1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

A New Dawn Bug Reports and Feedback

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by 45°38'N-13°47'E, Dec 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,638
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    If you find any bugs, other than those listed here already, please report them.

    Known Bugs:


    See The A New Dawn Bug Tracker


    Procedures and Guidelines:
    If you are using A New Dawn and no other modifications
    • Post in this thread with a bug report.
    • Include your A New Dawn.log file (located in your Rise of Mankind folder)
    • Include a save
    If you are using A New Dawn WITH other modifications
    • Post in this thread with a bug report.
    • Include your modifications (preferably your XML & Modules Folders), or if not possible, upload your entire RoM folder. (To the file host of your choice)
    • Include a save

    As for feedback, please post anything regard A New Dawn features only. If you use other modmods, you forfeit support from me, I will not debug non-AND mods. Main RoM feedback belongs in the RoM forums.
     
  2. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,270
    Location:
    California, USA
    I had a weird CTD today. I finished the whole game and then selected "Return to Main Menu" and then it crashed to desktop. Of all the CTDs I think this is one I don't mind at all. In short reporting but should be put on low priority.
     
  3. CivEikka

    CivEikka Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Finland
    Wonderful.. Really, these modmods make the rise of mankind so much better.. It's like jump from BtS --> RoM.. Maybe not that much.. but still this is great!

    Allthough one thing came my mind.
    Thing when you're switching civics it turns into anarchy mode, I think that could spawn a civil war (if the difference is huge, like ideology civics (from right to left)). Or event when the people are rebellious, they demand on changing civic (like from fascist to democracy).

    Just thinking, but anyways thanks for this modmod.. I really enjoy this. :)
     
  4. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    That's intentional. ;)
     
  5. CivEikka

    CivEikka Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Finland
    First CTD (atleast it crashes, and I don't know why.)

    I found buddhism in paris (Conquered) And I'm trying to switch to both church (from charity) and state church (from prophets) civics, but it crashes then.

    Only rise of mankind 2.81 (full) and this modmod. :/
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Can you post your "A New Dawn.log" file? It's in the main Rise of Mankind folder.
     
  7. CivEikka

    CivEikka Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Finland
    {Required Files} {Military Civics} {Beautification Project} {Castle Improvements} {Civic Flavors} {Ice Breaker} {Ideology Civics} Meteorology {Mountains } {Realistic Diplomacy} {Seafaring } {Resource Refinement} {Multiple Production Mod} {War Prizes} Zoology Firestorm {The World's Fair} Arctic {Larger Cities} {Espionage Process} Forestation {Sea Tunnels} Terraforming {Lead From Behind} {Event Images} Education Sports {Hi-Res Cursors} {Fixed Borders} NIMBY {Civic Buildings & More Wonders} {Surround and Destroy} {No Storms} {Advanced Diplomacy} {Deep-Red Interface} {Balanced Civics} {Early Buildings} ANM

    Those are inside of that file, though I'm not sure if it is the right one, but in log folder, there is no logs.. :/

    EDIT: It is the state church civic, I had no problems to change from charity--> church.
     
  8. Mister Giggles

    Mister Giggles Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    I notice when installing A New Dawn with 2.81 (Full, no megapack), the speed at which the city screen loads and unit selection happens slows down drastically. From 1-2 seconds to 3-4. Quite noticeable, moves A New Dawn into unplayable territory for me. Is there a particular reason why?

    This slowdown occurs no matter what I happen to install.
     
  9. ghostmaker650

    ghostmaker650 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Hi, I've installed A New Dawn 1.50 and am currently 118 turns into a new game, playing a custom Huge Europe scenario, standard speed. I am playing with Surround and destroy, advanced diplomacy, and unlimited wonders all checked (but none of the others that come with A New Dawn).

    What I've noticed so far is that some text are bad. Like some of the text for diplomacy relation, they say: TXT_KEY_MISC_ATTITUDE_FIRST_IMPRESSION and another is
    TXT_KEY_MISC_ATTITUDE_LOW_RANK. Those are the only 2 I've seen so far though.

    And all the text for the combat odds are worded in much the same way TXT_ACO_HP and what not.

    I'm not sure if A New Dawn is the cause, but it is the only change I've made. I'm still playing RoM 2.8 (perhaps updating to 2.81 will fix this? I'll post again if I find out)

    UPDATE: updating to 2.81 did not help. Same problems.

