1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Unit Making Tutorial by utahjazz7 (May 9, 2005)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Tutorials, Reference, & Guides' started by utahjazz7, May 9, 2005.

  1. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,810
    Location:
    Somerset
    I load up the figure, conform it to the PDM, zero it in the Joint Editor, check that its translation/rotation settings are all at 0, and then click on each part in turn, also checking that their translation/rotation settings are all at 0.
     
  2. Ogedei_the_Mad

    Ogedei_the_Mad Caffeinated Khagan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Moved back into the kimchi jar
    I also do the same, but for some reason, I can't get the robes to conform correctly to the standard PDM figure and I also often get odd results with other clothing props for the improved PDM figure. Parts of the robe figure still goes through the PDM. What I've been doing so far is simply assigning materials to exposed parts and coloring the same as the clothing prop. It still looks a bit awkward, however.
     
  3. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    If I can get my hands on poser 7 would this tutorial work for that as well? if not, where can you get poser 5?
     
  4. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,810
    Location:
    Somerset
    I'm sure it would work for Poser 7.
     
  5. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    wooooo! thanks plotinus! only 22 hours away from unit making fun :) I have made the Civiii Creation folders already in preperation :p
     
  6. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    Kai will have Poser! Yay! :bounce:
     
  7. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    Thats right! although they might suck...
     
  8. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    Yah, don`t worry, the taskmasta is working on that ;)
     
  9. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    Edit: I was stuck but I sussed it out :)
     
  10. Rm80

    Rm80 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    hello friendly people of the civ forums :D

    First of all thanks alot to you Utahjazz for this great tutorial.

    After alot of units and alot of rendering....... I realized that I had probably made a huge mistake. When you render then run animation you are supposed to change the PDM body yrotate back to 0 (previous -20), my question: am I supposed to do that for the other animations aswell or shall they remain at
    -20

    (Worst thing is that I probably already know that answer for this question, I just hope I am wrong)
     
  11. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    Alot of units eh? Thats allways nice to hear :cool:

    Welcome to CFC Rm80! :wavey: I`ve been reading the tutorial today myself, and I don`t think other animations require the rotating. But I`m not sure.
     
  12. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,810
    Location:
    Somerset
    I don't remember having to rotate the body at all! The key thing is that the unit should be facing the correct direction (due south, due east, etc.). If it's facing the right way, and it's facing the same way in each animation (obviously crucial, so they cycle smoothly), then it's OK. But I have a nasty fear that if you've been rotating the body in some animations and not in others, then it's not going to be consistent...
     
  13. Rm80

    Rm80 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Ye my guess is that -20 rotate was to get a better view when you where animating and where supposed to be changed back when rendering.

    Guess I have some more rendering to do then, yippie....


    Thanks for the answers.


    edit: Well about thoose units Stormrage as you hear its quantity not quality, but hopefully they will soon be good enough for me to post them here.
     
  14. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    Well, I hope you find those animations in the library usefull :)
     
  15. Olorin0222

    Olorin0222 Maia

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,347
    Location:
    Flooded Missouri!!!
    In Utah's tutorial, you ARE supposed to rotate the body 20 degrees, as Utah felt it gives the unit a more powerful looking stance.

    For the Run Animation, you should use an entirely different save. Take your unit, delete all keyframes so your unit appears in the 'crucfix'-like position, add the run animation and save as 'unitrun.pz3'.

    For the other animations, the abdomen should be rotated 15-20 degrees opposite the body, so as to not mess up the direction for the attack.

    Hope that helps some.
     
  16. Rm80

    Rm80 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks that helps alot, saved me alot of re-rendering.
     
  17. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    Right. Now post some previews. We`re like zombies here - we hunger for preview-brains :crazyeye:

    (does anyone else think we need a zombie smiley?)
     
  18. ruby_sauce

    ruby_sauce Outside the box

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'm sorry if this was asked before, but the link to poser 5 DL isn't working (the curioslabs one) and when I google, I onlt get contentparadise site where it isn't on anymore. can someone please direct me to a good site?
     
  19. Olorin0222

    Olorin0222 Maia

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,347
    Location:
    Flooded Missouri!!!
    It doesn't look like Poser 5 is up for sale, except for maybe on Amazon or Ebay (didn't check those two). The tutorial should work just as fine with Poser 6 or 7.
     
  20. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
    Content Paradise did once give away Poser 5 for free, they might do so again
     

Share This Page