1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Changes not documented (or obvious) in patch notes

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Krajzen, Feb 14, 2019.

  1. ExemplarVoss

    ExemplarVoss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Yes. It's also incredibly annoying. 'Where I was last time' is not where I want it to default.

    ----

    The minimum settling distance hasn't changed, right? Because France somehow did this in my current game:
    Rules Violation.jpg
    Mind you, I don't know why the AI would even _want_ to do that. It's a terrible city site.
     
  2. Banazir864

    Banazir864 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    IIRC, that limit doesn't apply when the cities are on different landmasses.
     
    Kjimmet, Our_DeCay, tedhebert and 2 others like this.
  3. ZeroSuitSenpai

    ZeroSuitSenpai Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Am I crazy or did you need to complete the relevant tech to get the resource yield from a tile you settled your cap on before? I settled on tea and I already have a copy of tea to trade on turn 2. No irrigation. Can confirm from a second test I got a copy of Mercury from settling on it with no mining too. Is this changed?
     
  4. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    That's consistent with R&F. Probably vanilla, too, as I don't remember this being a change, but not 100% certain.

    This makes settling on a luxury a good strategy if playing the mid-tier difficulty levels. Less likely to be useful on Immortal or Deity as your starting neighbour will almost certainly declare war on you in the ancient era and thus not be available to trade your luxury to, but sometimes you can get lucky and get a few gold out of them before the war starts.
     
    ZeroSuitSenpai likes this.
  5. ZeroSuitSenpai

    ZeroSuitSenpai Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Wowwww LOL I have been playing wrong all this time. I really thought you had to have the tech before you got the yield.
     
    Our_DeCay likes this.
  6. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    That's because you were thinking logically. :)
     
  7. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,114
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    It's always a good idea to use the Continents lens.
     
  8. ExemplarVoss

    ExemplarVoss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Meh. It's a better idea if minimum settler distance is more clearly documented. I was just under the impression that was a universal rule, especially given how random and arbitrary continent divisions are.
     
  9. DWilson

    DWilson Where am I? What turn is it?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,279
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    My understanding is this is not based on continent, but rather land mass.
     
  10. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,114
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    That makes things even more confusing.
     
  11. ExemplarVoss

    ExemplarVoss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    :crazyeye:

    Not aimed at you, just... the weird nonsense in some of these subsystems.
     
  12. tedhebert

    tedhebert Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I'm unable to call an emergency session against genghis in my game, who took my CS, because 'There hasn't been enough time since the last emergency session'...

    There is no information anywhere that I've looked as to how many turns I'd have to wait... the message doesn't tell me even when I mouse over it, civilopedia, wikis...

    Anyways, don't think I've read about this before, so I thought I'd let you know. If I find out the exact timing needing between emergency sessions, I'll let you know. For now, I assume it'll be
    when the 30 turns preceding emergency is over...

    ***Edit: Actuellay to be clearer, the message says that a SPECIAL SESSION cannot be called so soon after one was taken... so maybe not just emergencies ***
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2019
    WillowBrook likes this.
  13. Equilin

    Equilin Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    That's probably a hangover from Civ5 since it's the case there.
    Also OP, can you please put a link to patch notes (base-RF and GS too) so someone like me can know which change is already there.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2019
  14. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Whatever other strengths Civ 6 may have, documentation of the rules is not one of them! :lol:
     
    TheMeInTeam likes this.
  15. Ziad

    Ziad Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,457
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Am I crazy or do Dido's builders also get +2 movement and +2 sight while embarked?

    2 games and I still can't tell. :crazyeye:
     
  16. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,311
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Do you even physics?
    When sea levels rise, embarked units float higher, and so they can see further out to sea.
     
  17. SaiH

    SaiH Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Austria
    Yes, -18 diplo penalty still does exist. And as far as I have tested it, it works the same way as before. If you give at least one city back in the peace deal, the modifier is not applied.
     
  18. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Civ IV Emperor EQM Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ah hah, that's whats going on - could not work it out for the life of me !
     
  19. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Civ IV Emperor EQM Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Except the number is usually hopelessly wrong ......
     
    Siptah likes this.
  20. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Civ IV Emperor EQM Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Being able to settle on different land masses despite not being minimum distance hasn't changed since at least Civ IV :)
     

Share This Page