1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

[WTP] Quick questions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by Nightinggale, Feb 7, 2020.

  1. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    To prevent raids on cities and lose gold and construction progress because of this, build forts around cities:old::smoke:
     
  2. ConjurerDragon

    ConjurerDragon King Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhineland-Palatinate
    You mean the distinct building on the map, not the city fortification, right?
    In what distance does a fort on the map draw raiding natives to it, away from a city? e.g. if I go defensive could I draw the indians away from several of my cities with strategically placed 1 fort like a lantern that draws moths´? Or is 1 needed within the 5X5 city limits to draw natives away from that city?
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2021
  3. Buffalo Solider

    Buffalo Solider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    I basically put my city on top of their village, because... I just liked spot and wanted game to be a bit more spicy, than normally.
    But this basically means - there's no option of me building fort between my city and their village, because they are next to each other. But does it actually "attract" them? In this case I could build it around their village..

    https://imgur.com/a/SVUZVH5

    Or is it just, that they can't "pass" through fort, if they have bad intentions? Because they can stand in same tile as my units, even if they have bad intentions :c I already tried that.


    I anyway plan on attacking them, quite soon enough, so I will get rid of problem that way : p
     
  4. nci

    nci Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    @Buffalo Soldier Indians normally offer to give you the land for free and abandon the village in such situations. Did you reject them multiple times?
     
  5. Buffalo Solider

    Buffalo Solider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    No, they never proposed me to give away land in this game. I think big part must come to relations. In this game those surrounded Indians absolutely hate me.
    In last game I had situation, when Indians gave me their land, but I had "cautious" relations.
     
  6. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    yes, I meant forts that are not built in the city, but on the map.
    there must be at least one tile between the fort and the natives village, otherwise it cannot be built.
    and yes, the forts attract natives who are going to participate in the raid on the city.
     
  7. Zingo99

    Zingo99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Guess this question is in wrong forum but anyways.... I have a feeling that if you get great land to expand on you have crappy colonsists in europe (indendured servats etc), when crapppy land you get proper units in europe (scouts/pioneers/preachers). Just my feeling or is there any AI down below?
     
  8. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    No sorry, that is just "Murphy's Law". :lol:
    (Such a logic really does not exist in the game.)

    The queue in Europe is pretty much random.
    (It does not check your starting position or anything like that.)

    The only thing it cares about is "game turns".
    (There is a weighting which Units it will prefer to generate.)

    Early on:
    "Mostly Workers / Explorers"

    Later in game:
    "More Manufactures"
     
  9. Zingo99

    Zingo99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Ok, thx :)
     
  10. Frardiib

    Frardiib Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I am wondering about the location ships return to after sailing back from Europe. It seems like they always return to the initial spot. Sometimes it would be nice to have them return to the spot they left from. Is this possible?
     
  11. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    If you use the "Sail to City" option in Europe they will not always arrive in the Starting Plot.
    They will arrive in the closest Europe Plot of that City instead.

    They will only arrive on the statrting Plot if you simply use "Sail to the New World" all the time.
    (Because it is most likely the closest Plot to your colonies - at least statistically.)

    Summary:
    Chose the right option and you will get the right result. :thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2021
  12. Cacaso

    Cacaso Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    It would be possible to create a mechanism to save a specific tile (since, being in the "sail to europe" area and already explored) to serve as a reference point and then have the ship from the europe screen (F2) appear in the specific tile marked on the map.

    something like sail to "point A", and then have that point marked in coordinates (X=120 , Y = 43).

    this would be interesting when you have sea currents on the map, so that ships appear near a desired point. Or when the player wanted a specific point on the map, to take troops, trade with a specific tribe, take units such as missionaries or scouts to a more urgent area (near the AI for example).

    the ability to mark these "points of reference" could be the unique power of one of the ships, perhaps the caravel as it is an exploration ship.

    I think about 3 or 5 of these points would be enough for the human player's interests.
     
  13. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    as you explore the east and west parts of the edge of the map, you discover access tiles to europe. and on the screen of Europe it becomes possible to select a specific square of the ocean on which the ship will appear. yes, its length will be several tiles, but there is such a possibility.
     
    Cacaso and raystuttgart like this.
  14. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Yes and such a feature even already exists in another mod. (DoaNE)
    We just have to port it to WTP which is more difficult than it sounds.

    It is much more effort to port it than you might think.
    (It might be much less effort to create a new solution from scratch.)

    Summary:
    If one of us ever has time to do it, it might be done.
    It is currently really low on the priority list though.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2021
    Cacaso likes this.
  15. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    That is correct as well. :thumbsup:
    (You can decide in which area of the Map you want to arrive.)
     
    Cacaso likes this.
  16. Frardiib

    Frardiib Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    thanks for the info
     
  17. Zingo99

    Zingo99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Hello, tried to search but couldn't find any.., anyone knows what the difference is between Faireweather and FairweatherTweakEx mapscripts?
     
  18. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    "TweakEx" is the better / most updated one.
    (Simply ignore the other older one.)

    The other old one should actually be removed now.
    (We had just kept the old one in case we would find bugs with the new one.)
     
    Zingo99 likes this.
  19. nci

    nci Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Is there a specific reason why these 6 tiles on Americas Gigantic are impassable, while all the adjacent tiles are not - or is it a bug?

    impassable-tiles.png
     
  20. Zingo99

    Zingo99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Is the "Fountain of youth"-event in WTP? Never seen it.
     

Share This Page