Status
Not open for further replies.

Guynemer

King
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
849
I apologize, I'm not very good with making changes to mods. I mean in which file should I put that?
 

pineappledan

Deity
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
7,829
Location
Alberta, Canada
Literally any sql file, as long as it loads after the one that adds the espionage events. To be safe place it inside any mod that loads in after VP does
 

bitula

Prince
Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
476
Can confirm. Exactly the same conditions - war with a single civ, supply changing by around 5 and then back to what it was. I was fighting in my own territory for a very very long time, so my war weariness was pretty low.
Can also confirm.
Other:
Not super important, but I also found that Ciy State tactical AI is very poor. I gift a nearby city state ally ranged units thinking they would help defending it. But most of the time they just flee. Lately all my gifted units fled to my own territory (some being not even damaged) where there was absolutely zero threat and meanwhile the Player AI just conquered them... Furthermore the city shoots absolutely irrelevant units instead of the ranged ones doing the fatal damage. Same problem with most of ranged city state defending units (in case they dont flee..).
Another minor issue: some events like the plaque has no turn countdown info in the events tab.

Can also confirm, that from all the available spy action choices I've seen AI use only disrupt production and only in my capital. Though in my case it only disrupted a single turn worth of production since my production was huge. Constabulary doesn't seem to help.

Question: does it make sense to do "broaden vision" spy action multiple times in the same city? How can I view tooltip (description) of AI players promotion panel icons? So far I managed to hover over just my own.

Btw, I really like the "broaden vision" spy option. It adds important tactical aspect for wars. I don't remember this being part of the old spy system. So even if just for this I'll keep the new spy system! Some tiles though remain unseen I guess due to LOS. I would have preferred if it would just unveil all relevant tiles regardless of LOS.
 
Last edited:

youngsteve

Prince
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
531
Location
England
Can also confirm.
Other:
Not super important, but I also found that Ciy State tactical AI is very poor. I gift a nearby city state ally ranged units thinking they would help defending it. But most of the time they just flee. Lately all my gifted units fled to my own territory (some being not even damaged) where there was absolutely zero threat and meanwhile the Player AI just conquered them... Furthermore the city shoots absolutely irrelevant units instead of the ranged ones doing the fatal damage. Same problem with most of ranged city state defending units (in case they dont flee..).
.

This is a problem with the AI in general not just City States. If one of my cities is being attacked I will always make sure to take out any artillery & range units first that are attacking it, but the AI for some reason goes after random units, usually melee ones. In a previous game the great Iroquois empire was taken down by the Zulus, as they kept targeting their full strength Impi units around the citties sitting there, whilst the artillery wrecked it. I haven't tried it recently, but it used to be that if you put a unit in a fort it would always target that first. Just keep putting usless melee units in there.
 

Fluffball

Prince
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
440
Notice that as well. The AI has become smarter with the World Congress, but it also means it's become way more predictable.

Sphere of Influence is annoying because it just snowballs a civ that is already on the path of a diplomatic victory. It means you just can't sit back and have to make the call to start attacking to stop it civ. So it's sort of a good annoying I guess.

Now that the AI will gang vote a civ with vassals with Liberation now means taking vassals as a war civ is much less appealing. On the fence on this, would rather Liberation only remove a single vassal rather than all of them.

Only had a couple of games with the new diplomacy updates so this is far from definitive but i have to agree that the AI seems generally smarter in a more interesting and good way regarding the World Congress even if it is a good annoying way in some respects.

If i have a lot of vassals it is pretty much certain i will take Autocracy to get iron fist which prevents them being liberated.
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
949
Only had a couple of games with the new diplomacy updates so this is far from definitive but i have to agree that the AI seems generally smarter in a more interesting and good way regarding the World Congress even if it is a good annoying way in some respects.

If i have a lot of vassals it is pretty much certain i will take Autocracy to get iron fist which prevents them being liberated.

Dumb me didn't think Iron Fist worked on World Congress liberation. I had figured it only worked on vassals that demanded to be freed, which almost never happens due to the master civ almost always having a greater military score. It makes Iron Fist WAY more useful now that I am aware.

Having way more fun now that the AI has become smarter late game. There has been a few games that I figured I had a win in the bag, then via smart congress votes mostly, I needed to actually work to tie up the win.
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
949
Before I make GitHub on it, I want to make sure I am not mistaken on something..

