1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

YnAMP sub-project: True location corresponding city names

Discussion in 'Yet (not) Another Maps Pack' started by rock_and_ride, Nov 23, 2016.

  1. Moda

    Moda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've been thinking, and perhaps those two new grass tiles I suggested for North America's west coast would make it appear too round and unusual. Either way, I can make a pull request for the city name changes right now (following the current geography), or I can wait until any changes are made to the land tiles in the area before making a pull request. Whichever you'd prefer.
     
  2. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Location:
    France
    Thank you, you can make the pull now, because I can't give an ETA for the edition of the map, but it's added to the to do list with the others maps modifications.
     
  3. Moda

    Moda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Done. Here are some screenshots of my city map changes:
    Spoiler Great Lakes + Northwest Ontario In-Game :
    20170503081752_1.jpg

    Spoiler Western USA City Map :
    NA City Changes3 05-04-17.png

    Spoiler Western USA In-Game :
    20170504220521_1.jpg

    Spoiler Panama can be founded on all "canal city" tiles now. :
    20170503082101_1.jpg
    (That spot used to be part of San Jose [Costa Rica]. San Jose can still be founded further north)
     

    Attached Files:

    tomaltachpaulson and Gedemon like this.
  4. SlySlySly

    SlySlySly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Denver
    Is Denver on the map? I feel like it's a capital and well, I live there and wouldn't mind it being represented.
     
  5. Moda

    Moda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It sure is! It's just slightly to the east of the area I worked on above.
     
  6. SlySlySly

    SlySlySly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Denver
    Awesome! Also, If you are in need of more cities in the 4 corners area, I'm glad to help.
     
  7. Moda

    Moda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The entirety of the USA on the Giant Earth Map is done right now and I'm comfortable with that area at the moment, but if you find anything strange, like a spelling error or a city being founded in a spot where it shouldn't, feel free to let someone know on the forum. I'm always happy to fiddle around with the text and city map files for North America. And if you want to make changes or additions yourself, this community is pretty open to that idea so long as someone else isn't already working on the same thing (instructions are on page 1 of this forum).
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2017
  8. Moda

    Moda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just noticed this: Myggbukta in Greenland has the default name "Mosquito Bay" and is called "Myggbukta" if owned by Norway. According to Wikipedia, the area was called "Mosquito Bay" when it was claimed by Norway in the past, and on current Google Maps is labelled as "Myggbukta."
    Code:
    <Replace Tag="LOC_CITY_NAME_MYGGBUKTA" Text="Mosquito Bay" Language="en_US" />
    <Replace Tag="LOC_CITY_NAME_MYGGBUKTA_NORWAY" Text="Myggbukta" Language="en_US" />

    Wikipedia:
    - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myggbukta
    Google Maps:
    - https://www.google.ca/maps/place/My...7d:0xed6584604dbe3728!8m2!3d73.5!4d-21.566667

    I hesitate to change it myself since I wasn't the one who worked on this area, but I'm wondering if these two names were reversed by mistake.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2017
  9. Mobfire

    Mobfire Chillin' out maxin' relaxin' all cool

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, Myggbukta is Norwegian for Mosquito Bay. So it should stay as that for Norway. Whether it's Mosquito Bay or Myggbukta for the rest of the civs isn't of huge consequence.
     
  10. Moda

    Moda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Ok! Thanks for clearing that up. I got confused since it seems that the two are used interchangeably in English translations.
     
  11. Sauron The Great

    Sauron The Great Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    One thing I'd like to mention is that the river placement in the United States area is a bit... off. I'll deal with 3 rivers that I think are most notable.
    A: Columbia. The Columbia River, in real life, is the Washington/Oregon border until around Kennewick/Walla Walla/Pendleton, where it curves north. It continues north until about the 52nd parallel, where its source in the Rockies is. It's not really there in the game.
    B: Rio Grande. The entire Texas area in the map is a bit too small, and I'd like in the Rio Grande was 1-2 tiles to the west.
    C: Mississippi/Missouri. Both rivers in the map go a bit too far north. For reference, the US/Canada border north of the rivers IRL is the 49th Parallel. However, in the game, they both go a bit too far north. IRL, their northernmost areas are around the 48th Parallel, but in the game, they go quite further north.
     
