1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RifE 1.20 Download and Changelog

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Valkrionn, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. Jarlean

    Jarlean Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Nice! thanks for the sneak peek.
     
  2. tesb

    tesb Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,593
    @valk i will give it a look when i come home and you have not fixed it by than.
    things you might do:
    -delete the trees and see if the mist itself is working
    -did you copy the trees into the mist or the mist into the trees? i suggest you do the former
    -make sure when you copy-paste to attach the node to an existing one so all nodes are interlinked

    edit: when you use copy branch in nifskope some nodes may get lost, for example the nibillboard node i have to look at the file when i come home.
     
  3. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    The mist by itself worked (Tested it... Looks awesome in large amounts, too, mist from one tile flows into the other smoothly)

    Copied the Mist into the Trees, switched it after reading this.

    I had originally thought to do that, but looking at the HL it didn't look like it was necessary... But looking at it again, the only nodes not part of the main one were effects. So, I attached the Tree node to the parent Mist node, and had it display in game... With one problem: Mist wasn't animated.

    Switched it so the Mist is attached to the Tree, and boom, animated mist, showing in game. Awesome. :goodjob:

    May have to recolor it/thicken it a bit, but that's just a skin, shouldn't be as difficult.

    Thanks for the help! :goodjob:

     
  4. Cyrusfan

    Cyrusfan King

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    I'm giving wildmana a whirl while waiting, and am wondering the extent of plans to 'borrow' (more?) of it's features in future RiFE versions. I ask on the theory that your not spoiling as much if we already have access to it (as opposed to the all new stuff you enjoy dribbling to us as we speculate wildly). And specifically I wanted to note how surprised I was at the extent of what I'll call for lack of a better term, the emotional response I got from the event images and city/tech screen backgrounds.
     
  5. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Event images I plan to merge, but that's not actually from Wild Mana; Was a BtS modcomp, ported to the "Events with Images" FfH mod, and then just incorporated by WM before RifE. :p

    The splash screens are a good concept, but I think they are too busy... I prefer just the regular screen.
     
  6. wicshade

    wicshade crazy, militant farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Dell just replaced my computer, and I am so excited about 1.3. FFH and all of these awesome mod-mods are the only reason why I still play computer games. My only dissapointment is that I have never learned how to moddified any content in these games.

    I want to give my gratitude bow to all of the gamers and programers that make this mod so awesome.

    one more thing; "are we there ye?t". :)
     
  7. esvath

    esvath Apprentice of Erebus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,403
    :goodjob:

    More shinies = more things to steal = more impatient I am waiting for new release :lol:
     
  8. Moosh

    Moosh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Totally digging the new Grigori info. Definitely one of my favorite civs.

    -Moosh
     
  9. dommain

    dommain Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    All its missing is the mist and some random glowing colored glowing wisps going in around the trees :mischief:
     
  10. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    The mist is easily noticeable while moving (Same thing as the Haunted Lands mist, seeing as that's where it's from). So the mist isn't missing. :p

    And wisps... just don't fit the idea. :mischief:
     
  11. Alsark

    Alsark Noble

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    That would be kind of cool for a magical/elf faction, though.
     
  12. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Meh. Too much like Warcraft for me. :lol:
     
  13. Trappisto

    Trappisto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Valk, excited as i am about 1.3 I was wondering if you could comment if any of the work has been about optimising performance?

    Current version already plays sluggish between turns on a normal sized map for me, so i'm fearful that all the new ultra cool stuff will push it beyond the capabilities of my pc...

    I have my fingers crossed!
     
  14. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Quite a bit, actually.

    The lag from moving a unit is gone; That alone does quite a bit to improve game performance, it is a HUGE difference when playing without it.

    Grey Fox has also done a large amount of python optimization, which has improved late-game turn times by as much as 25%. :goodjob:
     
  15. Alsark

    Alsark Noble

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    Oh. Well then I guess you wouldn't like my suggestion of renaming Erebus in the RiFE lore to Azeroth, and adding a Leeroy Jenkins leaderheard. Darn.



    On a serious note, though, the performance update sounds amazing! Running on a laptop, performance can definitely be an issue, so the improvement is great to hear.


    I should be studying for my final tomorrow, not posting here...
     
  16. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Will be making a blog post about it before too long, but some fun little additions made by Snarko....


    1. AI actually goes for the Altar victory. To do this, it had to be slightly redesigned so you have all altars in the city at once, rather than just one... But all past the first are indented nicely, clearly addons of the first. Uses the "<Parent>" tag I added for buildings. ;)
    2. Fort Claiming is now a mission. Not only does this mean there is no more need to make a spell for every new fort, it means the AI (after a lot of work by Snarko... never underestimate AI work) will actually go seeking forts to claim. This is incidentally a nice boost for the Kurios and D'tesh.
    3. Lair Exploration is now also a mission, and handled near-entirely in the DLL. It's changed slightly, but the basic gist is there are now goodyclasses, each lair result belongs to at least one, and improvements have a list of allowed goodyclasses. Lets you set exactly what results are allowed for each improvement. There is also a python callback allowed on goodies, for those results which can't be done in XML; It's not used widely, though. What does this item mean for the player? Basically, the AI is better at exploring lairs and results are easier to balance and configure.
    4. Certain spells can be set to autocast. Basically, any spell with the bAutoCast tag. This is a VERY welcome addition, I would think. ;) The way it works is simple... Hold Shift while hitting the spell button, and it will cast at the end of each turn (assuming you haven't hit your max casts). Hold ctrl, and it will cast at the start of each turn... This is the one you'd want for summons, so the summon is available for you automatically. ;)

    Like I said, I'll go into more detail later, and there were a bunch of other bug fixes, but those are the major additions he's made thus far. :goodjob:


    Edit: @Snarko - If any of this info is incorrect (particularly which key adds which type of automation) feel free to correct me. ;)
     
  17. snarko

    snarko DLLer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,512
    Location:
    Sweden
    Just one thing, with ctrl + spell you autocast it at the start and end of turn. There's no reason to avoid casting it end of turn that I can think of but one reason to do so - the next turn your number of casts are reset.

    Example of when this is a good thing:
    You have an adept set to autocast haste. At the start of the turn there's no one to haste, so it doesn't cast. Then you move a unit there. At the end of the turn the adept auto cast haste. Next turn haste is still active (as it doesn't expire with the adept in the stack) and your unit doesn't need to auto cast. Now you can cast something else that turn, if you wish.
     
  18. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    A new blog post is up, covering City Actions and the new Sidar changes; Ready about it here.
     
  19. hbar

    hbar Constant

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Does this mean they are blocked by Arcana Lacuna?
     
  20. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Actually, it should. I'm not sure I've tested it, though.
     

Share This Page