The order tenant that deals with corporations says that the civ that takes it on can no longer spread it's corporation to outside civs, OTHER than vassals. However, it appears that your vassals are blocked as well. Am I missing something or is this bugged?
 

Recursive

Already Looping
Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
3,591
Location
Antarctica
Before I make GitHub on it, I want to make sure I am not mistaken on something..

The order tenant that deals with corporations says that the civ that takes it on can no longer spread it's corporation to outside civs, OTHER than vassals. However, it appears that your vassals are blocked as well. Am I missing something or is this bugged?

If it functions that way then it is indeed bugged.
 

Fluffball

Prince
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
440
While this is not directly related to the latest changes it is about the current state of play.

I am engaging in my first warmonger game in a while so this is my first time properly dealing with the AI and its updated use of aircraft in a proper 'air war'. I have had defensive encounters and noticed increased use of aircraft by the AI but this is my first time attacking AI with tech parity and WOW!

It is like a completely different game, to the extent i have had to spend quite a bit of time working out how all of the interesting features work i never bothered about or had to worry about before as the AI never had a clue about aircraft.

My first war with aircraft started well, managed to take out an AI city on an island that had aircraft in it before they got to use them which i wanted to make sure i did quickly as this was before aircraft carriers and i had no cities close enough to lauch air attacks so this was going to be my unsinkable aircraft carrier i would use to launch the main invasion. On the same small island one of my vassals had a city and there was a second enemy city the other side of my vassals city.

I then had to delay my main invasion to take the other AI city as it also had aircraft in it and the AI was actually using them well to bomb me with the other surprise being my vassal also had aircraft and were helping to defend against enemy aircraft and bombard the enemy units.

This wasn't a major issue as we could only have two aircraft per city at this point and was more of a minor thorn in my side and i thought while the AI has improved (it actually makes bombers and uses them) this was still going to be my standard walk in the park now i had aircraft and Pentagon was being built so i could have plenty of aircraft in cities...how wrong i was.

My aircraft could now just reach an enemy city on the mainland which luckily happened to be on a peninsula so i start to try to bomb it, ineffectively, as the AI had multiple AA units and fighters stationed in the city and surrounding citys actually set on intercept so i had to resort to sending in my ships which were luckily heavily promoted and i also could attack from 3 tiles with melee ships and land troops so i was able to take the city quite quickly but took quite a bit of damage while doing so. As i took the city i just finished Pentagon and as i now had a city on the continent i though this would be the start of the cake walk...still wrong!

The AI's effective use or AA units, fighters on intercept and bombers serously made me rethink my usual air tactics where i usually build one fighter which is given the intercept line of promotions, primarily as that extends the range but also because the AI occasionally builds the odd bomber and is primarily stationed to give extended vision and then the rest of the city/aircraft carrier is full of bombers with the fighter then mostly being used to finish off nearly dead units. I have now changed my setup so my forward city is full of fighters with half set on intercept to protect my units from the constant bombing by enemy aircraft and the other half given air sweep promotions and used to sweep the skies before any bombers even think about flying and to slowly shoot down intercepting enemy fighters.

Usually once i had aircraft my land army often became almost obsolete with bombers taking down cities and enemy units at will and then sending in one of my tanks to take the city with me only using ground troops on secondary cities and mopping up operations. Now i still have to send in my ground troops to protect my artillery which are still used as the main way to take down cities while my aircraft fight their own air war and protect my ground units and with extensive use of fighters eventually clearing the skies my bombers get to have a go during the end of the war once i have dealt with most of the enemy fighters.

During these early air wars i had been building my aircraft carriers and managed to bring them along for the next war and again a whole different ball game. I used to just park my aircraft carriers off the coast with one fighter each for vision then fully loaded with bombers so i can just wipe out the enemy land army before landing. I have had to pull my aircraft carriers out of the AI's vision as they are now focusing them with aircraft AND guided missiles! (They hurt!) so i already lost one fully loaded aircraft carrier and two others heavily damaged. I am now undertaking an attritional airwar with carriers loaded with fighters and all my ships generously guarded by misslie cruisers to gain some sort of air superiority around the coastal cities at least instead of what usually happens where i quickly have dominance over large portions of enemy territory due to air power and can just methodically wipe out enemy units and then cities with aircraft alone. And i am now building a load of guided missiles myself and AA units which i never bothered with before as i never really needed them but i have the two main competitors left to take out yet and they are both equal in tech with me and have a defensive pact so i am expecting a heavy air war and probably going to need a lot of guided missiles and probably liberal use of nukes so this is going to be fun!

