1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise and Rule for Civ3:Conquests

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Isak, Sep 18, 2004.

  1. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    About the tech pacing, I am playing an archipelago monarch got to the industrial age at about 400 AD. Polynesia and I are each getting techs in about 3 turns now.

    By the way, this mod is really great :goodjob:
     
  2. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Heavy Frigate cost=14. Should be 140, I presume.
     
  3. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Actually you have to make copies of all the units in the ORIGINAL civ game and give them the English names. That's not THAT much work. If you're even better you just create folders with the English name that only contain an INI that links back to the French folders. Oh, and make sure you post it when you're done... ;)
     
  4. Owain

    Owain G Flashing Inaccessable

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Well, I don't know how slow your computer is, but hopefully this should help. I made forest and jungle unsettleable... It should drastically rduce the number of cities for the majority of the game.

    CLICK HERE

    I'd expect my map to play like a much smaller map due to the large amount of water, but I don't really know if that matters.

    I'll see about shrinking it when I get home. I have a feeling I won't care much for the results. Europe is too small for my liking as it is IMO. It may require drastic measures... I am working on a North America map in the same style. It will basically be half the size and feature only the northern hemisphere with the north pole in the center... I figure that should be good since the only civs in the southern hemisphere are the Inca and Zulu...

    I'd really appreciate some feedback on my map... Inacuracies, opinions, etc...
     
  5. kevincompton

    kevincompton Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    Ok comments on this mod:
    Bad
    1. No sound effects for the elaphant, plus it looks kinda weird when it walks.
    2. Tech advances way too fast. It takes no time and the computer is in the industrial ages, no time to enjoy the cool new units.
    3. Whats with the imperial guard having a gun and being availabe in the antiquity? This is a big one.
    4. theres tons of cool units you could use from shogun conquest for the asian/japan units. Not saying you should be I think at least the mounted samurai, cause that ones the best.
    5. wish i remembered what unit it was, one of the small boats. Looks real awkward when moving.

    Good
    1. man those naval units are sweet. However the great galleass has a cannon so it should come in a later era. But incorporating all those naval units makes it really cool.
    2. awesome tech ideas, simply amazing
    3.great improvements
    4.flavor work is so extensive. I wanted to do this but it took too long. You guys realy did a great job. Few bugs worked out and this will be legendary.
     
  6. navman74

    navman74 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    I have gotten these errors with each of 4 downloads( about 12 hrs download time total :( ) so for the moment have put this on pause waiting to see if anyone reports the same. thanks :) Mine have come with vrious units however.
     
  7. kevincompton

    kevincompton Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    what are these "shipment" items? Do they come up in the game at all? Please inform.
     
  8. Brohz

    Brohz Confused

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Valdivia
    Missing file:
    Art\Units\Infantry\InfantryDeath .wav
    The spelling in the Infantry.ini file is wrong, because there is a space before ".wav".
    Just delete the space. (InfantryDeath .wav to InfantryDeath.wav)
     
  9. Pfeffersack

    Pfeffersack Deity

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Germany
    The are designed to be a kind of trade goods, which are produced by several improvments (which are restricted to cities with direct presence of luxuries or strategic ressources) and can be sold for gold in your capital city.
    However, they are not activated in the mod yet and will not be until a bug is solved.
     
  10. allhailcaesar

    allhailcaesar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Downloaded it last nite, played it today, LOVED IT! (Had no problems, bugs, etc.) This is GREAT work! Thanks for sharing it!
     
  11. QSO

    QSO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Firstly I don't know why there are so few people who report industrial music being played during ancient age. Is it a local problem with my, and few others, civ installs, or just the majority isn't paying attention? I have to turn the music (which also automatically mutes the diplo music) or listen to this "alien" sounds (looking from my nomadic people perspective). To me both options kill the game atmosphere.

    I've modded the mod to better fit my preferences. I too like to play a slow-paced game. I rarely advance past rennasainse because of the stuff I did to the mod, but I will eventually... I promise :D

    So what I did was altering tech research. The thing I don't like about the original civ is fast tech'ing. And this problem got increased in the mod. That's objective, because of so many techs. Though I like to actually feel the value of every single advance. None of them are just prerequisites for a "major" one for me.

    Secondly I enjoy HUGE world because it can be complicated and I like exploring. I mean you can conquer 3 of your neigbours (chances are that'd be it in a 12 civ game), but there are still 27 left! So it feels more like a real world. You are never sure when you fall behind for some reason. World has so much more depth in it. You have to carefully choose your strategic moves. An advanced but militarily week neigbour might look like a good target, but be aware - it can ally with 10 nations over the globe; your trade routes which you though was safe might be pirated, thus you run out of luxuries/resources, which on it's own will damage your reputation as a trading partner.

    Because of these (and other) reasons I only play 254x254 random map with 31 civ, distance between civs 38, optimal cities 50.

    Research speed 800, all techs base cost doubled. With such settings you are researching advance/50turn in the opening stages. I think it makes sense. You peoples primary concern is to expand to fertile lands. Only when there is no more such god-sent places, they start thinking about the ways to improve what they already have access to. 40 turns research before dynastisism is good. You get the idea.

    And finally I created my own extended version. What you do is this: open .biq file, go scenerio options, change time limit to 1000 turns, change starting year to 5000 BC, and turns to "months". Now adjust the table in the lower right to this:

    120 300
    100 240
    110 120
    100 60
    250 12
    150 6
    200 6

    Ok now I remember two more things. I hate all kind of spies. This is not a james bond game. So I deleted every such unit from the game. emisaries, secret service, etc. etc.

