1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CCM2 Epic Mod

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Dec 23, 2017.

  1. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Yes, you are correct :yup:. I haven´t thought about the leader William of Orange, but on the resource Orange-trees. In earlier versions of CCM2 the leader images were connected to unit-entries, but this was changed since a longer time, when it was found out, that different images also can be used with concept-entries.
    The links in the text files were changed from units to concepts and the old unit entries for leaders in the biq were overwritten with other units (mostly early steam ships). If installed properly all leader images with concept-links are working properly.

    Edit: I think I have found the problem. There is also the king unit of William of Orange - that in CCM2 is never used (as the king-flag of the editor in CCM2 is used for other options) - and the pediaicons entry of that king unit uses those entries instead of the original C3C entries. This very small problem is fixed now in the new pediaicons file I have attached some posts below.



    Orange trees in fact are not used in CCM2, but they are an option for a resource in desert terrain, appearing in the CCM2 worldmap scenario, coming with tech 'refrigeration' (that also is not appearing in the normal CCM2 techtree).
    Spoiler :



     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 21, 2019
  2. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    LKendter, can you please say, what files are missing, so they can be added for an update or a patch?

    This is noted for an update of the text files.
     
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    lafao, thank you very much for reporting this error. :) WW2 Global Gold, that in the future can also be played with the files of CCM2, uses the correct name 'Hawk 75' for that unit, so it is not doublicated in the CCM2 files with the name 'Early Fighter' any longer, but there must be changed an entry for that unit in the pediaicons file. I attache a new version of the CCM2 pediaicons file with the changed entry (holding also the other changed entries for fixes of errors, that were reported in this thread) to this post. Simply replace that pediaicons file and you can continue your game (a change of the civilopedia entry is not necessairy).


    A big thank you very much to tjs282, who explained it better than I could have done it. :thumbsup:

    Yes, this is completely intented. :yup: In my eyes the barracks are the most powerful buildings in Civ 3, so it made a lot of sense to differentiate here: There are governments that can build them later with normal improvements in every city (like monarchy, fascism, communism and theocracy), but they have less economic power, as they invest such a lot of their income in their military.

    The two most frequent errors here are:

    a) Victory point scoring is not activated in your game
    b) The supply shipment must be escorted when doing its last move into the capital (the 'convoy button' of the escort unit must be pressed, when in the same tile as the supply shipment.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 21, 2019
  4. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    The Capitol can definitely been built in CCM2, if the necessairy perequisite exists, in that case point 1 of tjs282´s excellent answer. You don´t have enough cities yet, to build it. The civilopedia entry of the Capitol should be improved (and a superfluos link here can be eliminated).
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2019
  5. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Estimated download time: 23 hours, 40 minutes! Oouch!!! :eek: :sad:

    I want Civinators internet access.:lol:
     
  6. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    In the first seconds I also received a message about an estimated download time of more than one day, but this soon relativated to the download time of 9 minutes and another test download I made earlier in that day of 8 minutes in the end.
     
  7. bartdanr

    bartdanr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I may be a bit slow, but is there a real world map available yet on this mod?
     
  8. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Still wish I had your internet connection. ;)

    My PC lowered its guess of the download time to 9 hours after a while, but the download broke up twice last night.

    Our internet is just to slow and unstable. :(
     
  9. XTC

    XTC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    @tjs282 thanks for thinking about my "Capitol-building" problem. But I don't know how to look at the biq-file. I am already glad to have the mod up and running. I am not so into computers that I understand files. Anyway, that problem is solved now.

    @Civinator thanks for the answer for the Capitol. I just had my 35th city and I got the message that my people wanted the Capital. So for the largest map the needed number of cities is 35

    3 more things:

    According to the Civilopedia the Balloon can be upgraded to the Zeppelin. However when I discovered "Scientific Method" I couldn't make that upgrade. Then I thought maybe an Airport is needed, but even with an Airport I am still stuck with those Balloons....

    I am with Egypt in the Industrial Ages, but the flag looks more a Turkish one. Is that correct?

