Status
Not open for further replies.

Rosete

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
65
There's incompatable with the UI - Improved City View modmod. The button for automated production is not present while the mod is enabled. Are there some edits I can do to fix this?
 

Slyceth

Chieftain
Joined
Jul 5, 2021
Messages
17
Would it be possible to add a "Peace Treaty" proposal, which can cost up to 200 GPT in the lategame, to "bribe" civs which may want to attack you for strategic purposes?
Or a "cancel deal" option, where you can cancel any deal you made for a diplomatic penalty and the other party has an option to declare war without a diplomatic penalty.
 

balparmak

Prince
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
422

Rosete

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
65
Thank you, that works! However, you can't see free specialists in this version.
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
946
Would it be possible to add a "Peace Treaty" proposal, which can cost up to 200 GPT in the lategame, to "bribe" civs which may want to attack you for strategic purposes?

I like this idea. Considering how "peace treaty" is already a status effect, it can be a way to buy peace from other civs BEFORE a war can start.

It might be harder to add then is clear to us regular people, though it seems like it would be straight forward.

One of the mod developers can maybe clear this up if it's just impossible to do. The biggest issue I would think would be having the AI understand how to use this, considering how the AI still fails to grasp things like keeping the peace to sneak into a non-combat victory. (though they have become WAY better at it since vanilla - noticed AI's will attempt to keep the "friendly" status with you as long as you don't do anything too contribute to resisting their path to victory, as it should be. They just will sometimes still sperg out for no obvious advantage)

Or a "cancel deal" option, where you can cancel any deal you made for a diplomatic penalty and the other party has an option to declare war without a diplomatic penalty.

I like this, though being able to declare war "without penalty" might be too far / difficult to do. I'm not even sure though if this is even possible?

I think the usual diplo penalty for picking the "insult" option (You will regret this!), should apply to non-friends, and the "back stabbed" penalty should apply if done to a friend, with the friendship ended.
 

Recursive

Already Looping
Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
3,173
I like this idea. Considering how "peace treaty" is already a status effect, it can be a way to buy peace from other civs BEFORE a war can start.

It might be harder to add then is clear to us regular people, though it seems like it would be straight forward.

One of the mod developers can maybe clear this up if it's just impossible to do. The biggest issue I would think would be having the AI understand how to use this, considering how the AI still fails to grasp things like keeping the peace to sneak into a non-combat victory. (though they have become WAY better at it since vanilla - noticed AI's will attempt to keep the "friendly" status with you as long as you don't do anything too contribute to resisting their path to victory, as it should be. They just will sometimes still sperg out for no obvious advantage)



I like this, though being able to declare war "without penalty" might be too far / difficult to do. I'm not even sure though if this is even possible?

I think the usual diplo penalty for picking the "insult" option (You will regret this!), should apply to non-friends, and the "back stabbed" penalty should apply if done to a friend, with the friendship ended.

Peace Treaty - not too complicated from a trade item standpoint, but complicated from an AI standpoint. Maybe later.

Cancel Deal - possible but not feasible code-wise. Though I do eventually want to add the ability to declare war without diplomatic penalties if someone citadel bombs you, steals from you with a spy or declares war on your City-State ally.

Backstabber penalty for insults - I disagree. Being insulting is not as bad as denouncing or attacking a friend.
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
946
Backstabber penalty for insults - I disagree. Being insulting is not as bad as denouncing or attacking a friend.

I actually in reference if you broke a deal with a civ you had a friendship with. Not feasible code wise as you say anyways so moot.

Also, can I ask exactly what the insult option actually does? It is presented that if the civ doesn't declare war on you for doing it, their opinion is set to "neutral" to you? What exactly does this mean? In Vanilla it did nothing correct? So it was for roleplaying only?

Though I do eventually want to add the ability to declare war without diplomatic penalties if someone citadel bombs you, steals from you with a spy or declares war on your City-State ally.

It's cool this is still on the table. Maybe add if a civ uses a nuke? Nuclear war seems to be.. under realistic in Civ or VP. Unless they were changed without me noticing ICBMs could use a boost to make them actually worth while as well.
 

