1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Challenge: A Billion of People!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by micbic, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I thought about this challenge as Rome also, and Mediolanum sucks compared to some of the better options.

    But you could always let the Celts take it back and then raze it if you really want to use another location. That's a pretty big stability hit though that you'll have to live with permanently through the challenge.
     
  2. Adjacent Badger

    Adjacent Badger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I thought about that, but It's not worth it. Alternatively disband it when it revolts to me, but it would make life a pain for my workers until then.
    I'd rather build Pompeii, that leaves Mediolanum a decent space.

    By the way. How much does the stability suffer when you give/liberate cities to your vassals?
     
  3. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    That's not actually an option, because the city doesn't flip to your culture, it flips to your spawn zone. You only get an option to raze cities that flip to your culture, not your spawn.
     
  4. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,262
    Location:
    Taipei
    Trying Babylon. Founded NINUA (much better than Babylon), sent two warriors to pop goody huts eastward, one to west; popped math in southern China (very lucky). War with India so they won't build Oracle soon. Befriended with Persia, Greece, Rome and Egypt until got enough techs from them. Disbanded Shushan. Oracle for Theology, Christianity founded in Jerusalem. Couldn't raze Sur upon conquering. These 2 cities is crap, and will flip to Arabs... I built nothing except the Church of the Nativity.

    After finished the Colosseum, began conquering. First Persia, then Greece. AI kept founding cities in crap spot like Pella (what a waste of that sheep), and Egypt founded 2 cities only 2 spots away to their capital, discouraging me to conquer them... I plan to settle America in late game so I should raze cities as few as possible.
     
  5. Soda

    Soda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Here's a cheat sheet that should help with this challenge. Rename it to a .csv and open in your favorite spreadsheet. It shows the maximum food production (not counting sushi or cereal) for each city site, with these health adjustments (since these won't be the same from city to city):

    - no fresh water = -2
    - not coastal = -3 (can't build lighthouse)
    - flood plains in area = -0.4 per flood plain

    A plot that says "80" theoretically corresponds to a size 40 city, but in reality, you're going to have sushi and you're probably going to reach 1 billion before any of your cities maxes out. So this information is mainly useful for comparing different city locations.

    It's possible that there are some mistakes, but I've checked the calculation on most of the really big sites and they look okay. The numbers assume that all flat plains and grasslands can be irrigated, which is not the case, but I don't think that affects any of the biggest sites. Also, I didn't add the one bonus food from supermarkets, but that's constant across cities anyway.

    These values count the resources that are added up to 1700. The 1850 resources weren't included.
     

    Attached Files:

    • food.txt
      File size:
      21.2 KB
      Views:
      267
  6. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    I think you meant "harbor" instead of "lighthouse."
    And yes, all plains and grasslands can be irrigated after biology.
     
  7. Wessel V1

    Wessel V1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,411
    Location:
    Nijmegen
    Except those that can never reach fresh water, obviously. Never thought that a city in Germany can be in fact even larger than the mighty US cities. Definitely worth trying as the French I'd say.
     
  8. Llama231

    Llama231 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    I seem to be having trouble reading the map, is the 86 city Amiens?
     
  9. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Hammers=100% gold/culture/science
    Now if only one can turn production into people...:)
     
  10. Soda

    Soda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Yes, 86 is Amiens.

    RFC switches the names of Harbor and Lighthouse. The building that increases health (and trade route income) is Lighthouse in RFC.
     
  11. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,628
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Accually, RFC swaps the features of those buildings. The required techs, the art, the name etc. are the same. :smug:
     
  12. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    I'm sorry, I thought you can't build EITHER one (lighthouse or harbor) if you're not on coast. And I thought that you get more population from the harbor(food) than the lighthouse (health).
    Then again, I haven't played RFC for close to 2 months now, so I'm a little rusty.:)
     
  13. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    You know, I get the trade bonus, but how to lighthouses make your population more healthy? :confused:
     
  14. killerkebab

    killerkebab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    +1 health from various seaborne resources that every empire in RFC should have, such as fish :)
     
  15. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Secular Humanist

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Because more ships can come in and give you fish which makes you have a better diet.
     
  16. morff

    morff Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    I did this as Bismark / German people (please note Emperor difficulty, Beyond the Sword version, latest patches). It wasn't easy, though i reached 1 BILLION in 1995 or so. I'm not sure if its possible without corporations (which are only in BTS AFAIK, but probably yes), aka Sushi and Co. I didn't finished the game yet, but i will, and then i'll send you screen. I'm trying currently reach maximum population and global control for fun :] (i won historical).
    Currently im on 40 with Danzig, but London, Inverness, and Tours for example aren't fully developed yet. Also the main reason why i didn't finished yet was nuclear war in '95 or so :) Which as you know means global warning, and that's absolutely no good for this kind of stuff.

    BTW: Suggestion to other challenge: did you ever build / get all possible wonders (which means: possible wonders from 600: Notre dame, Learning Tower, Spiral Minaret, University of Sankore, Wat Preah Pisnulok, and all the other) on emperor difficulty? (From later start.) It's pretty tough i think, i did it after literally few years of playing :)) In my game i've build everything except Notre Dam (build before i started in 840 in Constantinople), which i conquered from Byzantine empire ASAP.

    Now it's the other part, i actually cheated a bit (or changed the rules), because i played it as custom scenario with technology brokering, and some stability logging (which can cause some random bugs, but _hopefully_ doesn't - and i did it because i needed to understand the stability exactly - like running representation + bureaucracy with 20+ cities and similar extreme stuff without loosing stability). And i used save / load plus minus normally. It shouldn't affect the game rules a lot (you know the tech. brokering was enabled in prev. versions.)... anyway i'll try it later with vanilla version / settings later, but unfortunately i don't have any time for this in near future.

    So good luck and have fun. (Screens later, i currently doesn't have access to them.)
     
  17. killerkebab

    killerkebab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    There should already be a thread for 100% wonders. I believe someone has done it before as Greece.

    I don't know if someone has done it for a 600AD start, though.
     
  18. Gem Hound

    Gem Hound Mercenary

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,594
    Location:
    In the dark
    I'm attempting this as the Egyptians on Monarch. Going to see if I can get to 1 billion Egyptians. :D

    Edit: Nope. It continuously crashes on turn 137 - the turn after I discover Iron Working. This is a picture of the autosave on turn 136.

    Pressed enter to move on to the next turn:

    Did it 10 times in a row. >_<
    Well, I'll try this again some other time. I'll go and make some Civs for my new mod that I'm starting to make.
     
  19. JujuLautre

    JujuLautre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
    Post a save more than screenshots; only with a save can people track a potential bug
     
  20. morff

    morff Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Quick question: what about 2 billions? :cool: I'm trying but it's hard, because nobody wants share all, so only option is resource wars, which hurting my stability. Currently my population is 1.8 billion (year 2050).
     

Share This Page