1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. cardgame

    cardgame Obsessively Opposed to the Typical

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14,867
    Location:
    Misery
    But that's giving it what it wants! Here in 'murica we don't negotiate with terrorists.
     
  2. Iranon

    Iranon Deity Whipping Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,214
    Location:
    Germany
    Well, that IS bloody obnoxious.
    I'll do a little dance of joy the day software companies stop trying to annoy their users into doing something.
     
  3. schlaufuchs

    schlaufuchs La Femme Moderne

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    15,760
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    You get it to go away by upgrading to Windows 10. Why wouldn't you want something that's not only better than what you currently have, but also costs you nothing?
     
  4. cardgame

    cardgame Obsessively Opposed to the Typical

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14,867
    Location:
    Misery
    We go forward to defend freedom, and all that is good, and just in our world.
     
  5. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,786
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    Ideally, that would be a good thing. However, since fresh releases of software and OS's tend to be riddled with bugs and glitches, I'm one of those folks who do prefer to wait awhile just in case, to allow the nastiest bugs to be fixed first. :)
     
  6. shadowplay

    shadowplay ars moriendi

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Toronto
    I wonder why I haven't got that pop-up yet. Is it random?
     
  7. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,522
    Location:
    Canada
    I just haven't clicked on it, and told everyone in my family not to click on it, not really a big deal.

    I'll do my own PCs probably the weekend of August 9/10 to avoid patch Tuesday on old Windows. Upgrade family PCs at end of August when I see them next.

    Is your windows fully up to date and genuine? Also I'm not sure there's a popup unless you click the icon in the system tray, I've never seen a popup on any of my PCs.
     
  8. shadowplay

    shadowplay ars moriendi

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Toronto
    Thanks, it's appeared now, I hadn't installed the optional updates from the last month.
     
  9. Atticus

    Atticus Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Suppose someone had to be an administrator for a ~500 student school's PCs. He's got no experience on the job, but knows the usual everyman computer things and there's one month time to learn all the necessaries.

    What should he do? (i.e. what should he read, on which subjects should he focus on etc.)
     
  10. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    35,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    You're asking for a friend, eh? :)
     
  11. Atticus

    Atticus Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Yes! :D

    EDIT: The scenario isn't real, but it is potential, that's why there's no specifics on the OSs and such.
     
  12. Robert FIN

    Robert FIN Monty n' Roll

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Finland
    Please help!

    I want to sell my old laptop so I reinstalled Windows. Now the stupid moron pc's screen looks like a mess as it is the wrong resolution. It should be at 1300xsometing but the highest option in the place where you should be able to change it is like 1xx0..something. The color setting is true color 32bits. I don't know what to do. It seems like driver problem but I don't know which one. I've tried many thing but I can't find the right thing. I have anger management problems sometimes and I guess that my family is not happy when I get mad while I yell and try to fix the resolution. Why can't computers even sometimes work like they should? Life is too difficult..

    Thanks.
     
  13. J-man

    J-man Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Last weekend I installed a wireless bridge. I gave it the ip-address 192.168.3.1. My primary router's ip is 192.168.1.1. Everything in my network works great except I can't access my bridge. I can't ping it nor access it from my browser, looking which devices are connected to my primary router doesn't give me the info I want nor does the tracert command. :sad:
     
  14. Mise

    Mise isle of lucy

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    28,622
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'm no expert but I think bridges are invisible to devices on the network, so you won't be able to access it via its IP address.
     
  15. J-man

    J-man Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    I fixed it already. The problem was that a device with an ip address of 192.168.1.x is on a different subnet mask than 192.168.3.x and can't connect. When I change my pc's ip so it's on the same subnet mask I can login.
     
  16. Mise

    Mise isle of lucy

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    28,622
    Location:
    London, UK
    Oh cool, thanks for the info - I might try that at home :)
     
  17. Formaldehyde

    Formaldehyde Both Fair And Balanced

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    33,999
    Location:
    USA #1
  18. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,522
    Location:
    Canada
    If you've got the upgrade icon but can't upgrade yet, it's probably already downloaded to your computer, and you can also just flip a registry entry to skip the line.
     
  19. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,786
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    In Gimp, there is the Colors>Info>Smooth Palette. But the results is ugly as hell, and the colors are randomized in a bizarre pattern. How do I force it to go from dark to light, left to right, in a gradient instead?
     
  20. Atticus

    Atticus Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Has anyone else had recently the case of repeatedly crashing Firefox?

    I do have the updates installed (OS is Ubuntu 12.04). Just wanting to know if this is something particular to my machine or a common phenomenon.
     

Share This Page