1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quot Capita

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by avain, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,819

    thanks, i'll try this map. not sure where to put it, but i'll try
     
  2. Nemesys

    Nemesys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Italy
    Just wanted to report that I am cruising to a space race victory in my very first gamnewith QC!
    and I have to say WHAT A REALLY GREAT MOD!

    just as you wrote in your introduction, the mod is simple to understand, fun and reliable..once i got past that "waiting for civs" bug (thanks to vincentz too:goodjob:) the game just ran fine...the late era is great with many wonderful units and techs..of course having rev and barbciv on I now play a world in which more than 30 civs take place..of course the game takes longerto get through the turns and I had to lower the graphics as much as possible, but that is certainly due to my not-so-good hardware..

    just wanted to let you know you really made a greatwork!

    just to small questions:

    -what is mastery victory about? is just another name for score victory or else? I saw some scores accumulating as you grow in pop, mil, tech, cult rate or wonders but did notfind nothing more in the civpedia..

    -i didnot see the movie for the space elevator once completed (i have movies on as option)

    -there mustbe something wrong with russian jet fighter as they displayed as a red balloon..cannot be more precise on the model, if youhave the time justlook after that..

    once again,
    greatmod and manymany thanks for your efforts , avain!

    Cheers
    Nem
     
  3. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,213
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Wrong directory, thats your main BtS Mod folder. What u deleted was probably the official Next War mod :)
    So instead go to the C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Quot Capita\Assets\Modules folder. There is the 2 folders u have to delete and there is where u copy/extract the files from the 7zip (and in here is the MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml file which u have to replace)
    Hope it works this time, and play a lot, this is a superb mod ;)
     
  4. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Location:
    Dallas TX,United States
    Good news Avain, I downloaded the patch and it works fine now.
    @Dalsor you extracted it to the wrong place. It should be: C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Quot Capita\Assets\Modules
     
  5. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,213
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    If i'm already here, I try to help some, altough it starts with a question :)
    Avain, do you plan to include the extra civs from VD in QC?

    Because I just did some testing with my xp, your new patch and the civs from VD:
    I added Hungary and Polynesia without any problems (it was only a few seconds after i found your instructions), but I'm not sure everyone will.
    The positive side: replacing the xml file is not needed anymore (altough i have xp, so already replaced it with the one within the patch)
    Negative: If someone follows your insturctions and replace the xml the mod will crash again in xp (the xml still uses both next war and next war advanced). This is easy to solve, but there are some more problems: I did not find the fpk file for Poland, Australia, or Native America where it should be (and i think Native America is more complicated than just a missing file), and i did not even try Cuba.

    Anyway, my point is it has some difficulties this way, and on the other hand I think everyone would love to see the new civs included QC in the first place. So u might consider adding them in the next patch/version...

    Btw, do u plan to add more civs to Varietas Delectat, and this way in Quot Capita too?
    Because it would be really great to play this mod with other Civs and LHs included in other popular mods. There are so many awesome LHs recently :)
     
  6. Darkhon

    Darkhon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    awesome, looking forward to feedback!
     
  7. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    503
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    AbsintheRed, I agree about the Native American expansion being troublesome. I tried copying it in per the instructions and the game/mod ceased working. I'll wait for more info before I try again.
     
  8. sourdiesel

    sourdiesel Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Avain, just wanted to give a thumbs up to your idea of incorporating some stuff from Thomas's War from a little while back. I've been playing around with that and there is indeed some pretty unique stuff in there. And don't get discouraged by all the bug reports -- more bug reports just means more people are playing the mod!
     
  9. The Almighty dF

    The Almighty dF Pharaoh

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,252
    Location:
    dFland
    I just wanted to say I played my first game with this mod.
    As Hirohito of Japan, I managed to build a nice little empire early on... but due to misfortune with a map script (not your fault, it was Perfect Earh 2) I had found myself entirely isolated.
    Sadly, Imp and Exp are really, -really- bad isolation traits. If not the worst. (well, I guess cre is the worst)
     
  10. xchen08

    xchen08 King

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Which is odd considering I get none of these bugs. I wonder what kind of bugs they are that some people get them while others run fine.
     
