiyama
    I'm missing Vladivostok.
     
  14. OrcWarrior

    OrcWarrior Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    California
    I made the mistake of letting Korea be my vassal, I thought about using world builder to remove Korea as my vassal but I just left it. BTW the finish date is 1734
     
  15. Tomorrow's Dawn

    Tomorrow's Dawn Heroes Never Die

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,618
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I third Russian & Chinese yellow in Mongolia.
    The USSR had huge involvement in Mongolia in the 20th century.
    And half of Mongolia's historical territory is within the PRC's borders,
    not to mention that there are more Mongols who live in China than in actual Mongolia.
     
  16. teriaky

    teriaky Rich peasant

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Khanada
    Thanks. So, how can I play as the Moors(and the other new civs) if it's not on 1.9?
     
  17. Hippo8085

    Hippo8085 Shaken, not stirred

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    of my heart? Rincon
    SVN. See the main thread.
     
  18. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,053
    Location:
    Canada
    All of Charlemagne's empire was within Napoleon's empire (including vassals/puppet states, of course).
     
  19. Jokaji

    Jokaji Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Sweden
    Here is Kingdom of Italy at its fullest extent (World War II);

    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    1.9, Normal and Monarch. Done in 1918. This took some more time than expected due to very powerful neighbours, so I might revisit this one.
     
  20. Jusos2108

    Jusos2108 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    Or the Soviet Empire, based on this map.

    I won Domination Victory couple turns ago, I actually had almost 35% of land, but was short on pop before taking Vietnam. After hitting enter, I achieved more than 1 million square kilometers of land for the first time ever, 1 009 000 to be exact!:D

    Spoiler :


    My strategy relied heavily on stealing and the first two GPs that I generated were Great Spies. I first infiltrated the Turks and then the Netherlands. I stole a bunch techs from the Turks and tons of cash, so that I could ran 100% science (or some espionage from time to time) all the time. After the Netherlands spawned I began stealing techs from them, including Astronomy, Economics and Pringting Press (and Military Tradition from the Turks). Because of the stealing, I was able to take Replaceable Parts with Liberalism and I got Rifles and Cavalry around 1600. After that everything was pretty easy and only Prussia dared to declare war on me once. That cost them Austria and Kaliningrad and Berlin. I vassalised Aztecs, Incas and Italy just because I offered and they weren't interfering with my conquest goals.



    The USSR

    Spoiler :



    The Development of the empire:

    Spoiler :


    Other pics:
    Spoiler :


    @Leoreth: Do you know why my civic stability is so low, eventhough I run the most stable civic combo possible?
    Spoiler :
     

Share This Page