My only initial thought of poor performance from the AI was they weren't removing their aircraft from cities before i captured them but this was before i realised this was because their other cities were already full of aircraft!

So well done for the massive improvements in the AI's use of aircraft and for making late game wars interesting!
 

Jdoug312

Prince
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
347
While this is not directly related to the latest changes it is about the current state of play.

I am engaging in my first warmonger game in a while so this is my first time properly dealing with the AI and its updated use of aircraft in a proper 'air war'. I have had defensive encounters and noticed increased use of aircraft by the AI but this is my first time attacking AI with tech parity and WOW!

It is like a completely different game, to the extent i have had to spend quite a bit of time working out how all of the interesting features work i never bothered about or had to worry about before as the AI never had a clue about aircraft.

My first war with aircraft started well, managed to take out an AI city on an island that had aircraft in it before they got to use them which i wanted to make sure i did quickly as this was before aircraft carriers and i had no cities close enough to lauch air attacks so this was going to be my unsinkable aircraft carrier i would use to launch the main invasion. On the same small island one of my vassals had a city and there was a second enemy city the other side of my vassals city.

I then had to delay my main invasion to take the other AI city as it also had aircraft in it and the AI was actually using them well to bomb me with the other surprise being my vassal also had aircraft and were helping to defend against enemy aircraft and bombard the enemy units.

This wasn't a major issue as we could only have two aircraft per city at this point and was more of a minor thorn in my side and i thought while the AI has improved (it actually makes bombers and uses them) this was still going to be my standard walk in the park now i had aircraft and Pentagon was being built so i could have plenty of aircraft in cities...how wrong i was.

My aircraft could now just reach an enemy city on the mainland which luckily happened to be on a peninsula so i start to try to bomb it, ineffectively, as the AI had multiple AA units and fighters stationed in the city and surrounding citys actually set on intercept so i had to resort to sending in my ships which were luckily heavily promoted and i also could attack from 3 tiles with melee ships and land troops so i was able to take the city quite quickly but took quite a bit of damage while doing so. As i took the city i just finished Pentagon and as i now had a city on the continent i though this would be the start of the cake walk...still wrong!

The AI's effective use or AA units, fighters on intercept and bombers serously made me rethink my usual air tactics where i usually build one fighter which is given the intercept line of promotions, primarily as that extends the range but also because the AI occasionally builds the odd bomber and is primarily stationed to give extended vision and then the rest of the city/aircraft carrier is full of bombers with the fighter then mostly being used to finish off nearly dead units. I have now changed my setup so my forward city is full of fighters with half set on intercept to protect my units from the constant bombing by enemy aircraft and the other half given air sweep promotions and used to sweep the skies before any bombers even think about flying and to slowly shoot down intercepting enemy fighters.

Usually once i had aircraft my land army often became almost obsolete with bombers taking down cities and enemy units at will and then sending in one of my tanks to take the city with me only using ground troops on secondary cities and mopping up operations. Now i still have to send in my ground troops to protect my artillery which are still used as the main way to take down cities while my aircraft fight their own air war and protect my ground units and with extensive use of fighters eventually clearing the skies my bombers get to have a go during the end of the war once i have dealt with most of the enemy fighters.

During these early air wars i had been building my aircraft carriers and managed to bring them along for the next war and again a whole different ball game. I used to just park my aircraft carriers off the coast with one fighter each for vision then fully loaded with bombers so i can just wipe out the enemy land army before landing. I have had to pull my aircraft carriers out of the AI's vision as they are now focusing them with aircraft AND guided missiles! (They hurt!) so i already lost one fully loaded aircraft carrier and two others heavily damaged. I am now undertaking an attritional airwar with carriers loaded with fighters and all my ships generously guarded by misslie cruisers to gain some sort of air superiority around the coastal cities at least instead of what usually happens where i quickly have dominance over large portions of enemy territory due to air power and can just methodically wipe out enemy units and then cities with aircraft alone. And i am now building a load of guided missiles myself and AA units which i never bothered with before as i never really needed them but i have the two main competitors left to take out yet and they are both equal in tech with me and have a defensive pact so i am expecting a heavy air war and probably going to need a lot of guided missiles and probably liberal use of nukes so this is going to be fun!

