1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Brianm614

    Brianm614 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello All - quick question about vanilla civ4. Is there a way to mod the XML file to get rid of espionage by either making Scotland Yard or the spy unit itself not buildable? I have seen a lot of talk about this in BTS but I am talking about just regular civ 4. Thanks
     
  2. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,796
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    In \Assets\XML\Buildings\CIV4BuildingInfos.xml CTRL+F <Type>BUILDING_SCOTLAND_YARD</Type>, then scroll down to <iCost>500</iCost>. Change the 500 to -1 and I believe it should become unbuildable.
     
  3. PsychopathicWarmonger

    PsychopathicWarmonger Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Which is the most popular mod for Civ 4? BAT, BUG?...
     
  4. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,796
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    I'll just leave this here.
     
  5. PsychopathicWarmonger

    PsychopathicWarmonger Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Ah. Seemed to have skipped that when looking for a thread on it. XD
    Thanks.
     
  6. rah

    rah Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10,119
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes, thanks for that link, it is a good summary. I may have to try one.
     
  7. unas876

    unas876 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    When someone is not willing to trade a tech for the reason "We don't wanna trade this away yet", will they use that tech to bribe people to war?
     
  8. civfanchambers

    civfanchambers Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    I
    it's probably a tech that allows the building of a wonder. They don't want to trade so they have no competition in building it.
     
    unas876 likes this.
  9. unas876

    unas876 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    I seem to remember like a matrix chart about "A first impression is a lasting one". In the chart there were all leaders base attitudes towards each other. Does anyone know where to find it? After looking for like 20 minutes I could only find charts about the leaders base attitude towards the human player :(
     
  10. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,507
    unas876 likes this.
  11. sirdanilot

    sirdanilot BBcode owns in sigs!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Terneuzen, The Netherlands
    Is it better to completely conquer other civs or to just take their capital and Vassal state them in civ 4?

    (I'm not a newbie but getting back into playing civ 4)
     
  12. catalin72

    catalin72 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    Depends on settings,map size,difficulty and more.If you choose 'custom game',is a setting:'No Vassal states'.Most players from CivFanatics use 'standard' maximum size,fractal or pangaea.Your goal is to finish quick the map,so more times a Vassal is enough.Are special situations,one example:a strategic resource missing in your territory is in the territory of your 'target' civ,poor culture,risk to loose to other civ,when need to be careful signing a Vassal state treaty.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2017
  13. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,507
    I'd say even more important is what type of victory you are pursuing. Capitulating AIs can often be the fastest way to conquest in higher level conquest games. Domination can be a little trickier as a vassal land only counts 50% towards the land percentage needed, so you need to make sure there is enough land for you to exceed the limit. For culture games, vassals are most likely a distraction as you generally focus on being as peaceful as possible the whole game. For diplo type games, vassals can certainly help ensure victory for UN - called diplomation. I think with AP victories a vassal can actually vote for themselves if they are in the AP religion and large enough to be your rival in the vote, but otherwise AP victories are fairly quick wins if played optimally, so vassals won't even come into play.

    Lastly, for Space games, it really come down to balance. The key with Space is having as much land as possible - close to Dom limit as you can get. However, grabbing a strong vassal or two can help with tech trading, if you prop them up nicely.
     
  14. sirdanilot

    sirdanilot BBcode owns in sigs!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Terneuzen, The Netherlands
    Thanks guys

    Another question:

    how do I beat longbowmen until I have knights? I can't seem to destroy the other civ (Sumerians) without ridiculous stacks of units, and their stacks keep getting bigger too. My economy is now crippled and from the 4 cities I was planning on taking I only got 1.
    Due to my crippled economy I am also not going to get knights any time soon :( let alone musketmen.

    I am playing khmer so I got special war elephants but sadly no ivory on the continent.
     
  15. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8,123
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Generally the answer to these questions is sacrificial siege units.
     
  16. sirdanilot

    sirdanilot BBcode owns in sigs!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Terneuzen, The Netherlands
    So I need EVEN MORE catapults?
     
  17. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8,123
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I cannot be sure, but probably yes. I generally only lose catapults and subsequent units, as they do most of the dying, and my other units just mop up.
     
  18. sirdanilot

    sirdanilot BBcode owns in sigs!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Terneuzen, The Netherlands
    Okay, thank you.

    I think what I will do is start over ( I saved before the war) and build a ****ton of catapults. Maybe I'll go for trebuchets (engineering) instead of knights in my research. I'll let you know if the result will be better than in my original.
     
  19. Kallikrates

    Kallikrates Prince

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    480
    Location:
    VRBS ANSEATICA
    You usually don't use knights vs. longbows. You either use lots of catapults + elephants or macemen or trebuchets and similar supporting units. Or you use Cuirassiers that can usually be had almost as quickly as trebs with the proper beeline. And they are much better and more versatile. The trouble with knights is that they also take almost as long to get as cuirassiers and are considerably weaker (don't ignore walls). The exception are cataphracts but one has to get them really early to work.
     
  20. civfanchambers

    civfanchambers Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    It should be noted the Summerian leader is protective, which makes his longbows even more dangerous.
    On a side note, the only time I use knights is if I'm playing the French. Beeline gunpowder and guilds and put into action a stack of knights/musketeers that have 2 movement.
     

Share This Page