I may be mistaken, but I believe that London and Paris are technically on different continents (i.e. landmasses) and the three square rule therefore doesn't apply.
Different landmassIn the world map, London and Paris are spaced two squares apart, but this is normally not allowed. What is the mechanic which is allowing it in this case?
In my current game Willie got the bonus before he had either Optics or Paper. I'm assuming he traded with AIs from the "other" continent who had both and was before them in turn order. Later, he wanted 500 gold for his map (I had Paper). Then I attacked him. After a bit, he was willing to give me his 250 in gold plus his 6 gpt along with his capitulation but not his map. So after I took his capitulation I demanded his map in tribute and he gave it to me. Wonderful AI logic.In a tie, I think it goes by player order (so usually the human player has the advantage)
In a tie, I think it goes by player order (so usually the human player has the advantage)
Power - whatever its source, Coal, hydro, nuke, 3GD - always provides 2
If you have a Coal Plant, there's an additional 2
(I think) once you get Combustion, there's an additional 2 from a Coal Plant from Oil.
So clean energy saves you either 2 or 4 (depending if you have Oil).
EDIT: The additional +2 from Oil comes from the Factory, not the Coal Plant.
2 from Coal
2 from Oil
Potentially 5 total
2, or 4 if the Power comes from a Coal Plant.
Well in that case I cannot be the target, as we signed the peace treaty, then some 5-7 turns later he started plottingIf he just started then yes you cannot be the target. AIs can be bought into a war vs you by someone else. They wouldn't be plotting beforehand. If they are your only contact you also wouln't be able to see that they are pltting evenif they are.
Sounds like you were a victim of the rare dagger. I don't understand it fully, but there is some code attached to the dagger. The fist probably did pop up at least a turn before he attacked.Suryavarman DoWed me out of the blue - I didn't see any WHEOOHRN (though I might have missed it if it was only for a couple of turns).
More importantly, he didn't have any army - just a lone archer that was out exploring and seemed to wander into my territory. Does anyone know under what circumstances this sort of thing happens.