1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great War

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Sarevok, Jan 25, 2004.

?

What do you think of this scenario?

  1. Its Great! one of the best out there!

    257 vote(s)
    54.2%
  2. Its a good scenario

    119 vote(s)
    25.1%
  3. Its ok

    40 vote(s)
    8.4%
  4. I dont like it

    58 vote(s)
    12.2%
  1. NecromancerElf

    NecromancerElf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Well I don't know if its some kind of computer error or if I'm just technological inept but I can't get this to work :mad: . Just for refrence I have Civ Complete Vesion 1.22 and the loading stops 3/4 done with a problem with "text/pedia/con.text" :aargh:. But I do like the potential of the scenario plus Italy sahould not begin as an Enente (allied) power it was neutral until 1915 and they were originally Central but because the war was aggresive they left the alliance.
     
  2. krazydude

    krazydude Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Portugal
    Two minor things I think should be changed:

    1) I played with the British and when Nikosia expands in culture it takes a square of Turkey. It shouldn't be a big deal just that the Ottommans pillage the square and loose the railroad in there and cannot move troops as fast as it should. Maybe you should increase the nearby cities culture.

    2) It's not very realistic that someone who wants to travel on road from Faro to Lisbon has to go through Spain.

    This is an excellent scenario btw :)
     
  3. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    krazydude,

    Thank you.

    OK, notes have been taken with regard to TGW-DIV 1.5.

    BTW: The different versions of TGW and TGW-DIV have now been
    downloaded more than 9 200 times!

    Rocoteh
     
  4. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    NecromancerElf,

    There seems to be a problem with Civ Complete and some scenarios
    including this one. I do not know the reason.

    The problem with Italy if its starts neutral is that it will be 50/50
    which alliance it will declare war against.

    Rocoteh
     
  5. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    it is also no guarantee that all members of that alliance will side with italy.
     
  6. NecromancerElf

    NecromancerElf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Aww, I really wanted to play this scenario :( .
     
  7. ElBagOCrap

    ElBagOCrap Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Big congrats, Sarevok, Rocoteh, and all your other guys and gals who made this thing possible! This is a great scenario. :goodjob:
     
  8. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    NecromancerElf,

    My advise is to check that you really have the two downloads
    in the scenario-folder of Conquests.
    They are often placed in the wrong folder.

    Rocoteh
     
  9. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    ElBagOCrap,

    Thank you for the positive words.

    Download rate (of the different versions) is still at 70-80 each
    week, so TGW is still alive.

    Its possible I will release a TGW-DIV 1.5 later this year.


    Rocoteh
     
  10. Samez

    Samez ION GUNNER

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    center of nowhere
    Hey this scenario is really great! :goodjob:
    I love it!
    My first game I played as German Empire. Was successfull in the west but had some trouble in the east. :spear:
     
  11. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Samez,

    Thank you.
    I am very glad to hear that.

    Welcome back with more comments.

    Rocoteh
     
  12. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  13. music_theory7

    music_theory7 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Rocotech I love the TGW, but why why I ask can't germany build the corp unit in Berlin even when it has the military academy?? Why???? I think this is a bug. Also for germnay when you get a leader-created from battle you can't rush-build or create a army with it! This is only the case for Germany. I don't know why.
     
  14. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    music_theory7,

    This is very strange! Do you refer to TGW or TGW-DIV?

    I just checked TGW-DIV 1.4 and did not locate any bug that
    should trigger what you mention.

    Rocoteh
     
  15. Jadetorc

    Jadetorc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    This is easy - you don't have enough cities to support additional Corps. In TGW, you need 5 cities per corps. Until you capture your 30th city (or lose a Corps) you won't be able to build more. Leaders can't rush.

