1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4 BTS v3.19 Patch

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Speaker, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. Solver

    Solver Civ4/5 beta tester

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    Good to see this one. I'm standing by now to see if there are some reports of unexpected behaviour.
     
  2. peteraske

    peteraske Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Weird. I get the "No updates available at this time" from in-game. Guess I have to download it and force it on..
     
  3. Tholish

    Tholish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Location:
    Japan
    Yeah, me too. Bad marketing decision. They should have waited.
    Anyway, WinMerge time. I've never used it on .cv or .cy files, I wonder if it messes them up.
     
  4. phungus420

    phungus420 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    It works. But much like Python, sometimes it gets confused by code changes and you have to edit it manually. But so long as the changes are distinct and can be easily cut and pasted, winmerge works just fine.
     
  5. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,830
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    And I have to put in my own credits ...

    - special thanks to Ruff_Hi for fixing the map script that his original v3.17 changes screwed up :D
     
  6. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
  7. The_Triturador

    The_Triturador Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Peru
    Oh god!! :eek: I'll have to merge all SDK, XML and Python files to upgrade my MOD :crazyeye:

    I just hope this new patch is worth its size :lol:
     
  8. kooboo

    kooboo Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Wow, new patch!
    I'm looking forward for Civ I patch now :lol:

    j/k, great job Firaxis :D
     
  9. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    :woohoo::run:

    Booty dance! Uh! Booty dance!

    So I've been on a multi-hour safari through the new SDK code, and I've discovered some really tasty bits. They've moved a rather substantial amount of interface stuff to the DLL.

    And while the dreaded gamefonts continues to exist, we now have a lot more control over them! In fact, if what I'm seeing is right, we can add our own fonts for any new info types we might add. So if you wanted to have Sects as distinct from Religions, you could now have fonts for them. Or if you wanted Ideologies, you could do that too.

    There's a number of other nifty stuff that's been exposed, but to be honest, I'm not sure how to apply them yet.

    Unfortunately, they didn't fix the one thing I really wanted which was to expose more of the diplomacy code to the DLL... but oh well.
     
  10. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Since we have a lot more control over the game fonts... do you think it might be possible for modders in the future to remove them completely? For now it doesn't impact me much since I pretty much plan to never touch those files again, but if I do any major mods after I finish Star Trek, it could become an issue.
     
  11. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,894
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    So, does 3.19 make BTS and Complete compatible for MP purposes, or does this mean that I need to patch comnplete already?
     
  12. VoiceOfUnreason

    VoiceOfUnreason Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,663
    Oh Sweet!

    Code:
    // add floodplains to any desert tiles the new river passes through
    
     
  13. Balderstrom

    Balderstrom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    2KGames prolly made some money on Civ4: Complete and were able to pay the Civ4 Devs ;-)
     
  14. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    deanej: Depends on what you mean by "remove them completely"... if you mean, have food appear as the word "Food" as opposed to :food:, or "Hammers" instead of :hammers:, then yes. That's pretty much always been possible.

    If you mean have it pull from some DDS file, then no. I don't think that'll ever be possible.
     
  15. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    I kinda wish they'd chucked some of the interface goodies from Colonization into this, but I guess they have all sorts of reasons why they can't or wouldn't do that.
     
  16. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Which ones? Graphics like the reflective water or round minimap, or are you talking about functional UI changes?
     
  17. JujuLautre

    JujuLautre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
    Where did you see that VoU ?
     
  18. Jabarto

    Jabarto Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,023
    Location:
    Colorado, U.S.
    And here I thought that Firaxis had left us to the wolves! I'm certainly pleased to see this. Although you guys really should have patched in a Pro/Org civ...
     
  19. VoiceOfUnreason

    VoiceOfUnreason Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,663
    CvGame.normalizeAddRiver (CvGame.cpp)

    One thing I find very odd is that there are a lot of cosmetic changes to the code - as though the team had a new coding standards nazi, albeit one who knows a little bit about C++.
     
  20. Speaker

    Speaker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,097
    Location:
    Section 1
    ....no more of the dreaded "Desert River" tiles when there is a resources on the river? This would be amazing, if they finally fixed that.
     

Share This Page