1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5 - shipping with Steamworks * plus Digital Deluxe Edition

Discussion in 'News Updates' started by V. Soma, May 6, 2010.

  1. 2K Elizabeth

    2K Elizabeth <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Novato, CA
    Never fear - you will be able to buy Civ V through places besides Steam. We're going to have retail copies. We'll still be using Steam within those retail copies, but you can purchase through multiple channels (like your local store.)
     
  2. topsecret

    topsecret Believer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Headquarters
    Sorry wrong post
     
  3. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes people are having a paraniod reaction here, no were does this say that Civ5 will only be available on Steam, that would be a very bad idea to give up retial sales. Yes it does likely mean that Steam will be the DRM method and that you likely will have to login once within X days to authenicate the game.

    But even that doesn't mean you even have to install the steam client although I'm sure they will encourage you too.

    But the OP is right, they dangling a carrot in front of you to get you to buy into the steam way of doing things. And that is all.

    CS
     
  4. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Exactly. And similar comments are just keep coming

    I myself playing civ since I was 8, nearly for 15 years now.
    Have all the previous versions and expansions...

    When I said earlier you will lose 50% of the core civ players, I was talking about 50% of these people
    Half of the true fans, who are with the series from the very first steps...
     
  5. 2K Elizabeth

    2K Elizabeth <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Novato, CA
    You'll need to have Steamworks to install the game (it's part of the process) but once you have the game on your machine you'll be able to play without an internet connection. Persistent internet isn't mandatory!
     
  6. Jarvi

    Jarvi Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Yes, the true fans. The people who have been with this civ series from the start. The ones who are going to buy this game and have a lot of fun with it. It's going to be awesome.
     
  7. Pakhawaj

    Pakhawaj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    I'm sorry if this has already been covered, but what's Steam?
    Will I need the internet to run it?
    Someone said earlier in this thread that it slows down the computer, I have two and a half GB of ram, will I be affected badly?
     
  8. Aesir Rising

    Aesir Rising Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    You are incorrect. If you want to play this game, you will be required (not "encouraged") to install Steam. You will not be able to uninstall Steam after initial installation if you wish to play this game.

    You should learn more about "Steam client", "offline mode" and it's problems and limitations, and "Steamworks" before posting about these concepts/systems.
     
  9. 2K Elizabeth

    2K Elizabeth <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Novato, CA
    www.steampowered.com will give you a better oversight of what Steam is. It's a method of helping us install the game but more importantly a hub that will help serve the community, updates, mods, and a whole bunch of other cool stuff.

    I have a laptop that is fairly underpowered and Steam does run on it. I know that previous iterations of Steam have been troublesome (years ago when it began, there were major glitches) but it has much improved. I do not believe Steam will bog down your machine while playing Civ V - we wouldn't build the game that way, anyway!
     
  10. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Canada
    Perhaps, but you can place steam in off line mode afte the game has been authencated once. Steam is not that big of a deal, it doesn't look at your computer, or send non game data to the server. The only people that have to worry about steam are the hackers that try and pirate the game and get caught by the VAC system. For the rest of us it is just the cost of modern DRM. Not a game stopper for enjoying the next iteration of the Civ franchise.

    CS
     
  11. Bluekkis

    Bluekkis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    Sucks.. Well I'm not buying now. Not because of steam, I don't have any major problems with it even though I don't like it. But what ticks me off is the introduction of separate DLC stuff that you have to pay extra for. I'm not paying for a fragmented platform just so you can sell more pieces now and then. I would buy the game and proper expansions once a year or so but the very idea of macro sales is what I hate. Keep the game, I'll stay on Civ4.
     
  12. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Jarvi I don't care what you are saying
    The fact is almost none of the traditional civ players like the forced steam
    And yes, many of them won't buy it this way, even if they are one of the biggest fans

    Anyway, you are just a paid **** by Steam to advertise this
    You registered right after this news of civ+steam came up
    And have all your post in the steam threads
    Uhh, what a coincidence :p
     
  13. Fosse

    Fosse Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Thank you. However, my question was not about a persistent internet connection. Rather, I'd like to know if the game will install and play without ever having to check in with distant servers to "authenticate" itself.

    So, in this context, does "having Steamworks" mean that I could install and play a retail copy of the game without my computer being connected to the internet at all? My understanding is that I would not be able to, and thus will not buy the game.

    However, I realize that I could be mistaken, and that Steamworks will possibly be some software bundled with the game that -- were it to connect to its servers -- would give me access to a number of features that I'm not particularly interested in having. And that I would therefore be able to play the boxed game ten years from now (I still play SMAC), even if Valve and Firaxis were to both go the way of Microprose.
     
  14. Bad Brett

    Bad Brett King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    828
    This is the problem - You have to STOP it from doing stuff automatically. As the master of my computer, I shouldn't have to manually disable "features" to stop the program from going online and do stuff against my will.

    I don't use any Anti-Virus software because of this. I won't even let Facebook install that photo uploader. I've manually removed tons of viruses from different computers, but I can honestly say that none of them have been harder to remove than Steam, Norton Anti-Virus or any software from Adobe. They leave traces that mess up your registry.

    I really miss the old MS-DOS days, when you had complete control over everything.

    When I buy something, I want to able to hold it in my hands and say "Finally, it's MINE". I shouldn't have to go online to use it, in fact I usually play on a computer that doens't even have Internet connection (it's refreshing).

    Of course Steam should be an option, but to someone who has played Civ for almost 20 years, its a huge disapointment.

    Like I've said before, I've wasted money on Civ: Col and Railroads! and I'm not going to do the same mistake again if they are going to force me to put that garbage on my harddrive.
     
  15. TCMIV

    TCMIV Barış Manço

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Oregon
    I love how people act like steam is some kind of virus, and allowing it to update your games hassle free is going to ruin your computer.








    Steam is actually a hidden message that activates your computers true identity as . . .


    A CYLON. :eek:

    Anyone who doesn't buy this game because of steam has probably never tried it (or not within the past year at least)
     
  16. Jarvi

    Jarvi Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Steam broke into my house at night and stole my tv, I'll never install it again.
     
  17. 2K Elizabeth

    2K Elizabeth <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Novato, CA
    You'll have to activate the game on installation, so yes, you'll need an internet connection once. As for playing the game in the future, I think Firaxis is an awesome example of a dev who is committed to their fans and the Civ games (as you certainly know) definitely stand the test of time. We know that, and we don't want that to change.
     
  18. Mathalamus

    Mathalamus Emperor of Mathalia

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6,608
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary.
    if steam does stuff that you do not want but cannot disable, it is a virus.
     
  19. topsecret

    topsecret Believer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Headquarters
    :lol:
    this thread is really popular
    +4,000 views :wow:
    Anyway steam should be optional
     
  20. TCMIV

    TCMIV Barış Manço

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Oregon
    "A computer virus is a computer program that can copy itself and infect a computer."

    Wrong.

    Also, you can turn off steam's automatic game updates, not sure why everyone is saying you can't.

    Here's a screenshot of my personal BTS game properties on steam, updates tab allows you to turn off automatic game updates.

     

Share This Page