1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[NFP] Civilization VI: Possible New Civilizations Thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Eagle Pursuit, May 11, 2020.

  1. Navelgazer

    Navelgazer King

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    Sioux would also be a great addition, though the most likely leaders (Red Cloud and Sitting Bull) both have some trouble connected with them, most notably that Sioux leadership was never monolithic or centralized, except in the minds of Americans intent on moving them to reservations.
     
  2. Left Field

    Left Field Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    We have already had Portugal in previous versions, isn't it time for something different?:lol:

    Surely Aragon would be a better option than Navarre, Aragon ruled most of Southern Europe including Catalonia, Corsica, Sicily, Sardinia, Malta, and Greece at various stages before the union with Castille, and the Crown of Aragon existed until the early 18th century.
     
  3. Uberfrog

    Uberfrog Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Fortunately Justinian wasn’t Greek :)

    I’m also not sure why Istanbul/Constantinople is an issue. Istanbul was the capital of the Ottoman Empire for 470 years... it’d be kind of weird not to have it as a city in the game.

    Having Mehmed rule from Edirne (aka Adrianople) doesn’t exactly prevent a clash with the Roman/Byzantine city list anyway.
     
  4. Kimiimaro

    Kimiimaro King

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Messages:
    3,698
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paskov
    Unfortunately, his period would get represented for the fourth time in a row. Make place for Herakleios this time :p Or Basil II Bulgaroktonos. Or some Komnenos. Or maybe Michael VIII Palaiologos...
     
    Thenewwwguy, Zaarin and Uberfrog like this.
  5. Morningcalm

    Morningcalm Keeper of Records

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,075
    Location:
    Abroad
    I would love to see Sitting Bull with religion and combat bonuses. :)

    For Byzantium I don't necessarily care who we get. People have been clamoring for a more "Greek" medieval Byzantine ruler, but we have plenty of Greeks in Civ VI and I would rather see the more Roman Constantine (speaking Latin), Justinian (speaking badly accented Greek or decent Latin), or Theodora (speaking decent Greek).

    I'm more excited overall for what Near East civs we will get from among Babylon, Assyria, Palmyra, and/or the Hittites. Civ VI overall could use more ancient leaders.
     
    TahamiTsunami likes this.
  6. Thenewwwguy

    Thenewwwguy Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    1,326
    Gender:
    Male
    you can just remove adrianoole from the byzantine city list, which is much easier than omitting constantinople from the byzantine city lost. It’s not as big of a deal as the constantinople/istanbul clash


    my other idea would be to have byzantium and ottomans lock each other out without manual override like duplicate civs normally do, so that the city lists never clash
     
  7. AntSou

    AntSou Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,313
    Babylon might be this iteration's One City Challenge.

    Idea:
    May not Settle new cities.

    May conquer City-States. Retains Suzerainty bonus of conquered City States.

    Minus 1 Amenity in every city for each conquered City which is not a city-state.
    ---

    On a different point, if Ethiopia doesn't get a 20th century leader, that would open the opportunity for Botswana to be represented in the game as a Modern Civ option.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2020
    Alexander's Hetaroi and Metecury like this.
  8. Alexander's Hetaroi

    Alexander's Hetaroi Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,813
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    Having both Constantinople and Istanbul in the game has never been a problem. so I'm not sure why it would be now.
    I mean Mexico city and Tenochtitlan are in the game as well now as Vatican City and Rome. It would be different if they shared the same name but they don't.
     
  9. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,834
    Because some players are concerned with TSL maps, I guess. I really doubt that Firaxis would skip Byzantium because of that, though.
     
    Zaarin and Eagle Pursuit like this.
  10. Alexander's Hetaroi

    Alexander's Hetaroi Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,813
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    There have been TSL maps with Pericles, Gorgo and Alexander on them. Arabia, Egypt an Nubia start on top of each other as well. I'm sure it will be worked around.
     
    Zaarin and VermelhoRed like this.
  11. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,834
    Or Byzantium and Ottomans will start next to each other. I don't much care since I think TSL is silly, but some folks around here do. I guess maybe they just shouldn't enable both at once!
     
    Zaarin likes this.
  12. VermelhoRed

    VermelhoRed Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Brasil
    One City Challenge civs really don't work for Civ VI, due to districts and wonders occupying tiles. Venice was interesting but had a big enough drawback in Civ V, this Babylon proposition of yours looks even worse.
     
  13. AntSou

    AntSou Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,313
    Babylon's cities may work up to 4 tiles away.
     
  14. Zaarin

    Zaarin Chief Medical Officer, DS9

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,413
    Location:
    Terok Nor
    I agree, but Aragon is also less distinct from Spain as a unit. The only way I can see Aragon being made its own civ is if Castille is also made its own civ, with no unified Spain. I don't think that would be a popular choice. I think Aragon's best bet is an Aragonese leader for Spain.
     
    Left Field and VermelhoRed like this.
  15. Thenewwwguy

    Thenewwwguy Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    1,326
    Gender:
    Male
    The vatican is inside rome, and mexico city was built on top of tenochtitlan, so it’s not the same city


    on the other hand, constantinople and Istanbul are literally the same city
     
  16. Josephias

    Josephias Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,008
    Not actually, following your logic, Istambul was a specific Neighbourhood from Constantinople, that grow to name the whole city, so it can be assimilated the Vatican example.
     
    Zaarin likes this.
  17. luigilime

    luigilime Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Udine, Italy
    Vatican was a fortified borough of Rome since the italian unification, then it became a separate country but it's still Rome.
    Mexico city was built on top of Tenochtitlan, but it's not like tenochtitlan disappeared and then the spanish came in and saw some fancy ruins on top of which they decided it would be nice to build a city on. It was conquered sacked and "renamed" (mexica was the term the aztec used to define themselves so mexico city has the same meaning as "aztec city").
     
  18. Thenewwwguy

    Thenewwwguy Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    1,326
    Gender:
    Male
    i stand corrected then. I’d still prefer that if the byzantines have to be in, that they and the ottomans have the no duplicates without override situation that say, chandragupta and gandhi have, but I can live with pretending that Byzantine Constantinople doesn’t include the Istanbul neighborhood
     
  19. Alexander's Hetaroi

    Alexander's Hetaroi Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,813
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    Regardless if they are the same city or not, my point is geographically speaking they occupy the same place on the map. Looking at a detailed map on reddit, there is no reason why they couldn't start one tile to the left of the Ottomans on a TSL map because that would be the main concern.
    Here is the link if you want you can zoom in:https://i.redd.it/5fnwmc1qdtg21.jpg
    Spoiler :




    But it would be worse for Pericles because he would be surrounded by Gorgo one tile to the south of him and Alexander one tile north. I'm talking about the world map because there is much more room on the Europe one.
     
    DWilson likes this.
  20. DWilson

    DWilson Where am I? What turn is it?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,734
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    It's funny to me that Poland is not on this map, but everyone else is.
     
    Alexander's Hetaroi likes this.

Share This Page