  12. Moda

    Moda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm beginning to work on placing North American city locations for the Greatest Earth Map in my spare time.
    Here's a sneak peek at my progress so far, beginning with the planning phase.
    Spoiler First steps :
    NA Greatest Earth Progress 01-06-17.png


    On the side I'm also continuing to edit some North American cities for the Giant Earth Map, mostly around the east coast and especially in Mexico . Edits are mostly focusing on adding more well-known cities and filling in emptier areas.
     
    tomaltachpaulson likes this.
  13. KidJesus

    KidJesus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    So where are we at with the Giant Earth map? Last I read, Africa and parts of Russia and Asia still needed to completed...but that was like 2 months ago. Has anyone finished that part yet? Is anyone currently working on it?
     
  14. tomaltachpaulson

    tomaltachpaulson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    @Gedemon A comment on the mod page on Steam today reminded me that we still have problems with the continent boundaries on Play Europe Again—they're still leftover from the Civ V ones and consequently many of the mountain ranges and the tiles around them are different continents to the ones they should be in. I am also thinking though that only having the three actual continents on the map (Europe, Africa, Asia) is a bit silly for a map which is mostly Europe, and that it might be better to break the continents up into smaller regions. I've had a bit of a play around with this idea in the worldbuilder and have come up with some possible boundaries. I've included a save and the Play Your Own Custom Maps mod with the altered map file in the attached zip. The continent names don't match up, of course, but Euramerica is Iceland, Atlantica is Ireland, Avalonia is Great Britain, Lemuria is Western Europe, Cimmeria is Southern Europe, Kernorland is Central Europe, Vaalbala is Scandinavia, Europe is Eastern Europe, Asia is the Middle East, and Africa is Africa. Thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

    Gedemon likes this.
  15. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Location:
    France
    I think we should add the missing "continents" name, then update the maps.

    I'd like to add some minimal code to the world builder, so we just need to draw the boundaries then "fill" the continent for faster edition.

    I suppose that the number of "continents names" we'll need may be dependent of the map scale, but I don't think it would be an issue to have more than needed.
     
    tomaltachpaulson likes this.
  16. Azar91

    Azar91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Almost 3 months later I was wondering the same thing.

    And... it would be great too, -last time I played- districts cannot be built on floodplains, eg Egypt is quite useless. Unfortunately I have no idea of programming, in fact I tried but I didn't get anything, I did not even find floodplains in terrain folder, I thought: why is this happening to me? :lol:

    Could someone tell us how is this going? Things were going pretty fast at the beggining.
     
  17. VitaGui

    VitaGui Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, please, I have a question. Is it possible to send me the maps (whole maps) with all of the cities drawn in hexes? I know it's so hardwork and none guy is into those things like me but I'd love to assure everyone, the proposal is tha clarity! Is anyone able enough to do such a crazy but very useful thing? It'll be helpful so much, to everyone . . .
     
  18. tomaltachpaulson

    tomaltachpaulson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    You can do it yourself, if you so desire. For Play Europe Again, for example, there is an image of the entire map here, and the city map coordinates are here. To match the coordinates up to the map image up you can simply use the instructions "Get map coords and reveal the whole map" here to see the tile coordinates in-game. Then you can draw the names onto the original image.

    Well, progress certainly has tapered off since about April, but that has a lot to do with the holiday season coming so soon after the release of the game, which meant that there were a lot of excited people with spare time on their hands. I do expect it to pick up again towards the end of this year (certainly I would like to have both of the in-progress maps completely finished), but I don't expect progress to ever return to what it was during that rapid post-release excitement phase.
     
  19. Xefjord

    Xefjord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey I know it has been a while since any mentions have taken place in this thread, but I remember one of the goals of this project was to provide culturally accurate names as well. With Korea announced I can already see historical city names and swaths of Gogoryeo settlements in Manchuria that could be added for if Korea settles in those areas. Is there any plans to update the mod to incorporate these after the expansion gets added?
     
  20. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    There have been no mentions of Khmer or Indonesia here either; both can have true city names as well.
     
    Xefjord likes this.

Share This Page