    I think the agricultural trait is still too good so I increased their settlers costs shield-wise. Their cultivator to 40 shields, and hardy cultivator to 100 shields.

    Finally (hopefully ;) ) I multiplied all worker jobs (excluding 1-turn ones; watch tower, airfield) by 4. In the ancient age a mountain or even forest road should take enormous time and a lot of man-power to build. It's probably easier to achieve by militaristic (by playing style, not trait) civilizations, which enslave people and can afford to send 10 slaves to build a road.
     
  12. jimkirk

    jimkirk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    brooklyn, n.y.
    anywhere else i can d/l from seems like the mirror where the file is at is full and there is a waiting time
     
  13. citizen001

    citizen001 Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Australia
    Just a question: will RaR be as hard as Dyp? Because i played Dyp and it was considerably harder then normal Conquests.
     
  14. Hygro

    Hygro soundcloud.com/hygro/

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22,940
    Location:
    Montana
    Missing:
    American Rifleman.INI (this is the INI meant for American Infantry)



    I couldn't even find any American anything folder, let alone a mistyped .INI...


    @Citizen: I play normal civ on demigod. I'm playing RAR on regent (though I should be on monarch) . So yes, it's harder :)
     
  15. Vostos

    Vostos Celtic God

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    The lovely land of Eire
    Bug: The date is always nov., the setting for random is "YOUR CIVILLAZATION" and DocTS difficulty is set as easiest and colinies appear as "CivIII(r) Civilization(r), horses.

    These are very annoying bugs, I think that they are caused by the victory condition "Capture Shipments"
     
  16. torrasque

    torrasque COMMIE!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    The Internet!
    Great mod - DyP was my favourite and RaR is so much better. Some feedback:

    1) Fix the music up - the Industrial music in the Ancient age is terribly inappropriate.
    2) An extended turns version would be great

    3) When is the first patch coming out? :p

    As I said, great mod! Keep up the good work!


    torrasque
     
  17. koyensar

    koyensar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    I like the mod, but I have a question ?
    why is irrigation pushed into the middle ages? Crop rotation is somethign ancient people came up with, and in many ways irrgation is the start of civilization. From a practical stand point not being able to irrigate tiles makes it almsot impossible to grow a city about 2 or 3. Any one know the reason for restricting irrigation so far into the future, and any one know how to fix it so workers, start out with this ability?
     
  18. echinococcus

    echinococcus Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Westphalia
    no need to delete them, they were taken out of the game anyway since no wonder produces them and the prequisite is the unavailable-tech (probably to the extremely annoying sub-bug, imho only ssns and ssbns are invisible bc of this). if there was a stealth attack unit in the game, youd probably even mess up the attackable units list since it is saved by the index number of the unit in the editor.

    why is there no stealth attack unit btw?
     
  19. Doc Tsiolkovski

    Doc Tsiolkovski Deity

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,032
    Location:
    Köln, Cologne, Colonia. Finally.
    * Stealth attack units will find their way in, since this is somethingthe AI surprisinglycan handle extremely well.
    * If Worker jobs take considerably longer (we're talking about roads), this only weakens the AI with it's unability to stack Workers. Lots of issues that may make it a bit easy for the human player in fact are in to make the AI competitive - and believe me, it works.
    * Music? The game comes with music? Never noticed that ;)
    * Irrigation is pushed back for historical reasons (Crop Rotation was not know in the Ancient Ages, at least not the triple system), and mainly for gameplay - initial grow is supposed to be slowed down, and you simply have to get the good city spots.
    * Tech pace is not as fast you it may seem. Sure, you can easily go MA at 500BC, but only when you skip about a third of the AA techs, like Literature, which are not mandatory. And, anyone ever hit the Modern Era before 1500AD? Didn't even see that on Deity WM.
    * There is no Victory Condition 'Capture Shipment' :confused:. If the Shipments were enabled, itwould be 'Reverse Capture the Flag', but since anything but default disables SGLs, no special VCs of any kind are enabled.
    * We already have a set of about 40 new animations to include, plus the pretty good units from the Conquests. No need to make any requests here (but suggestions are welcome!). Also, lot's of sounds aren't checked (one of the most important reasons here is that I never use anything but 'All Sounds off' :D). Plus the 'Pedia.
    But we thought it makes a lot more sense to get out a fully playable RaR 1.00, find all bugs (hey, so far, the only real issues I see is the HeavyFrigate, the AA values of Flak/MSAM, and the AmericanRifle thing! I mean, compare that to c3c...), and then complete the uber-version. But, that one will easily exceed 200MB...
     
  20. Pfeffersack

    Pfeffersack Deity

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, it should be at least as hard as DyP.The reason is that the mod combats some of the main AI weaknesses; for example the fact that all the early units can be enslave in battle gives the AI, which tends to warmonger a lot, more workers than it has in standard civ.
    But even more than harder or not it is question of how it plays - there are considerable differences between DyP and RaR, it is not or at least not just "DyP for Conquests".
    All in all, it might be necessary to go down a difficulty level from the one in standrad Conquests - simply because it takes a lot of time to get completly familiar with RaR and its differnces to DyP and Conquests.


    1) I cannot contribute from my own experince, because I play without music(which might be the reason not everyone complains); but I'm sure this will be fixed.

    2) As DocTS has already said, likely in next version.

    3) Might take some time.At the moment impossible to say when it will come out, but it will :)
     

Share This Page