1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modding

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Bowsling, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Assuming there actually is a 1 unit per hex limit in the first place. ;) As far as I'm aware it still hasn't been confirmed whether there even is any limit - there might just be a detrimental penalty for having too many units in the same tile. Or if there is a unit limit, it might be 5, 10 or 20 per tile. Correct me if I'm wrong, but nowhere so far in an official release has it been said that units are limited to one per tile. ;)
     
  2. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    you can count on some form of American Civil War 2 coming to civ5!

    that is if I can talk bernie14 into making some civ5 civil war models for me!
     
  3. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,477
    Location:
    London, UK
    My hope would be that Firaxis are going to use an updated version of the Gamebryo engine for Civ 5. I'd be kind of surprised if not since the have experience of using this engine for Civ 4. If they do use Gamebryo then it will hopefully be fairly straight-forward to use Civ 4 graphical content in Civ 5.

    Looking at the screenshots, it seems like they are going for more unit models per hex rather than individual models which are much more detailed (although some increase in model detail is visible).

    It would be ideal if Civ 4 models can be ported with very little effort as this would increase the speed with which graphically distinctive Civ 5 mods can get up and running. I hope this is something Firaxis have considered.
     
  4. cfkane

    cfkane Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,196
    I've had my own mod for a while, but I don't think I'll convert it to Civ V. I'll probably devote my time to making new leaderheads. The graphical possibilities with this new format look really promising.

    I'll need to get a more high-end system though...
     
  5. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I am going to try to get my mod of your version to 0.4 or 0.5, before it comes out.

    RE: Civ 5, the one hex per unit seems to be a possibility as there was mention of units behind the line being able to fire over the other units. However, defending cities will be an issue, if they don't allow more units in cities. Maybe a limit in cities based on city size.
     
  6. Kyriakos

    Kyriakos Alien spiral maker

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    54,528
    Location:
    Thessalonike, The Byzantine Empire
    As a civ3 3d gfx veteran i plan to create a number of greek medieval buildings, and cities. They will probably, in isometric, resemble somewhat my civ3 creations:

     
  7. Thorn

    Thorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    816
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    :bowdown::please: Please don't tease us so :bowdown::please:
     
  8. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I have suggested we have a Civ 5 Modding Sub-forum to start discussions on modding.
     
  9. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    I'll probably start discussing CIVImp2 over at WPC soon.
     
  10. Thorn

    Thorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    816
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    And I was 8 years older than that! :old:

    Then I'll probably start visiting WPC more. :p
     
  11. Thorn

    Thorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    816
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    And I would love to try to update Mastery Victory to Civ 5! Of course I have to get it to work in Civ4BST 3.19 first. (hint, hint)
     
  12. stljeffbb

    stljeffbb XML Journeyman!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My hope is that they keep the basic tenants of what makes the Civ series great and don't mess too much with it...I mean, I enjoy hex based games quite a bit, but I wouldn't want to see Civ become The Operational Art of War or something like that (not that I disliked TOAW...except for the AI :p )

    Let the modders mod the game! Keep vanilla, vanilla! ;)

    Regards,

    Jeff
     
  13. Bowsling

    Bowsling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,000
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Very good to know.

    I also might try Abeo Antiquus in civ V, my efforts haven't gotten it's civ III counterpart far off the ground, though I still want to finish it.
     
  14. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,020
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    I think, the engine is relativly outdated, so i would not count on that.

    You have the universal tool for converting, Blender ;).
    I guess, some of you graphics guys will be able to port some of the most awesome units, but it will be probably not really easy.

    About what should we discuss there?
     
  15. lemonjelly

    lemonjelly Modding For Ethne

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    UK
    If they give us access to the dll, I think a FFH conversion would be one of the first major projects, well, I hope it gets ported across xD
     
  16. robward5

    robward5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    How long before Rhye starts modding Civ V? Loved RFC....
     
  17. Bowsling

    Bowsling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,000
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have this feeling that space maps might be better, being able to have multiple planets that can be wrapped...
    Though I might be totally wrong.
     
  18. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Modders can discuss what they may do with their existing mods ... I for one will be looking at adapting my mod under development to the new Civ 5.

    I have done a lot of research which will help in creating a new version for Civ 5
     
  19. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,810
    Location:
    Somerset
    I really can't see the point of that until far more is known about the game, how moddable it will be, and how to mod it.
     
  20. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,477
    Location:
    London, UK
    I don't mean the same version of the Gamebryo used in Civ 4, but the most recent revision. Gamebryo was used for Fallout 3 and the forthcoming Fallout: New Vegas. The latest version of Gamebryo supports DirectX 11 so it is still a good possibility I would think. Firaxis have in-house knowledge and experience of that engine.

    Edit: If they don't then NifSkope will be of no use and we might need new importers and exporters for Blender.
     

Share This Page