My only initial thought of poor performance from the AI was they weren't removing their aircraft from cities before i captured them but this was before i realised this was because their other cities were already full of aircraft!

So well done for the massive improvements in the AI's use of aircraft and for making late game wars interesting!

I have to echo this post. A few months ago the AI were using bombers but not fighters, and it went exactly like you described. Now the AI makes me feel its air power offensively and defensively, and it's made me adjust my tactics and my troop makeup late game.
 

adan_eslavo

Archmage of all Pixels
Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
2,821
Location
Łódź, Poland
Many users reported me, that after downloading VP 1.4.6 there's something wrong wwith Terrain requirements for wonders I've added in More Wonders for VP. What did you change?

For the requirements I use two database fiels in Buildings: ProhibitedCityTerrain and NearbyTerrainRequired.


I found such errors in Lua which worked earlier:
Code:
[1976.563] Runtime Error: C:\Users\Adam\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\(overhaul) More Wonders for VP (v 1)\1.WorldWonders/Lua/UniqueWorldWondersRequirements.lua:52: attempt to call field 'COMMUNITY' (a nil value)
[1976.563] Runtime Error: Error loading C:\Users\Adam\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\(overhaul) More Wonders for VP (v 1)\1.WorldWonders/Lua/UniqueWorldWondersRequirements.lua.

What happened to COMMUNITY database?
 
Last edited:

balparmak

Prince
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
541
Many users reported me, that after downloading VP 1.4.6 there's something wrong wwith Terrain requirements for wonders I've added in More Wonders for VP. What did you change?

For the requirements I use two database fiels in Buildings: ProhibitedCityTerrain and NearbyTerrainRequired.


I found such errors in Lua which worked earlier:
Code:
[1976.563] Runtime Error: C:\Users\Adam\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\(overhaul) More Wonders for VP (v 1)\1.WorldWonders/Lua/UniqueWorldWondersRequirements.lua:52: attempt to call field 'COMMUNITY' (a nil value)
[1976.563] Runtime Error: Error loading C:\Users\Adam\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\(overhaul) More Wonders for VP (v 1)\1.WorldWonders/Lua/UniqueWorldWondersRequirements.lua.

What happened to COMMUNITY database?

It seems the "COMMUNITY" table was renamed as "Community". Some entries were also removed but More Wonders doesn't require them as far as I can see, rather it add new ones to the table. Replacing all instances of COMMUNITY with Community in Lua files should work (no need to do this in SQL files as it isn't case sensitive)
 
Last edited:

HeroOfTheSword

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
59
Location
Dublin
It seems the "COMMUNITY" table was renamed as "Community". Some entries were also removed but More Wonders doesn't require them as far as I can see, rather it add new ones to the table. Replacing all instances of COMMUNITY with Community in Lua files should work (no need to do this in SQL files as it isn't case sensitive)

I can confirm this was the issue. Although I'm no expert so let Adan double check. I just changed all the relevant code to "Community" like you said and it seems to be fixed. :)
 
Last edited:

adan_eslavo

Archmage of all Pixels
Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
2,821
Location
Łódź, Poland
Adam, why don't you have a channel on VP discord yet?
I have a Discord, once I had channel, before some rework of the VP page, but to be honest, I do not enter there too frequently.
It seems the "COMMUNITY" table was renamed as "Community". Some entries were also removed but More Wonders doesn't require them as far as I can see, rather it add new ones to the table. Replacing all instances of COMMUNITY with Community in Lua files should work (no need to do this in SQL files as it isn't case sensitive)
Thanks. I wasn't aware that Lua is case sensitive. I like such stupid changes for the sake of the change :)
I can confirm this was the issue. Although I'm no expert so let Adan double check. I just changed all the relevant code to "Community" like you said and it seems to be fixed. :)
Aha, indeed, seems to be working. Thanks.
This is planned for VP 1.5 afaik. Another bomb for modders.
 
Last edited:

adan_eslavo

Archmage of all Pixels
Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
2,821
Location
Łódź, Poland
I don't know exactly. I heard that from few other modders.

But for sure this will mess up with many mods that are left without a master, but have worked so far. Not to mention I will have to update all of my mods :/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom