1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[WTP] Quick questions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by Nightinggale, Feb 7, 2020.

  1. ikkiyikki

    ikkiyikki Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Really enjoying the mod. Hadn't played Colonization in years but got it the other day on Steam for $7. Downloaded this mod and I'm *hooked*. It is soooo much better than vanilla, wow!

    Anyway, wanted to ask about the Native Trader. I can't figure out how it's supposed to work, halp? In my mind it should work by having the unit go into a native village and be presented with an option analogous to the "live among natives".

    Also, could just be that I haven't rebooted in many hours but I seem to have lost the ability to click on a map to take me to that location. Clicking, double-clicking... nothing. Have to manually scroll. Is there a shortcut to make jumping around the map any faster?
     
  2. OldSock

    OldSock Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Aye, it works just like that. It's "establish trade mission" or something like that. If it's not working, maybe you have an expert native trader in colonist profession somehow. You need to equip it with trade goods in a colony to get the native trader profession.

    Left clicking works for me, on the map or mini-globe. x centers on a unit.
     
  3. OldSock

    OldSock Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Is there a good realistic world map to use with 2.8.2?

    I tried Scenarios RAR Americas Huge - random. Played for awhile... didn't find any other Europeans with my scouts. Played some more... couldn't find Europeans with a privateer. Opened world builder... and there are no other Europeans.
     
  4. lethiel

    lethiel Streaming Col at https://www.twitch.tv/lethiel01

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Denmark
    Be sure the other Europeans are included when you start the game in the lobby. It can easily happen if you start the game as a multiplayer game or you remove some of your opponents.
     
  5. bogwart

    bogwart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Maybe a Vanilla question, but anyway.
    Trade Points:
    'You will most likely earn the majority of your Trade Points by selling Goods to Europe, Africa, Port Royal, your Fellow Europeans or the Natives.' (Colopedia)
    Does it matter how much profit you gonna make?
    In other words, is Good value taken into account, or just the number of Goods?
    Also, Goods sold on your local markets are not considered for getting Trading Points?
     
  6. Ramstormp

    Ramstormp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Looks to me like it's based on the amount of gold changing hands, not the amount or value of the yields themselves. You don't appear to get any points from other trading with other Europeans. You get trade points for building market buildings, but I can't see anywhere indicating that you get points for the domestic market transactions themselves.
     
  7. bogwart

    bogwart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks! I always thought markets would have an on-going impact on trade points.

    Out of curiosity I cheated me a simple scenario via World Editor.
    What I found out was that 30% of Goods value is converted to TP when trading with Europe/Africa/Port Royale, versus only 15% of Goods value when trading with the Natives.
    Trading with Europeans, as you already mentioned, gives no TP at all.
    Markets give only a low, onetime TP bonus. (e.g. 100 TP vor Village Market, 150 for Town Market.)

    I have to adjust my strategy a bit I think, as some Trade FF are quite good ones:
    Jan de Witt (-25% requ. for buildings),
    N.P. Resanov (2Exp. Native Traders, +25 better prices from bargaining and Trade Posts),
    John Smith (-20% Cost of recruiting Units in Europe),
    Alexander Hamilton (additional Hammers for Basecamp/Village/Town/City Halls/Gov.Palace/Col.Congress),
    Samuel Adams (increases LB prod. by tax rate)

    Fun fact:
    There are no 'negative' TP, meaning you get TP when you buy and immediatly sell Goods in Europe/Africa/Port Royale. Or, in a more practical way, when you buy cheap in one harbor and sell it (with bargain) in another.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2021
    Ramstormp likes this.
  8. danpat

    danpat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    Anyone know what to do with sperm whales inside city radius? Neither my colonist (including expert fisherman) nor whaling boat can get whale from that. Fishermen can only get food from there.
     
  9. FunkyGroovyGuy

    FunkyGroovyGuy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Hey everyone! Long time fan and lurker, first time poster. Love the mod!
    Quick question about roads: The "route to" command (alt-R) builds the highest level of road (plastered country road) to the selected tile. I love this for when I have some pioneers to spare and I want to upgrade my initial, primitive road system. But I'm wondering if there is a "route to" command which will only build the simple road to a tile.
    This is definitely not a complaint or a feature request; but I've learned from these forums that there are a lot of things this mod can do that I just didn't know about! (Like forts. I had no idea forts did so much! Or that you could combine treasures... learning that saved me a lot of galleon trips!)
    Anyway, anything like this? Thanks a lot!
     
  10. solvito

    solvito Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Team, are you looking at balancing a bit the gold price? Every game we play in multiplayer, having the gold gives you like 80% chance to win. the price of 40 we think it is excessive.
     
  11. nci

    nci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Isn't it supposed to?
     
    Mr. ZorG likes this.
  12. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    is it possible to make a graphical representation of the fact that someone is already studying in the natives' village? some icon, for example.
    if possible, I will create an issue on GitHub.

    возможность обучения в деревне индейцев.jpg
     
  13. ConjurerDragon

    ConjurerDragon Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    382
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhineland-Palatinate
    Isn´t there already a line below the job? As in, if the village trains Expert Famers and I have a colonist in the village, then below "Expert Farmer" is a line that shows the progress of the colonists learning (full line = guy is finished).
     
  14. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Of course it is technically possible.

    The effort to do it is about 2h for a programmer.
    (Without programming you have no way to do it though.)

    I would probably not look pretty to have another icon in city billboard though.
    (You would also need to explain that Icon again and again to beginners.)

    However, I generally also do not even like that change.:(
    (see below.)

    Only for your own colonists that train in the village.
    You will simply not see on the screen that a colonist of another Nation is training there.

    -----

    Personal Opinion to such a change:

    Actually I like the way it currently is. :)

    There is no need to know and get visualized everything that other Nations do.
    Simply because it is not predictable that way.

    Why should you know in advance that another colonists of another Nation already trains there before actually being at the village?
    Other Nations will not tell you about their plans and the Natives are not going to tell you either.

    Not everything in a game needs to be convenient. :dunno:
    There need to be some small "Damn these ..., they have stolen my Training Spot again!"

    These angering moments spice up a game as well.
    Angering / Annoying a player sometimes is what my features are supposed to do.

    I simply am no fan of removing all of little bad surprises and thus annoyances and have the mod become "Fairy Pony Land" ...
    This is simply a tiny anger you remember and those will make you remember playing the game.
    (Our brain remembers angering moments much better than nice and boring moments.)

    Emotions - good and bad - keep the game interesting.
    I implement such anger moments in my features by design.

    Like I tried to explain:
    • Reward and Punishment (or at least risk) need to stay balanced.
    • Moments of Joy and moments of anger need to stay balanced.
    • Good effects and bad effects need to stay balanced.
    Players may not believe me or simply not understand my "design philosophie":

    For me this is the spice that makes the game interesting and fun and keeps our players playing.
    Once it is just "Fairy Pony Land", players will get bored of it because it will have "no more taste".

    Our mind is really not wanting everything to be nice and boring.
    Our brain needs stimulations of all kinds to not get bored.

    The believe "It will be so much fun, if 100% is predictable and there is no more bad surprises and thus I can control everything." is simply a misbelieve.

    Just remember your relationships:
    Have you appreciated your partner because she / he was always predictable, nice and boring?
    Or have you appreciated your parter because she / he was surprising, sometimes a "bad girl / bad boy" but fun?

    ---------

    Sorry. :blush:
    This was getting way too long again.

    I know I get theoretical all the time recently, but I kind of need to explain these things to people.
    They otherwise do not understand why the mod does not always need to be "nice and fluffy" for me.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2021
    Schmiddie likes this.
  15. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    as Ray said, only in your colonies..

    yes, it was something like this :wallbash:[pissed]:badcomp::ar15:
    but I understood and accepted your point of view:thumbsup:
     
  16. ConjurerDragon

    ConjurerDragon Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    382
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhineland-Palatinate
    Ah- I wrongly assumed that AI / other players would see the line too and would know that the village was occupied.

    o.k. but does that argument not contradict the other guys presence in the village?
    We can have a missionary (who right away builds a coloured cross to show off his presence),
    a trader (who right away advertises his presence by building a box in front of the village)
    and a colonist who learns from the natives.

    I agree that the colonist would be the one with the least external attention, but if the goal would be to have my colonies presence in natives villages unknown then we should burn the crosses and the boxes... :devil:
     
  17. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    hmm ... the flip side of Ray's logic ... however ...
     
  18. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,236
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    A mission or a trade post are buildings, that are constantly there. They are buildings, not just people.
    There is nothing surprising about it and you can make the decisions to burn the ones of other nations down with negative consequences considering relations.
    Missions and Trade Posts were really known in the surrounding area because such news spread.

    --> It really does not work to remove those Billboar Icons, because the Player claims "ownership" with his mission or trade post.
    Much more "negative consequence" for losing it / not having gotten it. Important strategically and much more value.
    It will constantly spawn Treasures or Converts. It is not just annoying to have your enemies create such "outposts".

    Colonists training at a Native Village are temporary. They may be there or may not be there.
    Thus the situation can change and surprise you. Also you have no influence to change it other than wait to take the next training slot.
    Who ever knew which white men were at the moment in the next native village 20 miles away without visiting it.

    --> There is no necessity for a Billboard Icon, because the Player just has temporary presense.
    Just a little tiny bit of annoyance for having to wait a couple of turns. No real strategic importance and very little value.
    It does not really change anything on the big scale. Wait 5 turns, who cares?

    ----

    We are kind of trying to compare big apple trees with single small cherries. :dunno:
    (Totally different scale of importance and stategic impact.)

    Again guys, there is no wrong or right in modding. :)
    I am just trying to explain my personal taste and my design philosophies.

    And even for things like this topic I try to do it properly. :thumbsup:
    Even if it is as impactful to gameplay as having another grey hair on my head.
     
    ConjurerDragon likes this.
  19. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    265
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    my older sister does not have a single gray hair on her head. I can ask what paint she uses:shifty:
    thanks for your great clarification, Ray:thanx::beer:
     
  20. schueler

    schueler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Is the way the engine spreads buildings around the city tile hard-coded or can it be modded?
    It's just at times they look way too off when looking at them closely, then again, this is not SimColony. :)
    I've just thought about this as my government palace is in a corner far out. This is merely an aesthetic quibble.

    It does almost look like melcher kürzer has a system to give cities a more logical layout..
     

Share This Page