1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RFC Civilizations in Abundance

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by Jarkov, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. Kawzmo191

    Kawzmo191 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S
    The more I read on and see all the new civs and respawns being added, I'm beginning to think a 1500 AD start wouldn't be a terrible idea for this mod?
     
  2. mayor

    mayor Heart & Mind

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    while waiting for the Germans to spawn I did some research towards THe Majapahit :p (indonesian civ)

    UHV's
    - Control x number of island in the Indonesia Archipelo (they were a island empire) before 1389 (the year considered the empire's power declined)
    - Conquer or vassalize Khmer (The Majapahit empire also controlled singapore and Southern Thailand)
    - Control Australia in year x

    UP: Power of productive trade; Seatiles provide 1 hammer (to make up for lack of landtiles)
    UB: a replacement for the lighthouse that provides 1 commercial per seatrade. (the controlled al trade in archipelago
    UU: Maybe some type of archer with amphibious
     
  3. Darkle

    Darkle Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm having trouble getting this mod to work.

    I extracted the files to my desktop (the C:/... /BTS/Mods/ folder is read-only (without administrator permissions, which aren't activated when extracting) and for whatever reason trying to make it read-write won't stick unless I want to wait a couple hours for everything inside of the Program Files folder to become read-write - which I don't), and then dragged that to the Mods folder. AFAIK, that shouldn't affect anything, but if it does, let me know.

    My problem is Civ4 simply crashes when I try to load the mod. I've tried with vanilla RFC present and without and same result.

    The only time I've ever had a semblance of the mod working is when I have a weird setup like this:

    ... /BTS/Mods/RFC Civilizations in Abundance/RFC Civilizations in Abundance/ where all the files needed to really run the mod are in the second CiA folder. However, it is still broken as all that happens is I get a screen that looks exactly like the default BTS program, except RFC Civilizations in Abundance is written at the top right corner, and the program has vanilla BTS functionality.

    Anyone have any idea what I am doing wrong?
     
  4. hoplitejoe

    hoplitejoe Top fun-poster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,465
    Neither of those are really historical and the UU is pretty useless as when would you need an archer to attack from over a sea?
    here are my suggestion stolen from other modules

    taken from here (there is also a leader head you could use)
    UB:
    Candi (Theatre)
    + 4 :culture:
    + 1 :) (does not need dye)
    + 25% :culture:
    Spoiler :



    I also found a good name for the UU from here.
    UU:

    Keris Warrior: 18 attack, + 25% attack when attacking melee. Replace Longswordman. Keris warriors are warrior that use keris. Keris said to have mystical power and a very potent killing weapon.

    the UU's bonus will need work and you may want to change it for the UB
     
  5. IrishDragon

    IrishDragon Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Do you have the latest version of BTS?
    Also, not sure if this would make a difference, but I have mine in the mods folder from where the game is installed to, something like (E:/program files/firaxis/civ4/bts/mods), instead of the beyond the sword folder in my documents/my games.
     
  6. mayor

    mayor Heart & Mind

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    an lighthouse UB is indeed not a historical correct, I couldn't find a historical correct building to fit the indonesian empire. So i thought of a way to represent the fact that the Majapahit controlled all trade in the region.

    concerning the UU. The majapahit conquered and vassalized tribes living on other islands. So I imagined and archipelago controlled by several independent cities.. Indonesian soldiers used a lot of bows, for example against the Dutch. The amphibious was so you can attack from the sea as there isn't a lot of land.

    But i must agree, a swordman UU with a Keris is also a good idea but I don't know about that 18 strength :p
     
  7. hoplitejoe

    hoplitejoe Top fun-poster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,465
    it was a suggestion for civ 5 and i couldn't be bothered to come up with a civ 4 strength :p
     
  8. mayor

    mayor Heart & Mind

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I saw but still couldn't resist :p
     
  9. mayor

    mayor Heart & Mind

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've got a question about the Zulu's 3th UHV.

    You've got to acquire 5 european cities. Are this cities in europe or just cities of european civs in general.

    More on this subject, I think I found a bug.
    I currently own 4 cities, of which I captured 1 from the dutch but the victoryscreen tells me I met the requirements for the 3th UHV
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Darkle

    Darkle Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Huh. You know I could have sworn I had the latest version but apparently not.
     
  11. Tlc2011

    Tlc2011 Pixel Cat

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    USA
    Hello, where can i download RFC marathon?
     
