1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CRpSuite : Playing aids and game analysis utils

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Utility Programs' started by Dianthus, May 9, 2003.

  1. TruePurple

    TruePurple Civ wanna B

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,140
    I loaded a save. Some options in CRpstats are completely void of information like demographics, cities, and wonders. The rest have very limited information like QSC tab.(no foreseeable practical game application) None of the tabs use anything other then the top line, even if there is alot of information to list it just drags on.. like science..

    (figure i'd cover them one at a time)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dianthus

    Dianthus Small but hardy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    A number of the tabs in CRpStats have not been implemented yet, so for now they will remain empty. I've put them in to remind me to do them later, but haven't got around to it yet.



    The QSC tab shows the scores from the QSC part of the GOTM competition. If you play the QSC part of the GOTM then this would interest you, if you don't play the QSC then give it a go! See >> this page <<.



    CRpStats shows a line per .sav file. Use the Ctrl and/or Shift key while on the file form to select multiple files. I normally keep all of my autosaves for my games (using CRpMapStat to archive/compress them). The science tab is more useful when multiple files are loaded. The gained column shows the techs that were gained since the previous .sav. Here's a recent game I played:

     
  3. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    This is a semi-serious request...is there any likelihood you would consider making it an option not to be told when a city is rioting already? I frequently forget to deal with "more sad than happy" cities after I've been warned so I get:
    Game: "Civil disorder in Settler Factory" :p
    Me: "D'Oh!! MapStat warned me and I forgot":crazyeye:
    MapStat: "Told you so!" :mischief:
    Me: "No kidding!" :mad: (or words to that effect)

    So...I realise its nobody's fault but mine, and you prolly have more improtant stuff to do, but it doesn't hurt to ask.
    :goodjob:
     
  4. TruePurple

    TruePurple Civ wanna B

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,140
    What practical in game use is there to compare science gains between saves?
     
  5. Dianthus

    Dianthus Small but hardy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    None. I use CRpStats to remind myself what happened in the game when I come to write it up, either in the HOF forum or the GOTM.
     
  6. Offa

    Offa Bretwalda

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,255
    Location:
    Mercia
    I am sure it is written somewhere but I can't find it. What do the 2 figures mean in the flip chance column? Why are there 2 figures?
     
  7. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    When spoiler info is turned off, the 2 numbers in flip risks are lower and upper fliprisks calculated without spoiler info (same with how many units are needed to prevent flips at lower and upper fliprisks)
    Real fliprisk should be somewhere inside the range given
     
  8. Offa

    Offa Bretwalda

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,255
    Location:
    Mercia
    Thanks Gyathaar. But why is the range so large? Most of the necessary info is known in almost all cases: garrison, relative culture, overlapping tiles, population and resistors. I am getting > tenfold differences between the lower and higher estimates, at least in early saves.
     
  9. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Perhaps you dont know the location of the AI capitals?
     
  10. Dianthus

    Dianthus Small but hardy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    Yes, that would make a large difference between the lower/upper bounds. Two other things that make a difference:
    1. Local culture: If the city was ever not owned by you then it's not possible to know if the Civ has more local culture than you do, so the upper bound gets multiplied by 2.
    2. Overall culture rounding: Generally this doesn't make much difference, but could if you have significantly less culture than the other civs. I assume the player is counting pixels on the culture histogram to derive the culture. If the player's culture only covers a low number of pixels the culture per pixel could be quite inaccurate, so the different roundings for the lower/upper bound could make a difference.
     
  11. handy900

    handy900 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    Dianthus,

    Is there a place that shows the current AI government and military strength agains you?

    I love the food tab. :D Can you add shields to this tab also? I know it's on F1, but your spreadsheet displays more cities.
     
  12. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,863
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    F3 gives the current form of gov, even without an embassy. It gives strength, but I suspect you want more details than were are weak compared to them.
     
  13. handy900

    handy900 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    No, just too lazy to use F3. :lol: I was hoping it was all in one spot so you don't have to click each civ on F3 to see the government and military rating. It's a little tedious.
     
  14. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,863
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Well CivAssist II will give you all the civs you know and their form of gov in one place.
     
  15. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    Any chance that the "flipping" tab could be made more at-a-glance by highlighting the non-zero risk cities?
     
  16. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Or maybe like what I asked you to implement, where you can turn the 0 resources off, you can turn off the zero flip chance.

    But I do like that suggestion. :thumbsup:
     
  17. Dianthus

    Dianthus Small but hardy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    Should be easy to do, so gets a :thumbsup: !



    Just a FYI. It sort of hides zero flip chance. It's only showing you the zero flip chance cities that are zero due to MP but would be non-zero otherwise. That's so you can make an informed decision about moving those MPs, which you wouldn't be able to do if the city wasn't in the list.
     
  18. bluebox

    bluebox King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Germany
    This is a thorough critique by the author himself why "zeros" are in the list. I could not have said it better. The flipping tab is not only a listing of positive greater-than-zero city-flip chances but a list of all my cities exposed to the flipping problem. it shows not only border cities but also cities with foreign population. the flipping tab gives an overview over the extent of the flipping phenomenon in your empire. :rolleyes:

    @bartleby: moreover, I don't understand what's so difficult about spotting a zero. the list is sorted wisely (high probs on top!)and a zero has a distinct look - it looks like an "o", so it's merely a circle, and it differs remarkably from let's say "2" or "4". The closest you can come over with is maybe an "8" but it looks still completely different. :confused:

    my point: Highlighting the zeros would mean to emphazise the unimportant; highlighting the zeros would mean to point out the non-problematic. this a inversion of the logic that guides MApStat.
    Highlighting the important numbers would mean a strange way of giving a background color to the top table cells. Because the positive prob values are always on top to highlight them an color would only be additional. highlighting instead what should not be highlighted is .. excuse my indescretion, please ... simply stupid.

    Any chance to leave it as is? :crazyeye: Well, then I make an urgent request to make this change at lest very optional.

    Don't repair it as long as it's not broken! :mischief:
     
  19. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    What I want is for the line between zero and non-zero risk to be easier to spot without focussing on small numbers (yes maybe I need new glasses)

    What I ask for is that the non-zeros be highlighted; viz. in my dream, the top half of the flip tab would be pink.
     
  20. Dianthus

    Dianthus Small but hardy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    I'm thinking it might be worth finally adding some sort of notifications to the flipping tab (which would be optional of course, just for bluebox ;)). Maybe notification of high flip probability (the limit settable by the user, so Bartleby could set it to 0 to highlight all >0), and notification of excessive MP (I.e. if MP > that required for 0 flip chance).
     

Share This Page