    With CCM 2.0 I conquered a Canadian city which was filled with dozens camels. Strangely Canada didn't the free upgrade to a "camel warrior". I had to slauther those poor animals. With this CCM 2.5 again I wanted to conquer a city filled with those camels, this time it were the Koreans. This time I took a more gentle approach by sending lawyers to those beasts so I could turn some of them in great artists, but it is still strange why the AI doesn;t make the free upgrade.


    Egypt Flag.jpg
     
  10. tjs282

    tjs282 Un(a)bashed immigrant

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,469
    Location:
    ...just here for the job/ handouts/ woman
    But.. but... you don't need to understand files, or code (I don't understand code!). All you 'need' to do is start up the Civ3Conquests Editor, which should already be included in your .../Civilization3/Conquests/ directory. The Editor-file is called Civ3ConquestsEdit.exe, and the icon for it (on my setup) looks like this:

    conquests editor icon.png

    Double-click to open it. Then go to the 'File: Open file' menu, select the .biq (ruleset) file for CCM2 (or for whichever mod you want to look at), go to 'Rules: Edit rules', and then you'll be able to see all the settings in that .biq, for all the Civs, units, buildings, governments, terrain ... everything
    Spoiler Large image :
    conquests editor rules tabs.png
    The Editor-Help button can tell you what 99% of the individual settings do (although not how they might interact with one another).

    If the .biq is already working as it should, and all you wanted to do was satisfy your curiosity about the 'hidden' settings, once you've done that, you can simply close the Editor, without saving.

    But if the .biq 'needs' tweaking (IYHO! Does not apply to CCM2! ;) ), you could change whatever you want to, save the edited file (preferably under a new name, so you don't over-write the original!), and close the Editor when you're done. Modding Civ3 really can be that simple!
     
  11. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    XTC, according to the civilopedia, the balloon is becoming obsolete with tech Scientific Method, when Zeppelins can be built. Obsolescence means, the unit simply dissapears from the build chain - it cannot be upgraded. It´s the same with battleships and some other units. Nothing can be done against the irritating hardcoded upgrade entry in the second part of the civilopedia. You should trust the individual written civilopedia entry in the text part.

    The reason, why the balloons should not be upgraded, is to avoid a confrontation of all these wonderful ships (without anti-aircraft guns) in the early era 3 with hordes of Zeppelins that can be achieved by a lot of prebuilt balloons.



    Yes, this is correct. :yup: rhodie did the flags and explained them for all 4 eras in the civilopedia:



    It seems, those civs didn´t build a facility (with the 'barracks'-flag) where they were able to upgrade those camels. May be I should reduce the building costs for the desert fortress in the next version of the biq. :think:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
  12. XTC

    XTC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks tjs282, I will use the editor next time and thanks Civinator for the explanations. I was hoping to upgrade those balloons to Zeppelins to use for a massive attack, but alas.....now I will "blow up" those balloons ;)
     
  13. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    So in general every C3C worldmap can be imported to CCM1 and CCM2, there will be mostly tons of conflicts at least with the placement of resources and the use of special terrain. I´m working on a worldmap for CCM2, starting in era 2 of CCM2 (Age of Discovery), but this is a very ambitious project.
     
  14. Ray2

    Ray2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Hi Civinator. I started a game with CCM2.50, and so far it looks great :thumbsup:.

    A few things:

    - I like the limitation of early naval units not being able to enter sea and ocean tiles anymore. Now the School of Navigators becomes extremely important for early contact with other continents. However I think the description of the various early naval units should be updated.

    - I noticed that you can build a Great Rel. center, even if you don't have a Religious center in a city.

    - Remove the 'Coal appears on the map' entry under Steam Power.

    - Steam engines now require coal in the city's radius. Is this intentional?

    - A strange thing in my game: During the Age of Discovery I was able suddenly to build Elephants even if I didn't have the required resource. After a few turns I didn't have the option anymore. (I have attached a save if you are interested.)