  12. hoplitejoe

    hoplitejoe Top fun-poster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,465
    Why are you posting that in this thread? you don't need marathon to play this mod if that's what your thinking.
     
  13. Kawzmo191

    Kawzmo191 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S
    Chippin' in some moral support for this mod. Keep on trucking, Jarkov :goodjob:

    At first the idea of adding Indonesia sounded a bit, well, nutty, but if you surprised us once... :p

    I was wondering if it would be at all possible to add in some of the performance-enhancing mods for RFC and BTS to this mod, like BTS on Speed, to compensate for the additional civs???
     
  14. BenZL43

    BenZL43 Physician - still can't spell this correctly.

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,198
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Majapahit never colonize Australia... nor did they know about the island in the south..
    The first Indonesian tribes ever get to Australia is the Bugis (Sulawesi merchants)

    Historically, Majapahit do not settle or built city, they conquer it.
    So the best way to present this is, spawn some independent cities around Indonesian island around the 1293s, let Majapahit conquer it...

    So the UHV could be like, Control Indochina Archipelago, Nusantara, and Phillipines by 1400

    And next, Indonesia hold a really diverse and lot of precious resource, so Majapahit could have the goal..

    Offer the biggest diversity of resources in Asia

    The last one,
    I guess..

    Get 1 Golden Age by 1500 or Accumulate x amount of Gold by turn 1500 or 1600

    The leader could be Hayam Wuruk..
    I agree with the UB, Candi.. (Though I'd prefer it'll be less taller because I had never seen a Candi that tall here..)

    The UU could be a little Sanskrits, perhaps.. to Bhayangkara or Bhayangkari.. because Keris Warrior seems.. odd :)

    The UP, I think is that every city outside of Java earn +1 coins / turn

    All by assuming what he meant Indonesia is Majapahit, not Vereendigje Oost Indies Compagnije (VOC) or Dutch East Indies, that should spawn on 1602 :)
     
  15. Kawzmo191

    Kawzmo191 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S
    Just a small issue for the Majapahit.....hammers.

    It's simple as that. The East Indies are void of any metals or anything to provide production besides the odd hill here and there. If any civ were to call on the "water tiles produce 1 hammer" type UP, Indonesia would be it. Maybe incorporate in the form of a unique harbor, or tack on some hammers to the Candi and make it cheaper.

    And making a separate civ for the Dutch East Indies seems a bit much. The Majapahits don't have to be the Majapahits always, y'know. Tack on some dynamic names that change with each era, civic, and vassalizer and voila, continuity reigns.

    You still get your Majapahits for the first dozens and dozens of turns, and so on and so forth, up to the modern day Republic of Indonesia (with requisite civics of course)
     
  16. BenZL43

    BenZL43 Physician - still can't spell this correctly.

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,198
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indonesia
    ya that's why I'm assuming it's Majapahit, at first.. not Tarumanagara (Sunda) or Srivijaya or Dutch East Indies or Indonesian Republic..
    I like the idea of tackle some hammer in Candi better.. because there could be a over-amount of hammer than necessary if each water tiles give 1 hammer..
     
  17. inohotep

    inohotep Slender Time!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    Nomadic
    well, indonesia has a ton of plantation reasources, so maybe they should get korea's UP and korea could get somthing else

    also: when i downloaded the new version of RFCabundance, there are a bunch of new civs that dont work at all (like more than twice as much as the regular civs, which are there, but don't work either)
    Spoiler :
     
  18. momo1000

    momo1000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    those are just the two independent city civs with unique coloring
     
  19. inohotep

    inohotep Slender Time!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    Nomadic
    but there's more than two, look below the selected civs in the list (Bulgar Horde, Sui Dynasty, Republic of Venetia, ect.)
    also, the Independent Cities are there too
    i can't acsess them in the XML files to delete them, but the main point is, THE GAME DOSN'T WORK!!

    and if you do take my idea for switching the Indonesean UP for the Korean UP, i have a replacement idea for Korea:
    Power of Printing Press
    2+research per specialist until whatever tech allows Representation
     
  20. momo1000

    momo1000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    I know that there are the Independent Cities too. Those are for when civs like France spawn and flip Bordeaux and Marseilles. The others work just like the Indys except that they have unique names when you scroll over their territory (like Kingdom of Lombards in Rome) and ethnic units. They are not civs by themselves.
     

Share This Page