  11. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,213
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Alright, had an idea and continued testing.
    Do not copy the problematic civs in the Quot Capita\Assets\Modules\Civilization folder, rather in the Qout Capita\Assets\Modules folder.
    In the MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml (this is in that directory too) there is the folders which should be loaded for the mod, so just add in here Poland, Australia or Cuba. This way u don't need the fpk files to be in the assets folder, they are loaded directly.
    In the xml file all lines are similar (just copy paste a line and change the directory to the needed civ's directory), it should be something like that:
    <Module>
    <Directory>Poland</Directory>
    <bLoad>1</bLoad>
    </Module>

    This still don't work with Native America, I suppose the problems are with the deleting of the original NA civ, and replacing them with the new ones (not just adding some more civs like in the other case). I think for this to work many more files have to be modified in many other places.
    And I'm not a modder so not even sure the files for these 3 civs are not used elsewhere.
    So I just hope this don't has any side effect for the game in the long term...
     
  12. Dalsor

    Dalsor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Michigan
    @Absinthe and NBA, thanks a ton. I have it extracted in the correct location and so far the mod is running without error. :)

    Perhaps the post with the patch and/or the primary download page could be updated with detailed instructions on how to apply the patch, or perhaps I missed those instructions if they were posted previously.

    Regardless, thanks again for the help.
     
  13. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Wow, quite a few comments, I hope I won't forget to answer them all (please always feel free and do repeat a question if you feel it went unanswered!)

    Patching instructions: you are correct, it was written in haste and could have been not obvious for everyone - so now I corrected the instructions, I hope it's clearer now, but please report if not

    About new civs, easier install etc: please be just a little bit more patient, I will do a new version where I intend to have these as install options (I agree that now it's not the easiest to install, but I'm doing this alone and I can do only so much at a time) Also, Native America is a bit more trickier because it was not made in the same manner as the others (it was not made by me, but it's NikNaks excellent mod) The same is with bernie14's Cuba, but I intend to compile these into the install package of QC, too.

    Also, thanks for the positive feedback, I'm really glad you are enjoying the mod, that's why I'm making it in the first place!

    Error reports: I'm checking all your reports, and try my best to correct all of them!

    Mastery Victory: you can imagine it as a combined victory type, all victory conditions are scored and more all around things are scored(as opposed to the simple scoring victory), so you are able e.g. to complete the space ship and get points, but it will not end the game with Space Victory.
     
  14. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,213
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary

    Of, course, totally understandable. Take your time, u did a lot work with this fantastic mod already. And great news that u r intend to create an easier install for the new civs :)

    But till then i suggest to change your adding new civs instructions, it is really confusing this way...
    If (based on that) someone replace the MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml then the game will crash, at least in XP.
    There are only fpk files for Hungary and Polynesia, so it is also incorrect in there this way.

    I was only able to add Poland, Australia and Cuba in another way (as I wrote in my previous comment), and i still did not manage to add Native America.
    That is way beyond my abilites, I will need you for that :)
     
  15. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    You are correct, it's an old MLF file, I removed it and changed the instructions.
     
  16. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    I just checked that in vanilla Swordsmen are allowed with iron only, and Maceman use either iron OR copper. And that's the way it is in QC.
     
  17. Duuk

    Duuk Doom-Sayer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,882
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Just checking, and I admit to not reading the whole thread...

    Does QC add extra civs, and/or is it likely we'll see more civs?

    I, for one, like having the CSA and Austrian Empire. Poland and others are always good, too.
     
  18. The Almighty dF

    The Almighty dF Pharaoh

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,252
    Location:
    dFland
    I'm noticing a glitch. It looks like jungle keeps rehealing itself. I assign a worker to chop it, he's done, and the jungle is still there.
    Also, sometimes I still get bonus food from hunting even when I haven't killed an animal.
     
  19. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Really?

    Well, I will just keep modifying the unitinfos.xml everytime new QC version come up :). No problem. I just think it is ridiculous to have Maceman with weaker material than its precedent *shrug*.

    Good job doing your mod :D. It is starting ot be my second favo mod :D.
     
  20. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,213
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Just out of curiosity, what's your first fav? :)
     

Share This Page