    EDIT: War Memorial has the wrong description (that of the old Library?).
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
  15. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    First I want to say all civers in this thread a big 'Thank you very much' for your kind words about CCM2. :)

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Such an update will be a greater amount of work and I decided to do it, when it is sure that these changes will stay, as it wouldn´t be productive to do all these changes in many civilopedia entries and than to change them back later. One of the observations I made, was the - very rare - crushing of those ships into my harbor towns, declaring war to me with that action ( a kind of the privateer bug, but with no privateers in the harbor town).

    In CCM2.50 temples go obsolete in late era 2, as I found it annoying, to have them still as a choice for construction in era 3 and era 4, especially as now religious communities also provide one additional happiness and some 'normal' religious buildings were needed that can be boosted with the religious art SWs (yes, sometimes the thoughts behind the design are complicated :)). On the other side, 3 temples are the prerequisite for a religious community, what in earlier versions of CCM2 was a prerequisite for the religious center. So I decided for the early version of CCM2.50, not to use any of these buildings as a prerequisite for each other. As the current games show, that religious communities even can be built, when temples are going obsolete and the prerequisite of three temples was fullfilled in the past, I think in the next version of the CCM2.50 biq, this chain of prerequisite buildings can be introduced again.

    Both errors were reported some posts above and will be fixed.

    Thank you very much for attaching the save file, that uncovered an error in the setting of war elephants. :) In CCM2.50 most resources were reordered, to be better shaped to resist the phantom resources bug. The same happened to the resources of the RARR mod, too, what had a very small problem with that bug, triggered by a resource that no civ had access to, but with its sheer presence in the biq was able to trigger that bug (RAR had the same problem).

    As war elephants are, as far as I remember, the only unit that needs a luxury resource as its prerequisite, this reordering of the resources triggered an error for this unit. War elephants in the current biq now need the resource spices instead of the resource elephants (ivory). This error will be fixed with the next version of the biq.
     
  16. XTC

    XTC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    The Arabian Rifleman and the Arabian Infantry WWI look the same. In the enclosed picture the Rifleman is standing north, the Infantry is standing south.


    Arabian Infantry & Rifleman.jpg

    About those camels is previous post. The capital of Korea (which can upgrade a unit) was quite close (5 terrain fields away, with a road) to the city filled with those animals.
     
  17. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Yes, they are looking very identically, but may be the Arabian Infantry WWI has better bullets in his gun. :D O.k. enough joking, thank you very much for reporting this fact :) and I will see what I can do without the upload of another unit.

    There was a mistake in my last answer about the camel problems. I forgot that the camels are autoproduced in a city that holds the facility of upgrading units (the desert fortress), so a missing upgrading facility cannot be the problem. The Koreans even have a camel unit that should be available to them, so I must have a deeper look into the biq what could be running wrong here. On the other hand sometimes things happen in Civ 3 that cannot be explained normally.
     
    jlvfr and XTC like this.
  18. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    I'm able to build "Luxury liners" which the pedia says are only autoproduced by the "Blue Riband"...
     
  19. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    :yup: Yes, I noticed that error in my current testgame, too. The 'reordering' of the resources made the resource that cannot be achieved by any civ to disappear from that unit. I use this method to show a unit in the techbox of a certain tech, that cannot been built normally, but only can be received by upgrading another unit.
     
  20. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,910
    Until now nobody did show here some screenshots about the look of the cities in their games. So here is a screenshot about the city of Antwerp in my current CCM2.50 game in era 3. From the special buildings in that city you can see the GW National Monument, the SW Heavy Tank Plant and the normal buildings Railyard, Gasholder, Hospital, Factory, Stock Exchange, Power Plant, Dock Yards, Courthouse, Administration Center, War Memorial, Theater, Opera, Aqueduct, Collosseum, Cathedral (Great Rel.Center), Academy, Clock Tower, Market Place, Forge, Bank, Harbor, Church (Rel.Center), Wind Mill (very hidden), Observatory and a plane symbolizing an Airport.

    May be some other civers will show some screenshots of cities in their games, too. :)

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019
    fuad likes this.

Share This Page