    I've uploaded screen shots of the combat odds text, and a save of the game in the screen shots (I accidentally saved over the game mentioned above after updating to 2.81)

    And here is what that file says: {Required Files} {Ice Breaker} {Mountains } {Realistic Diplomacy} {Multiple Production Mod} {War Prizes} {The World's Fair} {Espionage Process} Forestation {Sea Tunnels} Terraforming {Fixed Borders} {Surround and Destroy} {No Storms} {Advanced Diplomacy} ANM
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Those text files are part of RoM 2.81. I would get a clean copy of RoM, patch it, then install A New Dawn.

    The fact that they are missing tells me that for some reason, you didn't patch RoM Right.
     
  11. ghostmaker650

    ghostmaker650 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    This happened with 2.8 before I patched as well.
    I did have a clean copy of RoM, then I patched, and then used A New Dawn installer, but I will try again.
     
  12. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    A CTD, had not downloaded the new patch yet.

    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "BugEventManager", line 357, in _handleDefaultEvent
      File "RevEvents", line 191, in onEndPlayerTurn
      File "RevEvents", line 824, in recordCivics
    MemoryError
    
     
  13. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    That's odd. It looks like a non-player called the function... That's the only way it could crash. Any other details? When? How long had you been playing?
     
  14. ghostmaker650

    ghostmaker650 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    A fresh install of RoM worked. I didn't know the uninstaller wasn't 100%, that was probably the cause since I did use it.
    Thanks for the help :goodjob: And I look forward to This modmod, Thanks again :goodjob:
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Unfortunately I have no other details. I had just gotten Calendar and was studying Sculpture. See attached for my game options - I did not have inquasitions on but it is showing anyway.
     
  16. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    The way inquisitions is coded now, is to be a game option, (since I removed the callback) but since it was always on be default, I just hide the option and defaulted it to on. You can actually turn it off if you mess with the gameoptioninfo.xml in my folder.

    Is the CTD repeatable?
     
  17. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    So now inqusitions are not turned of by the RevDCM tab in the BUG options:confused:

    I did not make any saves because I was doing a quick test before adding in all my stuff. I'll see how far back the autosave was and try from there.

    The answer is maybe. I got the following at about the same game turn I think.
    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "BugEventManager", line 357, in _handleDefaultEvent
      File "Revolution", line 600, in onEndPlayerTurn
      File "Revolution", line 1004, in updatePlayerRevolution
      File "Revolution", line 2163, in checkForRevolution
      File "Revolution", line 3408, in pickRevolutionStyle
      File "Revolution", line 4397, in makeRevolutionDecision
      File "Revolution", line 5048, in processRevolution
      File "RevUtils", line 1128, in changeCiv
    RuntimeError: unidentifiable C++ exception
    I will now try again to see.

    No it is not repeatable.
     
  18. winthrowe

    winthrowe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    not exactly a CTD, but I seem to be having an infinite loop bug, or something. can you look at this save, 2.81, standard install of AND1.51?

    Spoiler :

    {Required Files} {Military Civics} {Beautification Project} {Castle Improvements} {Civic Flavors} {Ice Breaker} {Ideology Civics} Meteorology {Mountains } {Realistic Diplomacy} {Seafaring } {Resource Refinement} {Multiple Production Mod} {War Prizes} Zoology Firestorm {The World's Fair} Arctic {Larger Cities} {Espionage Process} Forestation {Sea Tunnels} Terraforming {Lead From Behind} {Event Images} Education Sports {Hi-Res Cursors} {Fixed Borders} NIMBY {Civic Buildings & More Wonders} {Surround and Destroy} {No Storms} {Advanced Diplomacy} {Balanced Civics} {Early Buildings} ANM
     

    Attached Files:

  19. os79

    os79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    If you mean the period in early game (Epic=150's of turns), when someone adopts a civic or adopt religion or whatever, that the game "Stops Responding", then I am likely having the same problem. I'm reinstalling the whole thing and documenting everything so that if it repeats, I will report back.
     
  20. winthrowe

    winthrowe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    this happened relatively early turnwise, on an renasance start, so it is quite possible an ai was changing civics. I had used a fresh install of 2.8 full, patched to 2.81, and installed AND with the above settings.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page