CppMaster

Emperor
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
1,621
Location
Poland
Cancel Deal - possible but not feasible code-wise. Though I do eventually want to add the ability to declare war without diplomatic penalties if someone citadel bombs you, steals from you with a spy or declares war on your City-State ally.
So like casus belly from Civ6. That would be nice! Other casus bellys could include when someone spread their religion or just different religion, so it'd be a holy war. Or liberation wars. Or ideology wars.
 

andersw

Emperor
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
1,360
Location
sweden
Does AI cities and citystates not shoot?
Think I saw an earlier post on the matter.
I cant find any github posts regarding it.
Anyone else see this?
 

Rosete

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
65
I see AI cities sometimes not shoot if they have a mele garrison inside, or when they have a very low health ranged unit inside. Otherwise they target your seige units properly.
 

wabab

Chieftain
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
41
Regarding culture victory, adding a condition to it that either all civs must have adopted either your ideology or are following your religion (in case you haven't founded one).

Now, for the army management issues, if there's a way to set a group of units in a formation (similar to unit groups in RTS games or isometric RPGs) and have them move as a group, that would save a ton of time and frustration. I find that frustration comes less from micro during battles to moving every single unit across the map. A ranged attack radius preview would also help a ton; units will get accidentally killed because they were in a some weird LoS tile, and vice versa for my ranged units.
 

Rosete

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
65
Encountered a very strange bug. My screen would tear up at this specific area on the map, panning the camera to other parts of the map and the bug "clears" up. Reloading would not solve it, the same bug would occur at around the same turn. Please take notice of the skirmisher at the bottom left in Cardiff.
upload_2022-4-29_17-27-10.png



Strategic view was not affected by the visual bug, so I continue the game as is. After some time, I noticed that the issue resolved itself. I then spent some time figuring out what was wrong and pin point it to a skirmisher. Using tool to spawn artillery and kill the skirmisher and the bug disappeared. I think my game is cursed.
upload_2022-4-29_17-19-48.png
 

zeofig

Warlord
Joined
Jul 6, 2016
Messages
131
Does AI cities and citystates not shoot?
Think I saw an earlier post on the matter.
I cant find any github posts regarding it.
Anyone else see this?
I also experience it under some circumstances, like when all my units are high CS compared to the city. I've been meaning to create an issue but I don't have a save for it at the moment
 

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
8,879
If an escort feature is easier to implement, it'd still improve the situation a ton.

You might could do something where an escort has to be adjacent to you, and your speed is reduced to 1. That way there should always be a way for the escort to follow (because as the original unit moves there is always a space for the escort to follow, at bare minimum the space the unit just left). Its not ideal but is likely much easier to code than true follow the leader, which requires a lot more scenarios.
 

Zuizgond

King
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
694
Encountered a very strange bug. My screen would tear up at this specific area on the map, panning the camera to other parts of the map and the bug "clears" up. Reloading would not solve it, the same bug would occur at around the same turn. Please take notice of the skirmisher at the bottom left in Cardiff.
View attachment 626437


Strategic view was not affected by the visual bug, so I continue the game as is. After some time, I noticed that the issue resolved itself. I then spent some time figuring out what was wrong and pin point it to a skirmisher. Using tool to spawn artillery and kill the skirmisher and the bug disappeared. I think my game is cursed.
View attachment 626436

I had this bug once some months ago. I thought it was a problem with my graphic card but it wasn't.

I had to start a new game as it wouldn't disappear.
 

Dimmy

Chieftain
Joined
Oct 2, 2016
Messages
98
Back to VP after a long time off. Install new 2.1.1. See the new tree (1) Comunity pathc (2) VP (3a) VP EUI (4 etc
So now some of the mods I cherish won't work because they depends on (3) Diplomacy which is the old "tree" of VP I believe...

So question is, is it my install that is broken or is the new tree intended and if yes... how to trick Civ5 to use "old mods"?

EDIT: Sorry if it has been talked before, please point me to the relevant comment if possible. Been off for more than a year
 

andersw

Emperor
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
1,360
Location
sweden
Back to VP after a long time off. Install new 2.1.1. See the new tree (1) Comunity pathc (2) VP (3a) VP EUI (4 etc
So now some of the mods I cherish won't work because they depends on (3) Diplomacy which is the old "tree" of VP I believe...

So question is, is it my install that is broken or is the new tree intended and if yes... how to trick Civ5 to use "old mods"?

EDIT: Sorry if it has been talked before, please point me to the relevant comment if possible. Been off for more than a year

This merge just happened in v2.1 (or was it 2.0?), you need to update the mods for this.
For old mods, well you have to ask the modder or fix them yourself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom