1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FfH2 0.30 Balance Issues

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by Kael, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Are Assassins really supposed to target (and destroy) dropped equipment? This kinda ruins the assassins job at killing damaged units in the city if you want to capture the equipment after taking over the city. Since if you wanna keep it, you have to stop attacking with the assassins.
     
  2. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    I installed Bhruic's patch before I installed FfH and it works fine. I don"t know how it would work the other way.

    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  3. jenks

    jenks Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Dwarven smithy (- 1 healthy, +10% hammers, +10% hammers with copper, +10% hammers with iron, +10% hammers with mithril)

    vs

    Forge (standard) (- 1 healthy, +25% hammers, +1 happy from gold, removes the 'rusted' promotion)

    The smithy which replaces the forge has neither the 'Removes rust' nor '+1 Happy from gold' bonuses at the same cost as the normal forge (250 hammers, - 1 health)

    This makes the dwarves at a disadvantage (most of the time - unless player has all metal resources) on a building where you would expect them to be assisted.

    suggestion
    - dwarven smithy adds +1 happy to gold, removes rust, cost 300 (from 250 hammers)
     
  4. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    Both smithies were originally only 10% prod. bonus, so since the normal one has been changed, the dwarven should reflect this change too.

    you can't do it that way, Bhruic's .dll is not loaded with FFH which has its own dll.
     
  5. westamastaflash

    westamastaflash Lord Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    933
    I agree w/ you, see my prior post. It really needs fixed, unless there's another mechanic that gives the overcouncil a great advantage (which I haven't really seen...)
     
  6. westamastaflash

    westamastaflash Lord Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    933
    But CoE doesn't get Inquisitors. On big maps, Inquisitors are a MUST for a religious victory, since populations follow each religion in a city in an euqal percentage.
     
  7. overdark

    overdark Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    There's two glaring issues I've noticed playing multiplayer games:

    1) the AI absolutely cannot deal with raging barbs. On a huge custom continents, 4 teams of 3 each, half the AI's die to barbs.

    2) 1-tile and small islands. This is the most glaring. I just finished up a game with the same settings as above - 4 teams of 3, custom continents (1 per team), and 6 of the AI's started on 1-tile islands and never placed their settlers. One AI started on a 2-tile island and never placed a settler. Is there a mod or a way it can be coded so that settlers do not appear on small islands? It's pretty ridiculous and aggravating at the same time, playing up through turn 2-400 and finding out one who team is just standing around on 1-tile islands without ever placing a settler.
     
  8. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    Yeah, I stopped turning on Raging Barbs from FFH2 0.21, because the AI evidently performs worse with it (it doesn't necessarily die to barbs, but it does perform worse). Plus it was mind numbingly borning for me too to deal with all those barbarians.
     
  9. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    The Slave Trade should have a limit to how many slaves you can buy per turn. As it is now it's so powerful it's almost game breaking. Even the limit per turn would still make it very powerful, unless it's a VERY low limit (3 or below).
     
  10. Kentarion

    Kentarion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Austria
    Chalid Astrakein is one strong hero - both melee, magic (summoning) + fire damage.

    Now, i like his style, but for some reason i don't get to it why the +to Fire is increasing/decreasing sometimes (?)

    played with a friend he got >40 +fire dmg

    maybe its a bug, if not, it's to powerful.
     
  11. Senethro

    Senethro Overlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    The cutest of cephalopods
    In general, the AI doesn't build enough units, doesn't always build enough workers and doesn't deal with forest/jungle at all well.
     
  12. TheJopa

    TheJopa Šumar

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,008
    Location:
    Croatia
    Slaves should be more expensive to buy, say 50 gold, and also more expensive to sell (Why would I want to sell them for 5 gold? It is so humiliating cheap I'd rather disband them :) )
     
  13. westamastaflash

    westamastaflash Lord Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    933
    Slaves should change so they give, say, slightly more hammers than the equivalent cost for gold rushing the building. Since they can't rush units, perhaps they should be able to rush buildings in 3/4 the time as standard gold rushing?
     
  14. Nikis-Knight

    Nikis-Knight Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,636
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I agree about forest/jungle.
    Have you tried playing with agressive ai on, though? I see lots of units.
     
  15. beorn

    beorn Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Albion, NY
    In solo games, it seems like an exploit to trade your religion tech. This leads to massive and easy spread of your religion, and you get a tech in return!
     
  16. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah I figure they shouldn't be tradeable (except Honor and Deception perhaps). Might slow down the spread of the early religions too.
     
  17. Broken Hawk

    Broken Hawk Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,228
    Location:
    On a hill
    A lot times the greedy AI Civs won't give you their religious tech but they sure want yours.
     
  18. Brokenbone

    Brokenbone Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Concur with a couple of posters re: how the slave trade works. Turning 10 gold into 10 hammers for rushing buildings is a great & unlimited bargain. Same with deciding you need to spruce up your empire, buy dozens of slaves and automate them... again, too cheap NOT to squeeze every last bit of use out of the function.

    Maybe some restrictions like raising cost, limiting how many per turn can be purchased, or even having a civic requirement (like slavery running?) would help.
     
  19. ZhugeTien

    ZhugeTien Enlightened Despot

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Ohio
    I find myself wondering what happened to elven workers. In pre-BtS games, they were able to build most improvements in forests and ancient forests, but mines still required clearcutting and the bronzeworking tech, and jungles still had to be cleared with sanitation. Now, Elven workers can build mines in forested squares and can build freely in jungle squares, though it seems they are unable to clear jungle even with the necessary Sanitation tech. The game would play a whole lot better and be more balanced if a way could be found to recode the elven workers to function as they did in Fire.
    Just my thoughts on it.
     
  20. puldzian

    puldzian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Poland
    any chance for more reagents?
    i've never seen them in my game (in ffh since 0.23)...
     

Share This Page