1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great War

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Sarevok, Jan 25, 2004.

?

What do you think of this scenario?

  1. Its Great! one of the best out there!

    257 vote(s)
    54.2%
  2. Its a good scenario

    119 vote(s)
    25.1%
  3. Its ok

    40 vote(s)
    8.4%
  4. I dont like it

    58 vote(s)
    12.2%
  1. Metacomet

    Metacomet King

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    It's a wonderful game, but I have a little personal complain. To much units, the first turn takes an eternity but after the massive killing it's easier. But still too much units for me.

    I played germany.
     
  2. Private Byrne

    Private Byrne Her Loyal servant

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Lizies England, Township of Wigan
    I downloaded this scenario a while a go and have only played one turn so I don't know much about the playability, but there are some problems that I came across and I feel you would like to know.

    Playing as the Brits.

    First of all It Fan*******tatic, it the most detailed and well put together scenario I played to date. Scondary it takes forever to play and that is why I have only played one turn so far. But I understand entirly why this is and am prepared to put up with it.

    But during the AL turn that took forever and left me contemplating suicide, some notable event happened. Firstly the Austrians Destoryed the Italians, then the Serbians Destroyed the Austrians, Then the Bulgarians destroyed the Romainians and then the Serbians defyed the one turn one move rule and destroyed the Bulgarians. And to top it all off the french destroyed the Germans and the greeks destroyed the Ottomans all in one turn, I didn't even get to land the BEF in France. Has this happened to anyone else.

    P.S. I off to see if this happens again and try the other nations.
     
  3. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Private Byrne,

    I am glad to hear that you like the scenario.

    Your playtest-report are not in line with others
    I read. AI:s play is very strange. Do you have AI-aggression
    level at normal? I hope you come back with more
    playtest-reports and that AI-play is normal.

    Thank you for your comments.


    Metacomet,

    I see 2 ways to go for TGW in the future: (this is my personal
    comment, I do not know what Sarevok things)

    1 The current brigade-level is accepted and will be the
    standard in the future.

    2 The current brigade-level is not accepted since it is
    to time-consuming. Then the only solution is to change
    to division-level: That is all ground units cut by 50%.

    I do not think there is need to cut down naval units.
    Naval moves in big scale will only occur now and then.
    After moving ground units and the naval units you
    want to move, you just hit end turn.

    Thank you for your comments.


    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  4. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    Sounds like Private Byrne accidentally turned on Elimination when he set his game up.

    I think switching to divs would be the right thing. The current units count is pretty extreme.
     
  5. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    The Last Conformist,

    I hope there will be much feedback on this issue,
    since there is an x-level of units most people will
    accept to deal with each turn.

    In addition to what is said in Post 243 a third solution
    would be possible : A Division level in addition to the
    Brigade level.

    Again: As much feedback as possible are of great value.

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  6. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  7. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    I have played about 4 turns of a game so far as germany, this is the current situation:

    Italian Front:
    The Italian Front is semi-Passive at this point, the Austrians have advanced to Venice and are fighting hard around there. I have had to pull 10 units to help them outh there in the Izonzo corridor though, so for me it isnt cost-effective

    Serbian Front:
    The Serbian front's action is fairly high, Austria has attacked quickly and is encircling Belgrade at this point.

    Palestinian Front:
    The Palestinian front has seen the British cross the Canal and enter the Sinai, an offensive against Jerusalem is imminent.

    War at Sea:
    The Sea is an interesting front: Stalemate. on my first turn, the Grand fleet had conveniently sailed ALL of its BB's outside of Bremen. With the entire High sea's fleet in Kiel, I sent my BB's and BC's and Sunk all of the Grand Fleet's BB's while losing only 2 of my BB's. The French fleet has arrived and has burned up alot of my ships, but in general I have all my BB's and I am ready to counter-attack whern my boats heal.

    Eastern Front:
    The eastern front's need is reaching critical, I am forced to fight VERY harsh battles around my entire border with Russian Poland. The Carpathians are also highly active fronts, and I am continuing to fight the endless tide of russians storming towards my line.

    Western Front:
    The Western front is reaching its climax: The schlieffen plan is unrolling and the french are scattered and pinned dowen in alsace-lorraine. Antwerp is under siege, and Rheims has fallen to my armies that are now converging of paris. Unfortunately to find troops for the east, I have had to pull the bulk of my forces to go east which leaves the right wing too weak to hit paris itself. I have opened up my shelling of the city, but without a decent force I cannot win the battle.
     
  8. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    I can understand that. Its a feedback and future
    question.

    Rocoteh
     
  9. froglegs

    froglegs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Sarevok & Rocoteh,

    I noticed today, February 8th that v1.0 does not allow light artillery and field guns to board transport ships. As I was about to post concerning this, I saw that 1.1 was out and downloaded it. It too does not permit this but siege guns can. The rail gun cannot but that makes sense. I caught this playing the British. Is this correct?

    I edited the guns in question and checked the "load" function so now they can for me.

    Keep up your good work!
     
  10. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  11. froglegs

    froglegs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    V 1.1 Nikosia still has a Turkish Infantry in Nikosia instead of a British Infantry.
     
  12. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  13. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Have anyone playing Germany tested a
    "Russia First Strategy" yet?

    Rocoteh
     
  14. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    I havent, thats my plan for the next game.

    Rocoteh, see PM. Im going to be out for a bit... Hoarding
     
  15. Al Zan

    Al Zan King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    931
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Sarevok-are you working on any new project?
     
  16. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  17. Al Zan

    Al Zan King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    931
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    may we know what is it?
     
  18. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  19. Happyman

    Happyman We are Borg

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Sammamish WA
    When i can finally download it laptop to slow cant use my good comp.... dont ask why only when parents arnt home...... any way I dont know if this will work but I'm going to try and play it historically and let the Ottoman Empire and the Austrian-Hungarian Empire kill the Russians while I as the germans kill the French. I hope this works..... BTW I've cheacked it on editer VERY COOL but I would recomend locked governments because no one(major) changed goverments during the war and I like the Constitutional Monarcy idea for Germany. GOOD JOB!!!
     
  20. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA

Share This Page