    On another note, I have the kill-all solution for the brigade version of this scenario:

    SPOILERS (of a sort) BELOW

    #1 : To ruin the stagnation of trench warfare you need mobility. I.E. unit speed. The fastest units out there are the various cavalrys. But they are pretty poor attackers. Unless they are in a Corps. With all the artillery and bombarding air and naval units, within a month or two nearly any power can amass enough artillery to redline all units in a city in one salvo (and kill many with Siege and Rail Guns). Cavalry corps are the coup de grace (pronounced koop duh gracie :mischief: ). For any city that is on the border, each cavalry corps can finish off 4 redlined defenders, MGs or not. Even if the target city has a square of padding, each cavalry corps can finish off 3 units, with little risk of losing anything. In my latest Germany - Marshall (Sid) game, after a methodical first two months of build/conquer/defend, my artillery piles and cavalry corps are taking 2-4 cities per turn. This is my current OOB on turn 8:
    Field Guns: 36 (all captured: 12 dutch, 12 belgian, 12 russian)
    Lt Artillery: 38 (21 orig+ 17 captured: 7 french, 2 belgian, 1 dutch, 6 russian, 1 british
    Field Howitzers: 18
    Siege Guns: 14
    Rail Gun: 1
    All Cav Corps: 4
    All Inf Corps: 3
    Inf: 168
    Flamethrower: 2 [built] (useful if they veteran, but die easily)
    Armored Car: 5 orig
    Maxim MGs: 35
    Engineers/Workers: 24
    Air: 2 Observer, 3 Biplane, 9 Zeppelin
    Sea: 7 DD, 2 CL, 2 CA, 4 BC, 3 BB (I'm building 4 SuperBBs - brit BBs all dead)

    Cities captured:
    1) Arnham, Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Anterp, Ypres, Calais
    2) Liege
    3) Brussels
    4) Nancy (stack of 60 french destroyed; brit BBs finished off)
    5) Verdun (stack of 35 french destroyed)
    6) Chalons, Reims, Arras, Lodz
    7) Warsaw (BEF destroyed)
    8) Paris, Versailles

    #2 - Abuse the AIs stupidity. To keep the enemy where you want them, just build a wall of MG/Inf stacks in trenches/strongpoint and leave open a spot for them to go through. As Germany, I got an RoP from Austria and just built a wall of units from Krakow to north of Memel and wherever his roads/RR cross the border put an MG/Inf/Inf in a Strongpoint. Russia currently has near 500 inf units (in the editor I gave them like 25 more cities and bumped inf strength to 6/8). The AI wastes them in stacks of 20-50, slowly fumbling around in the Carpathian hills and mountains. They've attacked my wall of MGs once, with a Corps. After capturing a city, I roll in the Engineers and instantly rebuild/move the MG wall. I have yet to see the AI build a single trench in any game I've played ...

    Anywho. Plus this is a >bump< :goodjob:

    Maybe later versions could include the immovable garrison/fortress units of Global WW2.

    -b
     
  16. BkGreatWarnut

    BkGreatWarnut aka "Brian the Great"

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I am planning to possibly start up another PBEM game of WW1 (the first one haulted because of failure for turns to send...). Anyways, I think you would better appreciate the historical accuracy if you were to play with other humans. As you pointed out the AI is stupid. They fail to build trenches, properly use artillery...and their biggest flaw is their constant failure to place greater importance on corps. As you said corps are "coup de car," and since humans realize this, they are ussually the target of an enormous counter-bombardment and attack if they are in range.
     
  17. music_theory7

    music_theory7 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Honolulu
    5 cities? I didn't notice that! That is why! Thanks! Also I think Helgoland should be placed back in. Also the graphics for the BC must be different because they have different purposes to the BB esp for the UK I kept getting confused which of my ships were the battlecruisers.

    Edit: This is for TGW 2.1. I only play TGW. It is better :D
     
  18. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    If you have any questions concerning TWG please mention
    if you refer to TGW or TGW-DIV.

    There are many differences. For example you need only 1 city to build
    a Corps in TGW-DIV. In TGW you need 5.

    Rocoteh
     
  19. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    BkGreatWarnut,

    "(the first one haulted because of failure for turns to send...)"

    I am not sure I understand you right. Can you clarify?
    Where there a bug that crashed the game?

    Rocoteh
     
  20. music_theory7

    music_theory7 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Honolulu
    BK Walnut when and where are you going to start one? Be sure to let me know I really would like to play.
     

Share This Page