1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CCM1 (epic mod)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Hi ThERat, you will be one of the first who can test it, but unfortunately until these tests can start, some more time is needed.
     
  2. HorseSoldier

    HorseSoldier Retrofit this....

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Wrigleyville North
    Just DL'ed and looking thru it - very impressive - a lot of thought and hard work went into this and I am looking forward to playing it...

    One very minor correction (so far:lol:) - your pedia desc of the American GI says that the "GI" stands for "General Infantry" - this is incorrect. GI = "Government Issue"
    ......just sayin'.........;)
     
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Hi HorseSoldier, thank you very much for your kind words about CCM. :) Following the Wikipedia, G.I. originally stood for "galvanized iron":D: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.I._(military))
     
  4. HorseSoldier

    HorseSoldier Retrofit this....

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Wrigleyville North
    :eek: who knew ?...

    Oh Well - we'll always have FUBAR & SNAFU :crazyeye:
     
  5. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,542
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Roger that :mischief:.
     
  6. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    The change to the new civilopedia format for CCM-buildings is finished.
    Now I show you a screenshot about the new civilopedia format for CCM-landunits:



     
  7. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    Dunno if this is a bug, but...

    I noticed that the tech "Rocketry" makes the building "Heavy costal batery" obosolete. But the entry for this building (which I've never seen) on the civipedia is "invalid".
     
  8. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Yes, it is a minor bug as this building did only exist in early versions of CCM, but not any longer in version 1.8. The civilopedia entry of the tech was not corrected. Thank you very much for reporting that error. :) In 1.8 you can see the autoproduced unit "Heavy costal battery" still in the unit pool, but for the next version of CCM this autoproduced unit is sorted out, too.
     
  9. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    I've just noticed something odd abou the game I'm playing. It's about 15 turns to endgame (which I ignore. Total domination or death!). I'm in a large continente, and the tech levels, afaik, are very close... but I think I'm the only one with oil!! :wow:

    There are another 6 civs in the continente, 2 bigger than me. But I see no oil-dependant units anywhere, or any other oil fields. Also, I only have one.

    I've never seen such a shortage of supplies in any game, and I've played CIV3 since day one. Severall civs being short, that's normal, but this? It turns the game upside down. It also presents some interesting parallels with real life...
     
  10. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Hi jlvfr, can you please post a save-file of this game. This shortage of resources seems to be extraordinary. :eek:

    In the next version of CCM there will be many more units that substitute the lack of some resources. Per example in the industrial era you can build antitank-guns if you don´t have oil, and if you have oil you can upgrade them to tanks.
     
  11. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    There you go. I'm about to atack Turkey ;)

    shortage.sav

    Very cool idea. :goodjob:

    I'd also suggest another change, regarding Battlecruisers (WWII) and Battleships. BBs were much stronger, defensive-wise, than BCs, but in CCM the opposite happens. I would suggest dropping the BC defense down to 10 (barely above a heavy cruiser, to reflect the fact that they were indeed egg shells), while raising the BB's defense to 15. Increase the cost of BBs and decrease that of BCs. Maybe also drop the BC's attack to 17(13); they weren't quite as strong on ofensive as BBs.



    Edit: sorry for late reply, not getting email warnings from forum again... :cry:
     
  12. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    jlvfr, thank you very much for the save-file. :) The lack of oil on your continent is really impressive. On the other hand this is the price for having much grasland and plains and less desert and tundra on the continent. Having a look on the other continent, even on the unexplored terrain, the situation there is better.

    In CCM 1.8 the A/D values for battlecruisers and battleships vary. The rule of thumb is: BC and BB frequently have the same size of guns, but can differ in the number of guns. The big difference is that BC have only 2 additional hitpoints, while battleships have three additional hitpoints, meaning the batleships can take a much bigger number of hits than the battlecruiser, symbolizing the much better armor protection.
    Heavy cruisers in CCM 1.8 also have only two additional hitpoints but lower defense values than the battlecruisers.

    In the next version of CCM there are additional classes of superdreadnoughts, pocket battleships and super battleships in the era of WW2 - all with their own specific settings. :)
     
  13. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    I found another source of oil, near Lvov! Yay! Had been living in dread that the 1st one would run out...

    Can't wait! :D
     
  14. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Hi Civinator.

    I have been playing with the latest version of CCM (v.1.8 beta), and I have noticed the changes regarding unit support/cost for the various governments.

    I found the unit costs for Monarchy (3 gold/unit) too high.

    Especially for an AW game, Theocracy seems the only option right now. In my AW game, as long as I was in Monarchy, I had to turn off research if I wanted to keep in positive gpt. Things are better for a 'normal' game, where you can trade and take money from other civs.

    Of course Theocracy is not bad (Monasteries are great), but the Despotism penalty that applies makes it much less appealing than other governments (especially for a Golden Age).


    For the rest, the mod looks great. Keep up the good work :thumbsup:
     
  15. instans

    instans Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Tell me, how you made Supply Shipment? I open your mod in editor - and cant understand how.
     
  16. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Ray2, one more ime thank you very much for your kind words about CCM and a specially thank you very much for your thoughts about unit costs in CCM 1.8. This is the kind of feedback I strongly need for the future settings of CCM. :)

    In the next version of CCM the unit costs per turn are set to the old level again. On the other side the question is, what to do with all the big amount of money many civs are gathering in the later stages of the game.
     
  17. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Hi instans, welcome at CFC :band:[party] and thank you very much for your interest in CCM. Unfortunately at present I have next to no time to answer your question. There are two options to get this feature to work:

    The capture the flag-option, using the palace as target (better for random maps) and the reverse capture the flag option, using victory point locations (better for fixed maps as used in AoI). If you understand German, I explained it here: http://www.civforum.de/showthread.php?51905-Civinators-Modding-Ecke&p=2377140&viewfull=1#post2377140

    Even if you don´t understand German, this explanation can be useful as the screenshots in that post were done with the English C3C-editor.
     
  18. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    47

    I agree with this. The old cost/unit was more balanced.

    Just so you know, a comparison of Monarchy and Theocracy in my game: In Monarchy, around turn 200, I was paying 170 gpt more compared to Theocracy. That's a huge difference. In Monarchy I had to set research at 0%, while Theocracy could sustain a research of 60%.

    What you could do though is to change only the free units per town/city. For example, you could give more free units per town/city for Theocracy and Fascism, compared to other governments. So, someone would still choose Theocracy, for even a bigger military.

    About the huge amount of money of the AI, I don't know. It would be good to make the AI use the cash to rush units/buildings, especially if it is in war, but I am not sure if you can do that.
     
  19. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Civinator, I have noticed a bug (?) with the Kontors added by the Hanseatic League.

    Kontors add +1 gold to every water tile (visible in the city screen), BUT this +1 gold is not added in the beakers/commerce of each city (those numbers remain the same with Kontors or not).

    The above is easily verifiable if you gift the city with Hanseatic League, and compare numbers for commerce, in each city, before and after.

    It doesn't work like the Colossus for example. Maybe the 'increases trade in water' option in the editor is not working?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    EDIT: OK, after further investigation, probably there is no bug here.

    According to CivAssist, Kontors do add to science and commerce.

    It seems that the numbers shown in the city screen get messed up after gifting the city with the Hanseatic League, and the values remain the same. (Maybe the game needs some time to recalculate the numbers? :crazyeye:)

    Sorry about that :D
     
  20. Moosezilla

    Moosezilla Grognard Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canton of Roaring Waste
    Don't have much time, so I'm still waiting for CCMv2.0. Glad to see progress. later, happy holidays!
     

Share This Page