Esperanto

Should I learn Esperanto?

• Total voters

Ekolite

Deity
I've been thinking for a long time about learning Esperanto. For those of you who don't know, it's a ''constructed'' language, with a couple of million speakers worldwide. It is supposed to be very easy to learn due to it's regularity. There are no irregular verbs, and everything follows the same patterns. It takes a lot from other European languages which will also help.

I've always wanted to be billingual, and while I studied French in high school I don't really have the motivation to try to learn it any more fluently. I mean, srsly why would I want to speak to french people? ;)

Thing is, nobody really speaks it. So there is an element of what's the point? about it.

It does however appeal to my sense of optimism. I hope that one day it will be taught in schools across Europe to become a shared second language for us all, as it was designed to be.

So what are people's opinions on Esperanto? And do we have any speakers on CFC?

So what are people's opinions on Esperanto? And do we have any speakers on CFC?

While I like the idea of Esperanto, people who want to speak with a lot of other people across the globe learn English.

It's a massive failure. Learn Mandarin or Spanish or English.

Meh, I've dabbled in it, but there's not much point to it. I am fond of the universal pejorative -acx- though. :)

If you want to learn a constructed language, you are better off learning Klingon. More people speak it than Esperanto.

Otherwise learn Latin.

While I like the idea of Esperanto, people who want to speak with a lot of other people across the globe learn English.

Well I would learn english but I'm a native speaker :)

And as for Klingon.. Just no.

Well I would learn english but I'm a native speaker :)

And as for Klingon.. Just no.

I realize that you already speak English. ;)

My point remains, just move on down the language list.